Malaysia and Indonesia should not be viewed as EV competitors, but complementary to each other – Anwar

Last week, it was reported that Indonesia believes that Tesla plans to invest in the manufacture of materials for electric vehicle (EV) batteries in the republic, stating that the American automaker is expected to make an announcement on this in the coming months.

While the company has also stated plans to invest in Malaysia, the general scope drawn so far doesn’t outline manufacturing, so is there something in the pipeline to develop the supply chain further? That was the question posed by CNBC news anchor Martin Soong to prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim during an exclusive interview with The CNBC Conversation over the weekend.

On the topic of electrification, Soong asked Anwar whether Malaysia would compete with Indonesia to build a supply chain for batteries – from mining to assembly – for Tesla, given the EV maker’s interest in exploring that aspect in the region.

Anwar said Malaysia has produced its own batteries and would be able to offer an advantage to Tesla. “The understanding is, of course, to buy our batteries. It is cheaper and are produced locally, and (are at an) advantage, that is what they said. Why should they bring batteries from all over the world?,” he said.

Asked if the end game for Malaysia was the assembly of Tesla vehicles, Anwar replied that it was a bit too premature for that, but said that the country was ready in other areas. “What is important is we do have the capacity to produce parts or batteries required in the cars,” he said.

The PM added that Malaysia and Indonesia’s move into electrification should not be seen as a competition, as both countries could complement each other. He said both countries have a lot in common and are working very well together both in the government and private sectors.

“I think instead of being in a fierce competition, we should be able to complement each other, and that has been the ‘spirit’ of my conversation with Indonesia’s president Joko Widodo and followed through by the industries,” he said.

On the subject of foreign investors holding 100% equity shareholdings in Malaysia, as in the case of Tesla, he said it is not something new. “There have been exceptions given for the digital transformation, or information technology-related activities, or investments. We have done that in the past, (but) are very selective,” he said.

Anwar added that such a move was not a blanket procedure or policy, but dependent on the synergy and potential economic returns down the line. “If Tesla comes in, and it can benefit three or four local industries, to me, is as good as putting a 30% equity. In fact, in terms of real returns to the economy, that is better,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bob Mal on Aug 22, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Well to be honest all Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia are competing with each other to get foreign car brands to build Right Hand Drive in this region and if they already build in one country not much chance they are going to invest in another neighboring country doing the same thing.

Also another problem with Tesla holding 100% equity why were they given such benefit when they are not even the first company to bring electric car here so why are they so special compared to others? but noted this strategy did one-up Indonesia at the moment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Celup King on Aug 22, 2023 at 2:31 pm

That is just Anwar’s defeatist talk trying to justify his failures when Tesla evidently have bigger plans in Indonesia and it doesn’t involve us. Even BYD cabut lari to Pinoy and not us, so Anwar still want to spin things?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
  • Nurul Izzah on Aug 22, 2023 at 2:09 pm

Anwar menang, investment mari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2023 at 2:27 pm

Just like how Anwar sold out Ambalat to the Indons. Earlier under PH we ady sold Pulau Batu Puteh to Sgpore. Soon under them we will be selling Sabah & Sarawak to Pinoy & China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
      • Squid on Aug 22, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Walaun detected spreading fake news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
        • PH Supporter on Aug 22, 2023 at 3:03 pm

Like how we spread the fake news Muhyiddin stole money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
        • Spin Too Much on Aug 22, 2023 at 4:31 pm

https://paultan.org/2023/08/21/mitsubishi-to-make-thailand-its-hybrid-vehicle-production-hub-expects-10-years-of-strong-demand/
          https://paultan.org/2023/08/22/byd-mulls-setting-up-an-ev-plant-in-the-philippines/

These are not fake news no matter how much PH macais want to spin. Or are your banhammer mentri going to start blocking PaulTan as well hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
          • You've over spun yourself on Aug 22, 2023 at 5:57 pm

What do allegations involving Ambalat, Pulau Batu Puteh, Sabah & Sarawak have to do with MMC & BYD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Spin Too Much on Aug 22, 2023 at 6:21 pm

You are accusing others of spreading fake news. No these are not fake news. That is the relevancy here. The only fake news here is your spin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Round & around you spin on Aug 22, 2023 at 7:08 pm

Your partner in crime alleged that Ambalat & Pulau Batu have been sold and that Sabah & Sarawak will be sold which are fake news. So, you try to save your partner by trying to spin in news about MMC & BYD which are not relevant to your partner’s allegations. Yes, you’re trying to live up to your ‘Spin Too Much’ name.

