HJC launches C10, i71 and i20 helmets for Malaysia – for budget and mid-range, pricing starts from RM519

Catering to the budget and mid-level rider in Malaysia are the HJC C10 full-face, i71 full-face and i20 convertible helmet range. Pricing for the C10 starts at RM519 for plain colours while the graphics version costs RM609.

Designed as a value-for-money full-face helmet, the C10 comes with double D-ring buckles specific to the Malaysian market. This allows the C10 to be used for race track duty as it is ECE 22.06 standard compliant, as are the i71 and i20.

Meanwhile, the i71 full-face is priced at RM1,109 for the plain helmets in solid colours while graphics will cost you RM1,289. Rounding the range of new HJC helmets for Malaysia is the i20 convertible or “mask” helmet, retailing at RM979 for plain and RM1,149 for graphics.

All three helmet models include speaker pockets for installing a helmet intercom system and come with HJC’s ACS, or Advanced Channeling Ventilation System. This allows for more airflow to enter the helmet through the front vents, keeping the rider cool.

Key feature for the i70 is a position adjustable inner sunshield that can be moved closer or further away from the rider’s face through a range of 10 mm. The visor locking system on the i70 is a push and eject type system for positive locking and improved safety.

The i20 comes with a removable chin guard, allowing the helmet to be switched between a “full-face” and open face helmet as the rider desires. All the newly launched HJC helmets come with a three-year warranty against manufacturing defects effective from the date of purchase.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• gomen on Jun 30, 2023 at 9:14 am

where is the reports on safety testing?

• komarad on Jun 30, 2023 at 10:19 am

wow fibreglass helmet for RM519…

• Concerned Biker on Jun 30, 2023 at 2:15 pm

which certification body in malaysia perform the safety testing, btw? SIRIM is not the safety seal, its just for process and manufacturing SOPs. Dont wear helmets without DOT certification!!!

• C10 is DOT certified. Personally HJC is one of the trustworthy brand.

HJC is a Korean company that has been manufacturing helmets since 1974. In 90s the brand already archived big market share in North America then it became one of the leading brand in the world.

They have never produced OEM or ODM and until now have focused only on helmets. Nowadays bicycle helmets also get a lot of attraction from riders.

• ECE > DOT

• Clueless Guy on Jul 01, 2023 at 9:29 pm

I would argue to not wear helmet with only DOT certification. ECE22.06 is pretty much the equivalent of FIM phase 2.

• Ah Chong on Jul 04, 2023 at 12:34 pm

DOT is basically USA syok sendiri certification. I’d trust Sirim more than DOT. Ece 22.06 however is what we should all be wearing now.

• Don’t buy Dot only helmet since its a self certification which Malaysia doesn’t recognize. SIRIM does test the helmet up to ECE std https://paultan.org/2018/12/13/pelekat-sekuriti-kod-qr-sirim-bagaimana-ujian-piawaian-helmet-dilakukan/

• Kaloi on Jul 01, 2023 at 1:38 am

No DOT for me. DOT is self certify by the manufacturer and it has a lower standard than ECE. SIRIM sticker Ed helmet are tested using some of ECE standard testing but the details on the difference is unknown to me. For me independent testing is better than self reported testing. ECE bare minimum. If got money go for extra snell or sharp rating.

• Doesn’t matter what helmet you use and how certified it was, if you riding more than 80mph on public road and crash, chances for your head still 50/50..

• The ECE 22.06 testing requirements improves a lot from 22.05, it added the rotational impact testing which if you’re a rider you know when lowsiding or high side your head won’t stay static during impact

• Speechless dude on Jul 03, 2023 at 2:11 am

Tfw almost everyone here focuses on Dot ignoring the fact that these new models are ece22.06 tested…… Facepalm……

• FACEPALMLOL on Jul 06, 2023 at 8:27 am

well if u can ‘read’ the article, it says ece.06 approved on c10, I71 and I20. tf you guys are blind or what?