BMW Vision Neue Klasse – the look of future BMWs?

The BMW Group has launched a new design concept that aims to define the next generation of vehicles for its core BMW brand. Named the BMW Vision Neue Klasse, the vehicle is a representation of the company’s ambitions in electrification, digitalization, and sustainability.

According to Oliver Zipse, Chairman of the Board of Management of BMW AG, the Neue Klasse is designed to keep the company “two steps ahead of the future,” and is already shaping “the mobility of the next decade.”

The BMW Vision Neue Klasse is rooted in the company’s commitment to electrification. Zipse emphasizes that the vehicle is set to bring the future of mobility into the present. We already know that the Neue Klasse will debut a new electric architecture called BMW eDrive sixth generation. The new sixth gen BMW eDrive is said to offer 30% more range, 30% faster charging, and 25% more efficiency.

BMW will be moving from the current prismatic cell design used in its cars to cylindrical batteries, specifically a design with a 46mm diameter with two different heights. The batteries will be supplied by CATL and Eve Energy, both Chinese companies. It will also be running 800V architecture, just like Hyundai’s E-GMP, BYD and Porsche/Audi’s J1 platform. Using 800V will allow for faster charging times to be achieved.

One of the standout aspects of the BMW Vision Neue Klasse is its focus on circularity. Zipse mentions that the vehicle will be developed with an emphasis on a sustainable lifecycle. This suggests that from material sourcing to production and eventually decommissioning, BMW aims to make the Neue Klasse as sustainable as possible.

What do you think of the design of the Neue Klasse though? It certainly is a huge departure to how the current batch of BMWs look like.

We’re still trying to get used to how cars like the iX, i7/7-Series and i5/5-Series look like, which are already rather significant departures from other fairly new BMWs like the X1 and iX1. Now the Neue Klasse looks like it will revamp what it means to look like a BMW again.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Now we have to wait brand new bmw with new neue klasse platform, though this is just concept car

• M50B25 on Sep 03, 2023 at 9:03 am

BMW.. Proton from the 90s just called, they want their old Iswara back

• Peppa on Sep 03, 2023 at 9:03 am

BMW fans will say this look pretty lmao they are as much retarded as Mercedes and Honda fans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • Veneno on Sep 03, 2023 at 10:26 am

As much as I dislike current BMW design, this one looks pretty good, I kinda like it. Hate the interior design, tho. One more good thing is, it’s a sedan, not just another crossover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • stick on Sep 03, 2023 at 10:34 am

much better than the fugliest-of-all-time new 5 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Max for 10th win! on Sep 03, 2023 at 11:19 am

Nein nein Herr Oliver, das ist eine Neueu Asse.

I doubt even the biggest beemer fans will put their money on this.

• Matti on Sep 03, 2023 at 11:49 am

All these full glass roof designs – In our weather, basically suicide.

• EV user on Sep 03, 2023 at 12:30 pm

Kinda plain, but it’s a BMW. Like it or not they are still one of the top luxury car manufacturers.

• Wee Ken Fatt & Soh Ken Wee on Sep 03, 2023 at 12:58 pm

You chaching firsts la then I chaching my car bcos not enuff chaching pot. We go yam cha first then come back we swap chaching la can or not. Yaya good idea we go yam cha some the other day I got hear power failure when chaching car so terrible half a day wasted. I think we sell our car car and buy ICE what you think. Yaya good idea also how come you so smart one. That’s why my mummy tell me you must study hard then when graduate I open one stall sell Wan Tan Mee now I already own 20 restaurant.

• I charge my BEV at home. on Sep 03, 2023 at 8:22 pm

EV comes with Free charger and wall charger is still cheaper than your latest iPhone and you guys need to share a charger? Hope you guys not sharing underwears.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 03, 2023 at 2:03 pm

should collaborate with Lady Gaga

• haha… BMW’s future vision has no sun???

• Look more like No Class instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • ThePolygon on Sep 04, 2023 at 7:23 am

Merc will thank BMW for the release of this.

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 04, 2023 at 7:44 am

lol no thanks. BYD or Tesla better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Looks futuristic from the 80s. Tint lah the windows a little.

• At last, the nostrils are fully dilated.

• Looks like mimicking a 2015 Camaro but the American Camaro looks better. Looks like they are bankrupt of design ideas.

• What makes you think will bankrupt when this is not actual car, sorry la hater

• Stone on Sep 05, 2023 at 8:26 am

Future is ugly it seems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • BlueJ on Sep 05, 2023 at 9:06 am

Ok la, but this is just concept car. And thankfully that won’t have any hideous grilles. Inside looks nice. Just the outside needs to improve more, other than no more hideous grills.

• Interesting but not actual car. Lots of improvement with Neue Klasse. Way to go BMW

• @NotBruceWayne on Sep 05, 2023 at 10:26 am

Seriously? West Coast Customs made similar brake lights to an old American car years ago.. And this somehow looks like a Delorean they customized too.