BYD to drop ‘Build Your Dreams’ rear badging on Atto 3 and Seal EVs in Europe following customer feedback

Chinese electric vehicle maker BYD has announced that it will drop its ‘Build Your Dreams’ brand name badging on the rear on the Atto 3 SUV and Seal sedan sold in Europe. The move will also cover its vehicles sold in the UK.

The brand entered the UK market in March this year with the Atto 3, and is set to expand its range of offerings there with the introduction of the Seal and Dolphin hatchback. As Auto Express reports, the company made the decision to remove the badging, which spells out its name alphabetically, following customer feedback on it in several European markets, including the UK.

Company executives said the lengthy badging across the rear has proven divisive among both those buying and selling its cars, with some parties suggesting that the aspirational message highlights BYD’s Chinese origins.

The announcement was made during the European launch of the Seal. According to Tim Bryant, BYD’s European customer experience manager, the badging on the Seal will be simpler and cleaner as a result of the feedback. “I’m pleased to say that we’ve listened to customer feedback and thanks to our rapid supply chains, Seal models for Europe will have discrete badging,” he said.

The publication added that the badging is also being dropped from the tailgate of current production Atto 3s for the market, and these will find their way into UK stock in due course. The name will however remain on the Dolphin for the foreseeable future. On the Dolphin, instead of being affixed badges, the brand name is stamped into the tailgate pressing, and as such removing it would be too costly.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• yes, remove it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 39
  • ROTI CANAI on Sep 01, 2023 at 1:49 pm

blunders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Our dream is to colonize the world on Sep 01, 2023 at 1:53 pm

CHINESE COMMUNIST PARTY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 73
    • Proton also under CCP..but malaysian loved it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • Unknown on Sep 01, 2023 at 5:03 pm

Yet a certain Kominis entity here hate CCP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
        • Arigato on Sep 01, 2023 at 5:58 pm

I love comunism. Best ideology in the world. Communist = community = for the people. That is why the evil western leaders hates it and wants us to hate it as well. Democracy = sapu and songlap from the people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 79
          • Peppa on Sep 01, 2023 at 7:25 pm

As if china is very innocent, saint and pure. LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 79
          • vi.02xx23 on Sep 01, 2023 at 8:05 pm

In 1975, communists held 53 people hostage at an office building in Jalan Ampang, KL. Most likely you didn’t know about this incident & also you weren’t born then & thus, may be you’ll be forgiven for loving communism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 77
          • Richard Tee on Sep 02, 2023 at 11:36 am

Just give South China Sea to CCP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 24
        • vi.02xx23 on Sep 01, 2023 at 7:25 pm

So, how’s the weather in Hanoi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 36
        • Arigato on Sep 03, 2023 at 9:01 am

@Peppa, you want to see how communist and democratic gov works and who is better, just buy a plane ticket and visit china then fly to india. I need not say more..lol. People in india kena songlap badly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 61
          • vi.02xx23 on Sep 03, 2023 at 10:27 pm

Why do you choose only India & China for comparison?
            For countries with democratic governments, why don’t you choose Finland? Is it because it tops the list in the UN’s world happiness report?
            For countries with communist governments, why don’t you choose North Korea? Is it because it still represents the true ideals of communism?
            The USSR would have been an ideal choice as it was the pioneering communist ruled country, but it doesn’t exist anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 77
          • Masami on Sep 04, 2023 at 7:40 pm

Why I choose india and china for comparison?? What a stupid question. That is the best comparison. Both started off the same with same amount of population. One chooses communism while another one adopted their colonist’s system. Lool at the results. Stop using western countries to say if their system is good or not. The west is rich because they steal from other countries including from india. You argument is so stupid

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 60
          • vi.02xx23 on Sep 04, 2023 at 9:47 pm

