SUKE Highway Phase 2 opening next week – Kesas/Sri Petaling/Bukit Jalil to Cheras-Kajang; we’ve tried it!

SUKE Sri Petaling interchange – click to enlarge

It’s official. We’ve just completed the media preview and can tell you that Phase 2 of the Sungai Besi-Ulu Kelang Elevated Expressway (SUKE) will be officially launched next week. Phase 2 connects Sri Petaling and Bukit Jalil (entrance is on the Kesas Highway, where Endah Parade is) to the Cheras-Kajang interchange, near Plaza Phoenix. With this, the MRR2 alternative is now complete. Well, 99.5% complete, but more on that later.

Phase 1 of the SUKE was opened to traffic in September 2022. The first phase was a 16.6 km stretch from the signature big loop Cheras-Kajang interchange to Bukit Antarabangsa.

As mentioned, the 7.8 km-long Phase 2 starts at Sri Petaling (direct from Kesas or a slip road next to Endah Parade) and that’s the Sri Petaling interchange – besides Kesas, SUKE also connects with the KL-Seremban Highway here. The next interchange is just a stone’s throw away – the Sungai Besi interchange is just next to the old town’s MRT Putrajaya Line station and it connects SUKE with the Besraya Highway.

Click to enlarge map

The elevated SUKE then mirrors the MRR2 all the way to Bandar Tasik Selatan, passing by the TBS bus hub on the left. Shortly after TBS, the SUKE diverts right to climb the hill to Alam Damai. It’s here that the double-deck layout starts – traffic heading to Cheras-Kajang (KL) will be on the upper deck; those heading towards Sri Petaling will be on the lower deck. As you climb the hill, the structure is sandwiched by apartment blocks and the rear of UCSI.

We’ve observed before the complexity of SUKE’s construction – the Cheras-Kajang interchange’s helicoidal ramp gets all the attention, but the fully elevated urban highway cuts through heavily build up areas and existing major roads, which makes things less straightforward – and Phase 2’s highlight is this ‘double-decker’ Alam Damai stretch that is quite imposing.

Speaking of Alam Damai, there’s a toll plaza here to make it three tolls in total for the SUKE. Each deck gets its own toll booth. While the SUKE’s main line is now fully complete with the opening of Phase 2, the Alam Damai interchange is still under construction and Prolintas says that it will be complete in Q3 2023, specifically August – 20% more to go for this interchange, we’re told.

SUKE Alam Damai ‘double-decker’ road and toll plaza – click to enlarge

The Alam Damai toll plaza is where SUKE’s control centre is and the very tall building (for highway control centre standards) even has F&B outlets at its ground floor, one of them a drive-through. From here, it’s a short distance to the existing Cheras-Kajang interchange and its signature spiral ramps, which you can read about in full here.

In total, SUKE has 14 interchanges along its 24.4 km main line length (57.7 km if one includes all the interchanges), and these are Sri Petaling, Sungai Besi, Alam Damai, Cheras-Kajang, Cheras-Hartamas, Bukit Teratai, Tasik Tambahan, Permai, Kosas, Pekan Ampang, Ampang Point, Ulu Kelang, Hillview and Bukit Antarabangsa.

The MRR2 alternative is linked to the said ring road, Kesas (at Sri Petaling), KL-Seremban Highway, Sungai Besi Expressway (Besraya), Grand Saga, Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH) and the Duta-Ulu Kelang Expressway (DUKE). The future East Klang Valley Expressway (EKVE) will also be linked.

According to Prolintas group CEO Datuk Mohammad Azlan Abdullah, SUKE is an effective traffic dispersal solution for the eastern part of KL that is projected to relieve traffic on the MRR2 by 30%, Jalan Ampang by 36% and Jalan Loke Yew by 12% during peak hours. Those three roads are notorious for congestion, and if the projections are accurate, everyone benefits.

Prolintas – which is also the concessionaire for the DASH, AKLEH, Guthrie, LKSA and Kajang Silk highways – says that the estimated travel time from end-to-end is 25 minutes with SUKE, versus 75 minutes via the existing route, which is the MRR2. That’s a whopping 50 minutes difference – even if it’s half an hour, that’s a good amount of time saved, per day.