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:50 am

PH macais still trying to spin. Ada bran go ahead and ban PT if you think they are spreading fake news that investments are not going to other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • You also want to spin until kantoi? on Aug 23, 2023 at 11:29 am

It’s bad enough to call yourself Kantoi. You also want to out spin your Spin Too Much partner in crime.

• EDITOR on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:36 pm

Go ahead MCMC fellas. Make my day

• What's this? on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:00 pm

At 1st, fake news. Now, fake editor.

• You've already on Aug 22, 2023 at 3:38 pm

spread fake news about the MYR-USD foreign exchange rate. You must be 1 of the biggest supplier of fake news. Currently, the Ambalat dispute has yet to be officially settled. The British were the ones who put Pulau Batu Puteh under the Singapore administration almost a century before PM10 was born. And now you claim that Sabah & Sarawak will be sold to the Philippines & China. For sure, you do have a child’s imagination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Yes I remember on Aug 22, 2023 at 5:52 pm

this rakyat Malaysia pretender had falsely commented in July that the rate was RM2.50 to USD1 in early 2018 during PM6 time, and that the rate was RM3.50 to USD1 in late 2020 during PM8 time.

• Spin Too Much on Aug 22, 2023 at 6:22 pm

Dupe caught replying to himself again. Macai PH begitu bodoh ke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Your brain has spun too much on Aug 22, 2023 at 6:52 pm

until you could only stupidly accuse others of replying to themselves.

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Aug 23, 2023 at 9:53 am

“You’ve over spun yourself”
            “Yes I remember”
            “Your brain has spun too much”
            “Round & around you spin”
            Have been caught as dupe. Spender sudah terserlah lagi xmalu. Like PH mentris like macais dua2 pun xtau malu bila ditangkap basah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Is your real name Kantoi? on Aug 23, 2023 at 11:40 am

Already established that nobody posts their real name here at PT but you still want to delve into the issue of fake names as if it is your own underwear issue. But you are the one who childishly dupe yourself into choosing Kantoi as your ‘name’ over here at PT.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2023 at 4:44 pm

Fitnah tu dosa besar tau.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Tipu 30 juta rakyat Malaysia lagi besaq doa tau! Jual negara lagi xbleh dimaafkan tau!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
          • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:12 pm

so you admit that you tipu in this blog…..gi berambus….no manner people

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:16 pm

dulu najib pun jual negara ke china….najib pun curi duit rakyat kite..tapi ko masih sokong pulak

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2023 at 1:03 pm

So clearly PH is still sowing hatred against China and yet they in denial mode. China obviously not coming here but to other countries in Asean. Wake up & bertaubat b4 it is too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • pravda on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:50 pm

Thank you for speaking up for the motherland. Zhongguo Gongchandang welcomes you as good friend & comrade for the working class struggle, just as it welcomed your 6th PM.

• Who should wake up & repent? on Aug 23, 2023 at 3:04 pm

The one who is incarcerated, should wake up & repent.

• Peppa on Aug 22, 2023 at 2:11 pm

Blame Indonesia medias then. Not Malaysian

• KuchingMan on Aug 22, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Parasite country move capitol to East M from sheet hole Java to leach on our good fortune now easy entry everyday also can come in can walk in also. Then make new capitol into another sinking sheet hole and move another island.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Husmainem on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:15 pm

What tesla doin’ in malaysia is pure bussiness, selling products and nothing more. Is it hard to accept that more and more manufacturers dont even consider malaysia as an investment destination? There are setbacks and u turn policies. Truth is, car manufacturers only see malaysia as insignificant player on car manufacturing or not even worth to consider except for selling their products

• Peppa on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:45 pm

If that is the case, why is Porsche chose Malaysia instead of other low-labor cost countries? Exactly, shut the f up

• Because Cayenne is volume seller for Porsche and people here can afford it more than 911 with CBU pricing ?

• KudatMan on Aug 22, 2023 at 9:35 pm

Too close for comfort. Better they stay in Java and let Malaysia govern whole of Borneo

• Ben Yap on Aug 23, 2023 at 10:08 am

we’re competitors to indonesia and any other countries. we’re never brothers to begin with. everyone wants a share of the pie for their own. that’s the reality.

• Tell that to our delusional PM, maybe he should leave us alone and go over to be PM of Indonesia since he is such buddies with them. Before fight already gave up, what kinda shit leadership is this?!

• I thought ppl are tired of politics. Let’s stick to car discussions

• EDITOR on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:38 pm

Once the Pandora box was opened in 2008, there is no longer any way to close it back.

• There's no Pandora box here. on Aug 23, 2023 at 2:59 pm

That’s because you’re not the real editor.