The people of China did not happen to hold a referendum & chose communism to be their system of government. It came out of the barrel of the gun, so to speak, after the communists defeated the nationalists in a civil war.
            And of course, you as usual say the west is bad, but a communist lover like yourself appears to have forgotten that the founders of modern communism were also from the west.
            If communism was that fantastic & great, why did the USSR disintegrated?
            Either you’re rather forgetful about history, or you’re just plain stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 61
          • USSR collapsed because communism failed on Sep 05, 2023 at 7:52 am

You are afraid of Finland being a good example of western democracy. Finland didn’t colonise other countries. Finland was under Swedish rule for more than 600 years. Then it became part of the Russian empire for about 108 years and later became independent after the fall of the Russian empire, caused by the communist Bolshevik revolution. But about 20 years later, Finland had to fight off an invasion by the communist Soviet Union. Today, Finland remains an independent democratic nation, but the USSR doesn’t exist anymore because communism had failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 45
          • MASAMI on Sep 06, 2023 at 9:12 am

So many sohai thinks western democratic system is good. Hahaha. China is currently using hybrid communist and meritocratic system. Only the best people with hishest merits after years of scrutiny can make it to top position. Democratic system only allows those with cable who pandai cakap only to win. No wonder you so stupid. So enjoy your continuous cycle of Elect & Regret. 95% chance regret rate. Look at india, a tea seller with zero past experience also can be PM. Hahahahaha. What a joke. I prefer those that are capable with years of hard work to lead my country instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 35
          • If you are communist, you cannot be Malaysian. on Sep 06, 2023 at 2:35 pm

You are the sohai to think that you can be communist & be Malaysian at the same time. For already 66 years in the peninsula & coming 60 years in Sabah & Sarawak, Malaysian citizens have already accepted the constitutional monarchy parliamentary democracy as the system of government. If you believe communism is the best ideology in the world & that democracy is bad, you should move to a communist country of your choice where your ideals should come true, and renounce your Malaysian citizenship. No need anymore for you to post comments at a Malaysian portal like PT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 44
          • MichaelJack on Sep 08, 2023 at 1:59 pm

wait, how come the opposite of communism is democracy? CCP even has democracy as one of their core values!
            The opposite of communism should be capitalism, ironically which is what make the today’s ccp successful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
          • Happy 60th Malaysia on Sep 09, 2023 at 10:58 pm

*how come the opposite of communism is democracy?*
            Didn’t you notice that in a communist ruled country, the communist party doesn’t allow other political parties to exist? The communists also do not hold elections for their citizens to choose who to run the government.

*CCP even has democracy as one of their core values*
            If you are referring to their internal party elections, voting is only by party members, not the common citizens, and is likely to be staged.

*The opposite of communism should be capitalism,*
            Yes, that is ideologically correct.

*ironically which is what make the today’s ccp successful.*
            Over the years, state controlled economy system which is championed by the communist ideology, had proved to be inefficient. By the end of the 1960’s, PRoC’s economy was stagnating, lagging behind the economies of neighbouring non-communist countries. There were people in the communist party who wanted to do something about it, but they could only do so after the death of chairman Mao. Then, PRoC’s economy was gradually reformed towards the free market economy. When the collapse of the USSR indicated that communism had failed, PRoC communist party had no choice but accelerate its economic reforms, because it wants to stay in power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 37
          • Communism has failed on Sep 17, 2023 at 10:39 am

Like it or not, the Soviet Union did really collapse in December 1991 because communism has failed. Increasing the number of thumbs down or dislikes won’t change this fact, and it only indicates losing touch with reality or simply childish behaviour.

