Gov’t looking into ID system for targeted fuel subsidy

The ministry of domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) says it is discussing the use of a special identification system as part of its targeted subsidy mechanism for diesel and RON 95 petrol, the New Straits Times reports.

According to KPDN deputy minister Senator Fuziah Salleh, this would be in line with the planned launch of the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database, which is set to be completed by the end of the year.

She said that prior to this, ministries would have to utilise different databases, but PADU would streamline things. In the case of targeted fuel subsidies, for example, the data would come from the inland revenue board (LHDN) and the road transport department (JPJ).

“After accumulating data from these two agencies, only then can we identify who qualifies for the subsidy. To gather all this data, the main authority will lie with PADU, which will work with the statistics department to update and streamline the info,” she said.

In May, economy minister Rafizi Ramli said the government would begin collecting household net disposable income metrics, using them as a structuring measure to ensure that targeted subsidies are more accurately distributed. These metrics will be integrated with PADU, which will combine the socio-economic information for every household in the country.

Last month, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that while the government was in the midst of formulating its proposed targeted subsidy mechanism, it would be a while before it is announced. He said this was because of the complexity involved and getting the parameters right to ensure subsidies are delivered to the right parties.

Previously, it was reported that the government would begin its targeted fuel subsidy with diesel from next year and would monitor its effectiveness, along with that of a targeted subsidy for electricity, before announcing any decision on a targeted subsidy for RON 95.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly focus on political criticisms and debates over the fuel subsidy reduction, with some arguing it will help stabilize the economy and reduce government expenditure, while others feel it unfairly burdens the middle and lower-income groups. There is strong dissatisfaction with previous governments' mismanagement and corruption, especially related to misused funds and inconsistent economic policies. Many commenters express skepticism about political claims, accuse various parties of hypocrisy, and criticize politicians for broken promises. A few comments mention the importance of economic stability, foreign investments, and modernization such as EVs, while others suggest measures like quota systems to manage fuel consumption. Overall, sentiment is mixed but largely critical of current government policies and political figures, with some support for subsidy reform as necessary for national stability.

• I’m so gonna use these B40s’ IDs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jul 17, 2023 at 6:18 pm

Been talking about that since the last Pakatan gomen, until today still talking about it. If no end in sight, pls dun make preannouncements and spook the people, the business, and causing spikes in goods & food prices whenever they mention it.

As again janji was petrol to be cheaper for everyone but reality now petrol will be more expensive for everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 84
    • Najwan Halimi on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:42 pm

Padan muka to all PH voters. Serve them right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 59
      • sri roti telur on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:10 am

You don’t read politic news or history of politics much, that’s why you said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Really? You must dreaming

• Contradiction on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:51 am

is it? Majority of PH voters are M40 & T20 and now they are suffering the most while having to subsidise B40.
          This does not make any sense. At least back in BN days, BN prioritise B40 that voted for them (previously).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
          • madanon on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:02 pm

T20 and M40 also not vote for this useless madanon lar, only apek bukit and estet maca love him unconditionally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • The GE uses secret ballot. on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:13 pm

So how do you know exactly who had voted for whom? If your info is true, that means you had some how obtained confidential information from the election commission & broke the law.

• Contradiction on Jul 18, 2023 at 6:46 pm

See the area demographic of the winning sides lah bodoh. This is not confidential or OSA but was published in all mainstream papers post elections. Bodoh piang betul PH trooper ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • 'Contradiction' sendiri bodoh piang on Jul 20, 2023 at 6:14 pm

What determines the winner of a constituency in an election are the actual votes cast in the ballot boxes, not just mere speculation due to some demographics. That’s why it is possible for an incumbent who had been victorious in the same constituency during the past several elections, to lose in the next future election. And what is published in the media after the elections is of course not confidential government information, because they didn’t say which citizen actually voted for which candidate.

• Muhd afiq on Jul 18, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Najwan, grow up la kid. Why padan muka to all PH supporters? Subsidised petrol is not everything. If Petrol is still subsidised the country will go rot, already we’re 1.5 trillion in debt. PMX is doing a great job stabilizing the country attracting lots of investments that increase the economy of this country from debt hugely caused by BN era and Muhyiddin. Muhyiddin misused rm600b which is more worse than what you think PH is doing bad and he’s going to implement to reduce petrol subsidy as well. Boleh search Google la kalau xpecaya. You’re just blind and cannot see the good things he’s doing. You want cheap petrol cheap this cheap that. Just grow up la, you’re an embarrassment PH hater. PN is more corrupted. Cutting petrol subsidy saves a lot of govt money which Singaporeans are also stealing. It helps reducing country expenditure.

