Still a lack of EV charging stations in Malaysia – MOSTI

In March last year, the government – under the previous administration – reiterated its aim to have 10,000 electric vehicle (EV) charging stations in place by 2025, as initially outlined in 2021 under the Low Carbon Mobility Blueprint (LCMB) 2021-2030.

Lofty ambition, but the movement towards that hasn’t quite matched the intention. As of September last year, there were less than 1,000 public charging stations in place, and though the number of EV charging stations is now reportedly around the 1,000 mark, this is still well short of that needed to push the country’s electrification agenda forward, according to science, technology and innovation (MOSTI) minister Chang Lih Kang.

He said there was a need to increase the number of charging stations in order to spur continued growth in the segment, as The Star reports.

“EVs are still new to our market and country. The EV ecosystem is still not complete because there are not enough charging stations. Therefore, manufacturers hesitate to enter the market,” he said after witnessing the signing of a memorandum of understanding (MoU) between Alibaba Cloud and Agmo Holdings earlier this week.

The cooperation between the two digital platforms aims to make life easier for EV users by providing suitable information on public charging stations through the Agmo EV Superapp so they can decide which charging station best serves their needs. The application will offer users information such as method of payment, navigation assistance as well as the charging rate offered by the respective service providers.

Chang added that his ministry would carry out several programmes for the development of the local EV industry with the cooperation of the ministry of investment, trade and industry (MITI) and Tenaga Nasional.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• What people need is fact DC charger on highways. Range anxiety is real.
    In city. most EV owners can charge at home. No point put so many chargers at malls & starbucks. People need it the most when travelling far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • I disagree with your second point, look at major cities around the world and you’ll see how dense their charging stations are in urban areas. We basically need both urban and highways. We dont travel far often and when we do, if we have lots of charging stations in towns we can push the crowd into town areas along the journey instead of R&Rs. Plus not everyone wants to and has charging outlets at home esp. those in high rise.

• ERIKO on Jun 16, 2023 at 9:24 am

I agree with ioma more. Petrol station, rest stops R&R ,hotels, beach side etc are basic places that must have charging station. Then we can say we are real developing nation. Otherwise we may downgrade to 3rd world nation like india/bangladesh/africa very soon.We are standing on a very fine line that has just made it into the developing country status. one step back we are 3rd world already. we cannot slip backwards anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2023 at 10:13 am

ioma, you are clearly not an EV owner.
      chargers are required the same way petrol stations are required. NOT JUST ON HIGHWAYS.

• Mohd Kamal on Jun 16, 2023 at 11:32 am

clearly IOMA isn’t an EV driver.
        Where got ppl recommend chargers ONLY on highways. no brains.

• zedmudin on Jun 16, 2023 at 4:24 pm

clearly you got the brain/rather brains.
          We recommend that you use it as intended.

Read & understand the message.
          Not just read & discharge akin to a loose bowel

• ERIKO on Jun 16, 2023 at 4:27 pm

Aiyo you bodoh ke. it does not take rocket science to know whar ioma meant. Highway means places like R&R la. Adui. What happen to Malaysia. We have more and more brain dead human like Mohd already. Mati la masa depan Malaysia

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2023 at 11:56 am

fake ben yap, stop using my name.

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2023 at 1:13 pm

stop pretending to be me, 3rd fake Ben Yap.

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2023 at 3:00 pm

didn’t know that i’ve a cult following that people want to impersonate me.

• Tobby on Jun 16, 2023 at 7:09 am

I hesitate to adopt EV because lack of information on the location and numbers of fast charging station along major highways.

• ERIKO on Jun 16, 2023 at 9:19 am

You download the app la. Its all there. so easy. Currently already just enough to travel long distance. As time goes sure things become even better. At least basic most infra already there. Plus charging at home is no issue

• Bob Mal on Jun 16, 2023 at 8:06 am

Well until today we still do not have a clear plan moving forward on our ICE / EV unlike our neighbors Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore so generally we had lose out on all those investment and coming.

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2023 at 8:11 am

EV cars are more expensive than ICE. also the road tax is more expensive. the lack of charging station and longer charging time is a big turn off. the cost of charging at a station is not very much cheaper than an ICE car. with so many shortfalls, EV is not going to take off well in Malaysia.

• vandals with vandal on Jun 16, 2023 at 8:30 am

because vandalism. because crime rate. nobody wants to build chargers are remote, kampung areas. because nobody dare to charge there for 1 hour also. will kena rob, murdered, thrown into river.

• Nah Fam on Jun 16, 2023 at 10:18 pm

Funny usually the reverse argument is used regarding pam vs cas. People scared rob at pam, but can cas at home.

• Alfred on Jun 16, 2023 at 8:34 am

So what are you (government) is going to do? Talk is cheap, but please put forward plans and actions to back up the talk.

• EV still not relevance for ppl on the street on Jun 16, 2023 at 9:04 am

The price of EV is still high, wt the lack of charging infra…..at this point of time EV is more for high income ppl who can afford EV as their toy and its just their 3rd car. Focus on govt spending for low income folks 1st (better healthcare and education)

• B40 mentality forever on Jun 16, 2023 at 11:34 am

bro pls wake the hell up. EV are cheap and affordable now. all around 100k can get already. unless you still cant afford 100k, then thats something wrong with yourself.

• Ong Sing Chee on Jun 16, 2023 at 9:35 am

Government should set new policies, allowing Apartment/Condominium owner to install Charger at their dedicated Parking Lot at their own cost. ~~JMB “must” approve the request to install Charger if there’s no infrastructure limitation, as long as TNB is able to support the supply of Power requirement.

• It can be said that these factors may affect the slow growth of EV in Msia. Hopefully all parties (Govt, EV companies and car manufacturers) can overcome them before the ppl are more confident of owning an EV:

a) Lack of charging stations available. More stations are needed before we can overcome the range anxiety issue.
    b) Due to the lack of charging stations, long queues happened at these stations. That defeats the purpose of fast-charging (30-40 minutes).
    c) Worried about the high cost of road-taxes as the Govt has yet to re-study it after the announcement.
    d) Maintenance issues e.g. lack of after sales support if vehicle breaks down in rural areas and unavailability of spare parts.
    e) Lack or unavailability of charging bays at high rise buildings (offices, apartments and condos) and hotels.

• @NotBruceWayne on Jun 16, 2023 at 11:46 am

At present, it’s a rich boy’s toy. Definitely will own one when their price is done to earth, infra at satisfactory level & when i don’t have to sell my blood for charging cost.

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2023 at 1:15 pm

how can a 100K EV car be “rich man toy”? face-palm.

• malaysia full of useless parasites called B40, that is why a 100K car also can be labelled rich man toy.

malaysia is where a honda city cheapo car also bangga gila.

• Ground europe passenger on Jun 16, 2023 at 3:21 pm

Before fancy to buy an ev car, work hard and owned a proper landed house first.

• Vezeroth on Jun 17, 2023 at 2:44 am

Why bother with ev.. heavy battery.. max pollution with battery production and our coal stations… no policy on recycling the ev batteries.. 10 years later then what?… just continue and optimize ice and provide clean petrol… phase out the low quality diesel engines.. ev is not the right way to go.. ev is best for city.. smaller batteries enough not long range heavy batteries.. focus autonomous vehicles.. why has it died off? Because of the car companies lobbying against it.. nobody will need cars once its all autonomous vehicles that u call call via an app…