• James KWON on Sep 04, 2023 at 1:15 pm

if people buy Geely cars under proton its because they believe in local brand good nationwide service and at least proton has fan base. if Geely was meant to be by itself it would flop completely. BYD is well known for their buses and trucks and EV tech and cheap price than is why people buy but again China car means zero resale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Chris Lau on Sep 03, 2023 at 11:05 am

So we all buy communist, use communist, study communist, love communist, by the mean of your perspective

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Please for goodness sake apply this here in Malaysia too! That entire text is godawful and to look and read!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 46
  • Uncle roger on Sep 01, 2023 at 2:38 pm

The problem with China made logo….it tacky and cringe. Build your dream….better put bei yan diu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 67
  • mr1031 on Sep 01, 2023 at 3:25 pm

just promote and sell your car, stop putting your ideas into the customer..its not your concern

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
  • Mr Fakta on Sep 01, 2023 at 3:33 pm

And please redesign the cringe interior…guitar string and round biscuit aircon vent? Come one, it look cheap and funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 40
    • For a EV price more than RM140k, guitar string design really a big down, but i think most people bought this car doesnt really care about it, perhaps exterior is more attractive to them, the odometer screen look like driving a cartoon car, frankly not my taste at all…and i wont buy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • BURY YOUR DREAMS on Sep 01, 2023 at 3:34 pm

BYD: Mummyyy….the whites are bullying us
    Xi Jin Ping: Change your name la sohai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 34
    • Last Trump on Oct 04, 2023 at 12:58 pm

You bully them?? LMAO they most likely DESTORY you, ranning your FOUL MOUTH does not help

• Last Trump on Oct 04, 2023 at 1:00 pm

You bully them?? LMAO they most likely Destory you, your last resort: running your FOUL MOUTH does not help

• Last Donald on Oct 04, 2023 at 1:01 pm

You bully them?? LMAO they most likely Destory you, your last resort: running your FOUL MOUTH does not help

• Yeahsure on Sep 01, 2023 at 4:09 pm

cringy AF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • use BYD instead of Build Your Dream, otherwise, its kind of look cheap….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
  • suomynona on Sep 01, 2023 at 4:51 pm

That’s a soft power fail

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Sep 01, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Now people will think BYD – Build Your Debt.. lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
  • anonymous on Sep 01, 2023 at 5:17 pm

Malaysian: Please drop it

BYD: *doesn’t care*

European: Please drop it

BYD: BYD to drop ‘Build Your Dreams’ rear badging on Atto 3 and Seal EVs in Europe following customer feedback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 46
  • Ong Mah Li on Sep 01, 2023 at 6:20 pm

Lovely people so kind and considerate

• ZUSKOPI on Sep 01, 2023 at 7:24 pm

Beat Your Donkey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
  • Buy Your Death on Sep 01, 2023 at 7:41 pm

How about this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • DonkeyKong on Sep 01, 2023 at 7:49 pm

LOLLLL what a chingchong company.. not aware that the world doesn’t admire tasteless chingchong design elements like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
  • Mirza on Sep 02, 2023 at 5:01 am

Even Cherry drop its name and their car known as Omoda instead.

• China like to write sentences on anything they sell. I’m just wondering how Malaysia can except a car that put a “tag line” on their production car, only for Europe people to complaint about it. Being a cheap e-car, having that tagline stamp on the car, make it really cheap almost like a toy. Nobody care your actual name behind BYD, be it “Buy Yesterday Dinner” or “Blow Your D**k”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Bro, its still Chery Omada.. and Chery is everywhere on the car

• Like it then Buy dislike it MYOB. Commenting with negative feedback doesn’t benefit to anyone’s. As long as the buyer’s love the car they don’t feel awful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • Newme on Sep 02, 2023 at 11:06 am

Typical cringey mainland tagline. Luckily they didnt put “Decendants of the Dragon”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • albag on Sep 03, 2023 at 5:01 pm

should have removed it before releasing to market.. such a lame and cringe badging

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • imprezzed on Sep 03, 2023 at 10:57 pm

Wow…..do really need customer feedback to realize how cringe that branding is lmaoo

• Ben Yap on Sep 04, 2023 at 12:06 pm

should’ve just put “Brings You Death”…. Brand will become popular with controversial tagline.

• hazri on Sep 04, 2023 at 5:07 pm

so power of dreams is POD? fortunately honda never put this tagline to rear bonnet.