• Nasrul on Jul 18, 2023 at 3:19 pm

Dei najwan, Muhyiddin misuse rm600b funds and you cannot see that’s bad while cutting petrol subsidy and you’re telling PH is bad. You’re an absolute laughing stock you cannot see that PN is corrupted. Muhyiddin govt also planned to implement this thing FYI.

• But with PN, will make worse than PHBN gomen by bringing prices up for poor and middle but only cares for the rich but only supporting mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:25 am

Under previous gomen, OPR was 1.25% today is 3%, inflation was well under control, tidak ada shortage telor maupun kangkung. Under Pakatan semue pon naik kecuali taraf hidup. M40 pon jatuh ke B40, klau mrk masih undi Pakatan, they deserve to suffer the inflation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • Squid on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:35 am

Your comment just shows you know absolutely nothing about eceonomy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • He even got on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:23 am

the MYR-USD exchange rate history wrong

• Contradiction on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:53 am

Then you deserve to suffer the high inflation and Price Hikes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • This guy have brainless for always blaming Pakatan but with zero facts. People are already scared if PN rule again. PN also suffering for all including poor but only cares for politicians themselves

• biasalasemuatipu on Jul 17, 2023 at 9:44 pm

aiya all politicians same la…all talk cock and bullshit king…after they win they will manipulate and snatch everything to benefit their cronies and gang la…..actually normal people are at the bottom of their concerns…all just show only before election…

• PH Supporter on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:13 am

We supported PH becuz they said they were different. Sadly they looks to be the same. Time to support PNBN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • You are not wrong on Jul 18, 2023 at 9:29 am

However, like the rest of us, politicians are also not 100% perfect. That’s why, through the democratic process, you can choose to vote out a politician if you think he/she didn’t do a satisfactory job. However, do note that as much as you may not like a certain politician, his/her political rivals might be even worse.

• Man Dugongx on Jul 17, 2023 at 10:40 pm

Apeke bodow sangat ko nih. Tadi kawe baru beli ayaq minyeral brande DESA 250ml sebotol doh RM2 hingget.. klau Xmampu isi petrol. Naik unta senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • Gerald Kaufman on Jul 19, 2023 at 8:58 am

Wei sekor unta lagi mahal drp kereta Axia. Cuba tengok harga unta berapa. Unta untuk T20.

• targeted subsidy on Jul 17, 2023 at 10:42 pm

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2022/07/30/muhyiddin-targeted-subsidy-scheme-can-save-country-rm20bil-annually

• FLASH on Jul 17, 2023 at 11:18 pm

Semua salah Mahaiddin dan Tun M

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Just grow up kid on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:09 am

Always want this want that ingat this thing can go on for long? Already the country has a lot of debt, need to cut some subsidy, and for me I’m okay with this as long other subsidy like tong gas, rice, oil still ada. Already Singaporeans stealing our subsidised petrol which takes a lot of country money. Yes the petrol price increase goods prices oso increase and I’m okay with it. I’m NOT RICH af I’m just Border B40 level la and I understand the situation. You just grow up and accept that rm1.50 petrol is not possible to be set and you’re definitely a PH hater. Yes they did not menunaikan janji and I understand the situation. And I’m also ok with the return of GST 6% as it gives more revenue for the country to invest to increase GDP and welfare for the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • PH Supporter on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:15 am

PH did not fulfill their promise. Simple as that. If you F**k ur GF after promise to marry her but then back out, you think she will forgive you hah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Who can stop you on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:20 am

if you want to treat politicians like your f**kin’ gf..

• Unity government walk the talk at least but not PN, where PN have failed so many promises

• Terry McGowan on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:45 pm

Hey PH supporter, right now it’s not about fulfilling promises. It’s about increase the economy of the country, increase the salary of the people, stabilize inflation. That’s the most important at the moment and PMX is doing a great job he already attracted a lot of investments which increases the economy.

• Yes there are people on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:49 am

who need to grow up & start behaving like grown adults, instead of ranting & throwing tantrums like little kids when their parents don’t want to buy them new toys at the mall..

• sri roti telur on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:11 am

Padan muka to all PN voters/Tun M voters. Serve them right!

