6 items you shouldn’t leave in your parked car

Cars are more than just a means of transport; they often become storage for a variety of items, ranging from the mundane to the potentially dangerous.

However, certain items, when left inside a vehicle, can pose serious risks, including the threat of fire. It is essential to understand why these items should not be left in a car, and how their presence can inadvertently lead to dangerous situations.

• Lighter

One such item is a lighter. We might think of a lighter as harmless when not in use, but under certain conditions, it can become a significant fire hazard. Inside a car, especially during the hotter months such as right now, temperatures can rise dramatically. This heat can cause the fluid inside a lighter to expand, potentially leading to leakage or even explosion. If an ignition source is present, it can result in a fire.

• Powerbank

Powerbanks, while incredibly useful for charging our devices on the go, can also pose a fire risk when left in a vehicle. They contain lithium-ion batteries, which are sensitive to heat. When exposed to high temperatures, such as those that can occur in a closed car on a hot day, these batteries can malfunction. The heat can cause the battery to swell, possibly leading to a process known as thermal runaway, where the battery overheats and can ignite or even explode.

• Aerosol Can

Aerosol cans, like those containing deodorant or hairspray, are pressurized containers that become highly dangerous when exposed to heat. The propellant inside an aerosol can is flammable, and when a can is heated, the pressure inside it increases. If the pressure becomes too high, the can can burst, releasing the flammable propellant, which can ignite if there’s an ignition source nearby.

• Battery

Even something as seemingly harmless as a spare battery can be a fire hazard in a car. Batteries, particularly lithium ion batteries, can suffer from a short circuit if they are damaged or subjected to high temperatures. It can cause the battery to rapidly discharge, generating intense heat. In severe cases, this can lead to a fire.

• Laptop

Laptops, like powerbanks and batteries, contain lithium-ion batteries and are therefore susceptible to the same risks.

• Mobile Phone

Mobile phones should not be left in a car due to similar reasons as powerbanks and laptops. The battery within the phone can overheat and cause a fire. Furthermore, if a phone is left in a charging state connected to a powerbank in a hot car, it can generate additional heat, which increases the risk of thermal runaway and a potential fire.

As a precaution, it’s best to take these items with you when you leave your car, or at least ensure they are stored in a cool and safe place. The temperature inside a car parked in direct sunlight can quickly climb to over 60 degrees Celcius. After all, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Keep these items in a cooler box. It will reach ambience temperature eventually but very long time. Before it reaches it’s already sunset.

• Lolwhut? on May 18, 2023 at 8:25 am

KEK what about portable car fire extinguisher? It is also an aerosol based can type so should we always carry it to work, to shopping, to dates, to the movie theaters, when we park outside?
      Dumb advice from a dumb GLC run by a now dumb gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Oil rigs Fire Brigade Club on May 18, 2023 at 11:52 am

u r a dingo impersonating bomba wannabe spreading fake info, powdered based fire extinguisher for cars lorries is not an aerosol can. full disgraced to ancestors and wrong education at young age!

• This is why we use dry power fire extinguisher instead of aerosol type.

• dong gor on May 17, 2023 at 2:59 pm

batteries in phones and laptops all should have tests done to ensure it is ok for all these scenarios. if it can catch fire in the car, it can catch fire in your house as well. so keep them in the pool?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Your home temperature reach 60 deg on a hot day?

• Mr Mar on May 17, 2023 at 4:20 pm

Clearly you don’t know how high the temperature inside of a car can reach especially in Malaysia hot weather.

• How about EV cars with thousands of batteries on the floorpan?

• This is why China reported having average of 7 EVs on fire daily.

• Kluang Man on May 17, 2023 at 7:11 pm

I remember there was an episode on Mythbusters that proved aerosol can will not explode if placed in a hot car for a long time.

• Kluang Man on May 17, 2023 at 7:12 pm

I remember there was an episode on Mythbusters that proved aerosol can will not explode when placed in a hot car for a long time.

• Harisson on May 17, 2023 at 8:10 pm

A simple water bottle can also be hazardous due to bright sun making it into a magnifying glass and setting seat on fire.

• This bloke on May 17, 2023 at 10:50 pm

You forgot: don’t leave your kids in the car as you attend open house

• cikopek on May 18, 2023 at 11:10 am

never leave the sun inside your car

• Ben Yap on May 18, 2023 at 4:20 pm

Good advice. I once left a multi-lube in the car unaware of the danger. After many hot afternoons, it exploded and propelled the can, crashing through the rear windscreen. It was an expensive lesson as I had to replace the windscreen at my own cost. If only it crashed the other way then I could claim under my car insurance. Be careful not to leave them in the car.

• Master Foo Ling Yee on May 18, 2023 at 8:47 pm

Here is wisdom, drink plenty water on hot day and do not pee on wheels dog will go elsehere