But of course, as with all good things, there’s a price to be paid. Mohd Azlan said that he will leave the big announcement to works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi, who will be officiating next week’s launch, but hinted that the Alam Damai toll rate will not be higher than the RM2.30 charged at Phase 1’s Bukit Teratai and Ampang tolls. We’re expecting it to be the same, which means a total damage of RM6.90 from end-to-end. Perhaps not for the cost-conscious then, but even if you won’t be using it daily, it’s always good to have an alternative.

Will there be a toll-free trial period? All will be revealed at the launch next week. Check out the map, the Prolintas-supplied Phase 2 pics as well as our gallery of Phase 1, with drone shots. Sri Petaling, Bukit Jalil and Cheras/Alam Damai folks, what’s your view?

GALLERY: SUKE Highway Phase 2

GALLERY: SUKE Highway Phase 1

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Thank god as users of mrr2 suffered enough especially near the bts ktm/erl/bus station.

• Botak on Jun 11, 2023 at 12:24 am

5.4 bil should include painting all the structures as well, grey instead of ugly eyesore original mixtures color

• Can I advice u something..from Fat Mama on Jun 11, 2023 at 1:46 pm

5.4 billion Rm should incorporate lots of signages n cctvs along it ,incase of emergencies.
      Last week,my car broke down n so happened, handphone no battery.
      Can u imagine at night,I waited an hour,good thing a good samaritan came n called a tow truck.
      Those dudes manning the entire stretch,have no idea or sightings what is happening along their SUKE.Perhaps they r busy viewing sexy girls dancing on tiktok.
      Our menteri is damn correct.First class infra but 3rd world maintenance n upkeep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Retired grabber on Jun 11, 2023 at 12:09 pm

See the map obviously further distances with toll charges. Will it help to ease the jam near taman desa to federal highway?

• Joelington Kwan Ter Lai on Jun 11, 2023 at 7:07 pm

Suka Suki buka highway print money long term makan

• CM Chow on Jun 12, 2023 at 8:31 am

While the opening of SUKE is welcomed and hope it will bring relief to road users, I hope the Authorities, minister, wakil rakyat, etc. dont forget the roads below SUKE which is affected by SUKE construction can be repaired and re-opened as soon as possible. I pity the business at the shops along Taman Len Seng and Jalan Alam Damai where their business have suffered for many years because of the road closure. In my humble opinion, toll collection should not start until all the roads affected by SUKE construction are repaired and reopened

• YB Kinte Kunte on Jun 12, 2023 at 10:06 am

PNB owns Prolintas,right?They don’t give a damn…all they want ,to maximise returns.Look at P2 n Toyota cars…many r priced beyond reach of the average wage earner.Th e cheapest Axia is no more cheap,according to Hafriz of Paultan.

• Not only businesses closed. But years of suffering due to mrr2 lane closures by rogue contractors. Authorities must ensure current roads are not affected by mrt or new highway construction. Its the construction that is major cause of jams.

• Ongtk on Jun 12, 2023 at 9:26 am

As this is a newly built highway, will the toll drive tooth system be implemented?

• KS Lee on Jun 12, 2023 at 9:38 am

Residents of Taman Len Seng and Alam Damai would have to thank SUKE so much. So many business died, can you believe – even Maybank and Petronas also KO! Imagine! And after so many fatalities and accidents, good job SUCK-KEH!

• AntiToll on Jun 12, 2023 at 10:28 am

Cut throat toll charges prices….RM2.30 per toll, to get end to end, it will cost RM6.90 total 1 way. Betul betul worst than lintah darah. I dont mind paying toll charges but RM6.90 is really mind boggling expensive.

• Master Foo Ling Yew on Jun 12, 2023 at 11:23 am

Prosperous day to all my disciple here I love you ok. Here is wisdom. Small money no go out big money no come in. Make highway can makan for life time what a brilliant idea.