• Funny some of those PN cybertroopers here complaining this or that nowadays, but look, now at why PN is not doing better than PH and BN, you should know that rather than simply talk nonsense

• Starnest on Jul 17, 2023 at 6:19 pm

Mantap PHBN & UG partners terbaik!!!

• Phuddi sung lee on Jul 17, 2023 at 7:29 pm

Many issues pending incl major one is to stable economy and political stability as currently these two issues hanging at verge of dangerous level(politicians as usual pulling each other legs and economy needs to boosts specially FDI
    This 95 r 97 is not a issue to discuss now bez now its era of EV and hydrogen cell fuel,
    U wan to put everywhere show ic and get stuffs cheap is backward approach as its 21st century not 19’s era where by fuel prices was sky high
    So kindly stop discuss this non sense issue
    Person who like to complain will always complain doesn’t matter what ever u give

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Terry McGowan on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:17 am

This thing they’re doing is to cut some petrol subsidy to reduce govt expenditure to stabilise economy la. Already Singaporeans stealing our subsidised petrol which takes a lot of country money. EV is the future of this country not right now as most people cannot afford it atm. You want to stop this non sense issue? Why ? This is a great thing. Just grow up la , you want everything to be cheap is it. This issue makes sense to reduce subsidy to stabilise economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Dong gor on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:24 pm

Thought all in place d just finalizing some details. Now looking into ID pula…by the time u all find a way , petrol not needed lor. Ppl using KW

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:40 pm

Anwar menang, subsidi kena tarik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 47
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:20 am

Anwar gembira, rakyat sengsara
      Anwar di Sg Buloh, rakyat sorak kali sepuloh
      Rakyat dulu nak tukar, sekarang hidup sukar
      Nak negara maju, kena tukar halalaju
      Gomen Pakatan, harap cepat ditamatkan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • And you said that on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:02 am

under bossku in early 2018, the exchange rate was RM2.50 to USD1, and under PN in late 2020, the exchange rate was RM3.50 to USD1. But what you said isn’t true & thus what you say now isn’t credible.
        https://tradingeconomics.com/usdmyr:cur

• Permaidani Nasional on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:07 am

Rakyat bersorak kerana menyokong kami.

• abah sembang lagi kencang on Jul 18, 2023 at 11:13 am

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2022/07/30/targeted-subsidy-scheme-can-save-country-rm20b-annually-says-muhyiddin/20152

• Janji dicapati on Jul 17, 2023 at 8:41 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • ayahanda on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:44 am

Jgn risau, nak.. Ayah akan tunaikan, bila nak dah dpt ‘A’ utk semua matapelajaran sekolah..

• PN PM on the first day on 1st March 2020, but some months before Ismail Sabri tookover the PN PM, you know how much PN and PN PM have been promising to all Malaysians and yet declare emergency declaration for somewhat don’t know reasons or PN have lots of wrongdoing. PN is the worst government than previous ones and also far way behind what have been doing now under PH BN. You should look on why PN is real kerajaan gagal

• At least cares for poor and middle. Unlike those previous gomen since Sheraton move but not this government now, making prices higher not only just food but also for other products but only cares for rich but supporting mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • sri roti telur on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:13 am

Prices makes higher why because voters make wrong choice by supporting Tun M and also PN

• My factory hires many B40s. I’ll just bring one or two to the gas station whenever I wanna refuel my gas guzzler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Just don't forget on Jul 18, 2023 at 9:33 am

to 1st register your gas guzzler under your B40’s name at JPJ.

• ThePolygon on Jul 18, 2023 at 6:57 am

Use the IC lah… what more ID they want?

• B40>>M40 on Jul 18, 2023 at 8:38 am

As usual, M40 (middle class) will have the burden of supporting the whole country on their shoulders. Soon there will not be a middle class, just elites and the poor.

• oklatu on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:32 am

just use a quota system like electricity, let’s say 1500L per registered car per month, more than that then pay the actual price…

• Squid on Jul 18, 2023 at 10:37 am

The best way to survive as a Malaysian is to not work. Instead, do simple business and don’t declare the income. Your earnings are tax free and you get subsidy.

This is what many are doing already and it’s just gonna get worse.

• Ben Yap on Jul 18, 2023 at 12:13 pm

ride a motorcycle la… it’s fun where u can rev match, zippy through heavy traffic, saves petrol and time. get a good raincoat and protective gears and you’re ready to go.

• if raise petrol pruxe, please cut personal income tax