BYD Dolphin EV launching in Malaysia on July 28

BYD Cars Malaysia have announced that the BYD Dolphin hatchback EV will be launched in Malaysia on July 28, 2023, which is the end of this month.

UPDATE: The BYD Dolphin has been launched in Malaysia.

They have put up a registration of interest page so if you’re interested in a hatchback EV that would most likely be priced cheaper than the BYD Atto 3 SUV, go on and sign up with your details.

Measuring 4,290 mm long, 1,770 mm wide, 1,570 mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,700 mm, the Dolphin is shorter but wider than a Honda City Hatchback, though the EV is also 82 mm taller and with a considerably longer wheelbase.

In Standard Range guise, the BYD Dolphin features a single electric motor producing 94 PS and 180 Nm of torque, driving the front wheels and powered by a 44.9 kWh Blade battery. AC charging is supported up to 7 kW, and up to 60 kW DC fast charging. The Standard Range variant is rated for a 0-100 km/h time of 12.3 seconds, and has a maximum range of 410 km on the NEDC protocol.

The BYD Dolphin Extended Range variant gets a more powerful 204 PS/310 Nm motor that also drives the front wheels, drawing power from a larger, 60.48 kWh Blade battery that can be recharged at up to 7 kW AC, and 80 kW DC. This gets from 0-100 km/h in seven seconds, and does a maximum of 490 km on a full charge (NEDC). Both Standard Range and Extended Range variants offer vehicle-to-load (V2L) power supply functionality.

In Thailand, the BYD Dolphin can be had with a starting price of 699,999 Thai baht for the Standard Range model. This increases to 859,999 Thai baht for the Extended range. Converted to Malaysian ringgit, that is RM91.5k and RM112.5k respectively.

How much do you think the BYD Dolphin will be priced in Malaysia?

GALLERY: BYD Dolphin EV at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ERIKO on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:15 pm

90-110K will be reasonable.

• Spin No More on Jul 14, 2023 at 3:26 pm

Fyi fully imported CBU EV cars price are not allowed below RM100K…

MITI Approved Permit / Motor Vehicles
      – Franchise AP
      Senarai Semak AP Franchise
      SENARAI SEMAK PERMOHONAN UNTUK DILANTIK SEBAGAI SYARIKAT AP FRANCAIS

….Syarat Kelayakan Menjadi Pemegang Lesen Import (AP) Francais
      4. Kenderaan yang dibenarkan diimport:
      (i) Kereta
      Kereta Elektrik (EV)
      a. Pengimportan kereta elektrik (EV) diberi kelonggaran sementara sehingga 31 Disember 2025:
      • Tidak tertakluk kepada syarat had kapasiti enjin setara melebihi 1,800 cc; dan
      • Namun demikian, harga jualan atas jalan hendaklah tidak kurang dari RM100,000

(ii) Motosikal
      Motosikal Elektrik (EV)
      • Tidak tertakluk kepada syarat had kapasiti enjin setara melebihi 250 cc; dan
      • Namun demikian, harga jualan atas jalan hendaklah tidak kurang dari RM12,000

• Wahaha on Jul 14, 2023 at 7:15 pm

Neta V?

• Huhuhuhu on Jul 15, 2023 at 8:10 am

Already RM100K inclusive of misc fees.

All in the name of protecting the endangered species.

• 100K on paper as official price but they throw 10K rebate. So the price is 89K. Nice work around of the rules.

• supercharged on Jul 14, 2023 at 4:03 pm

Inner door handler mimic long licking tongue.

• Model yg dahsyat & berpatutan…Kantoi, UMW toyota… Tiade mini SUV

• muttscake on Jul 14, 2023 at 6:47 pm

Why the condition that Min Price of Rm100k for EV ? Protect Proton and Myvi … At the EXPENSE of the RAKYAT ???

• Winner Ong on Jul 14, 2023 at 7:39 pm

Ya rolling also when no battery and no spare part then sell get back little bit only just nice for the easy fool pupil. BMW man here so cannot compare la with me also don’t park beside my car drop my stendart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • No Standard! on Jul 16, 2023 at 7:12 pm

What standard u hv? easy word Standard also dunno how to spell. do u really owned a bmw or ur papa’s 1? Even u owned 1, u still got no std!

• Dong gor on Jul 14, 2023 at 8:54 pm

If ringgit hasn’t dropped like this, we could have it at 70k!

• hazri on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:14 pm

the rear lamp look so familiar. citroen? ds?

• overly designed interior with not much practicality.. weird shape all over the place; steering wheel, dashboard, doors, controller knobs.. covered the logo also, one look can tell it is China made.. its selling because of the name of cheap EV.. If only nicely designed Korean EV car can be this cheap..

• I took them on test drive. Both standard and extended ones (love the extended one but standard one is OK too). The options are so good and full compare to many cars in the market (my current cars are13-year Mazda 2 and 6-year Mazda 3)..Dolphin is amazing. Safety features, camera all-round, blind spot detector, voice command, and the design is like ocean. Don’t judge from the picture you see roughly online. Go see it for real.

It can be driven fast and over take quite good. Powerful enough but still very city car. Have to press harder than driving my Mazda but since Mazda don’t go EV, I’ll get Dolphin in the meantime.

Most people who’re bashing the dolphin are people who don’t see the future. And stuck in the past with old mindsets. Go test drive it first. Maybe you don’t know how to press things but you’ll learn. And petrol is not the future.

• Not argue about their feature.. just the design argument.. again, its personal taste..Its EV car, when you drive EV first time, any EV would feel so good, EV naturally have more fancy feature because that is their selling point.. but again, BYD interior is no where close to a grown up car that I used to.. But you get what you pay for..i would probably buy if it is a RM200 drone that i can throw away when broken, but as a lifetime car, i wont think twice to say no..even to sell back, i dont see if it get good market value

• I took them on test drive. Both standard and extended ones (love the extended one but standard one is OK too). The options are so good and full compare to many cars in the market (my current cars are13-year Mazda 2 and 6-year Mazda 3)..Dolphin is amazing. Safety features, camera all-round, blind spot detector, voice command, and the design is like ocean. Don’t judge from the picture you see roughly online. Go see it for real.

It can be driven fast and over take quite good. Powerful enough but still very city car. Have to press harder than driving my Mazda but since Mazda don’t go EV, I’ll get Dolphin in the meantime.

Most people who’re bashing the dolphin are people who don’t see the future. And stuck in the past with old mindsets. Go test drive it first. Maybe you don’t know how to press things but you’ll learn. And petrol is not the future.