Thailand’s efforts to push its electrification agenda and make the country the EV hub for the region has certainly been, for want of a better word, aggressive, and the efforts by the country’s Board of Investment (BoI) to woo investment looks like it’s paying off handsomely, as the Bangkok Post reports.
Back in April, Changan Automobile announced that it set to make a 9.8 billion baht investment to build a factory and develop EVs in the country, doing so through three vehicle categories (battery EVs, plug-in hybrids and range-extended EVs) as well as through the production of batteries for domestic sale and export.
The automaker said it plans to launch a new EV model in Thailand by the end of 2023, and would be carrying out R&D on EVs in the country. It indicated plans to make 100,000 EVs a year in Thailand, with an eye on exports to other ASEAN countries as well as RHD markets such as Australia, New Zealand and the UK.
Chery Automobile, which re-entered the Malaysian market last week, is also planning to make an EV-based investment in the Kingdom next year. According to BoI secretary-general Narit Therdsteerasukdi, Chery is in talks with its prospective Thai business partner to embark on an EV venture in the country. The automaker is reportedly planning to launch EV SUV models in Thailand next year.
Earlier this month, Chinese EV brand Aion, part of the Guangzhou Automobile Group (GAC Group), announced that it was set to enter the Thai market and its readiness to invest more than six billion baht to establish local manufacturing and sales operations in the country. The company said it is looking to begin selling cars within the third quarter of this year.
The BoI said that Chinese investors submitted 93 investment project proposals worth 31 billion baht between January and May this year, the projects including those for cars and auto parts as well as electronics.
Separately, as reported earlier by The Nation, the national electric vehicle policy board (EV Board) of Thailand says it will be urging its new government to pass the EV 3.5 package to replace the current EV 3.0 package – which expires this year – as soon as possible. The package includes discounts for purchases of EVs, the establishing of EV manufacturing plants and the offering of incentives for EV battery production facilities.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Anwar menang, investment lari.
Anwar gembira, rakyat sengsara
Anwar di Sg Buloh, rakyat sorak kali sepuloh
There is no EV manufacturers willing to invest in Malaysia due to our weak and incapable government.
Bro, u used the same account for 3 different usernames. Hope you get paid to do this cybertrooper job
But he telling the truth bro. Don’t be macai. Just accept it ok.
He = you. Same profile picture.
use 1 username to support his other username’s comments tactic..
thumbs up own comment many times
Stupid redbeantrooper thumbdown critical comment many times don’t make you any better la bodo.
because spin too much, cause u to make bodo comments.
also doesn’t make a dumb cybertrooper any better than a moron.
Wait for our formula man to come out with his magical formula to bring EV investment to Malaysia.
Late to the party again? Oh wait we hv state election coming.Next is driving test for b40. Next is road tax for EV. Patty patty
That’s businessman mindset..and the result is apparent in the forex between myr and bht
Meanwhile under both PH gomen has scare mongering the rakyat to hate and refuse Chinese investments until they run away to Thailand. Well done PH!
Chinese investments? So be it. We have the biggest investments from the West. Let our neighbours take all those chinese trash
Which biggest investments from the West dude? All the Western investors dah cabut lari during 1st time PH rule, we had the most forex outflow during that era.
Our semiconductor industry is much more important than EV. EV business is not viable in the long run. Think harder
You mean our semicon business that are going out? Western Digital? Seagate? Intel Kulim? Motorola? On Semi? Toshiba Kioxia? Vistapoint? Where are all these brands that were visible in Selangor back then? Think harder
The question is why countries around Malaysia are speeding ahead in the last few years while Malaysian decision makers do nothing about it or do too little?
The decision makers need to consider that if they do not take the right decisions then after a while Malaysia might become the poorest large country in the ASEAN.
Wake up!
The Thai govt finalised their EV roadmap in 2021. In that same year, the M’sian govt still has not finalised its own EV roadmap and thus the Thais had an earlier start.
I tell u why. As usual we r late for the party … again. Why? Busy wt election, min salary, airport issue etc. Patty patty
Big mouth bangladeshi. What next? Demand for citizenship?
Racist! and a hypocrite. Because when you go to the west don’t you want to get their citizenship?
sorry to whom should i sell my car?
we are still worried about race-based uni quota and malayness here
Current gomen more worried about rainbow Swatches.