2023 Modenas Kawasaki Versys-X 250 launched for Malaysia adventure-tourer market, RM24,900 price

Entering the quarter-litre adventure-tourer motorcycle market in Malaysia is the 2023 Modenas Kawasaki Versys-X 250, priced at RM24,900. Pricing does not include road tax, insurance or registration and there are two colour options – Metallic Flat Spark Black and Candy Lime Green.

Power comes from a liquid-cooled parallel-twin displacing 249 cc, claimed to pump out 33.5 hp at 10,500 rpm and 21.7 Nm of torque at 10,000 rpm. This is not surprising, since the Versys-X 250 uses much the same engine as the Z250 ABS (RM19,500) and Ninja 250 ABS (RM20,500).

Designed as a commuter and light adventure-tourer, the Versys-X 250 is optimised for low end torque, coming with twin throttle valves. Measuring 28 mm in diameter, the primary throttle valve is supplemented by a larger secondary valve that measures 40.2 mm, to allow for greater airflow at higher engine speeds.

Power goes to the rear wheel via a six-speed gearbox and slipper and assist clutch that reduces effort at the lever. Compared to the Ninja 250 and Z250’s 14-litre fuel tank, the Versys-X 250 gets a big bike sized 17-litre unit.

Spoked wheel sizing on the Versys-X 250 is 19-inches in front and 17-inches at the rear, shod with 100/90 and 130/80 rubber. Braking is done with single hydraulic discs front and rear, with dual-piston callipers while ABS is omitted.

Suspension in front is non-adjustable telescopic forks with 130 mm travel and a preload-adjustable monoshock in the rear with 148 mm of travel. Weighing in at 181 kg, the Versys-X comes with 180 mm of ground clearance and seat height is set at 815 mm.

In Malaysia, primary competition for the Versys-X 250 comes from the KTM Adventure 250, priced at RM24,000. Other market rivals below the RM20,000 price point are the Suzuki V-Strom 250 SX at RM18,000, the Benelli TRK 251 at RM13,888 and the KTNS RS3 at RM12,800.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Civic Type L(ol) on Sep 06, 2023 at 8:20 pm

Just this day, misspelled words and lost of measurement unit in a few articles that I had to do double-take to make sure I read them properly. Has the writers stop doing proof reading already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Laugh on Sep 07, 2023 at 8:20 am

Another one of those eyes blinding idiot motorcycles who have no money to pay for toll and always get on the highway breaking the speed limit endangering others then blaming cars for endangering them or kill them.

The government ought to do something about these bikes.
    Ban them from the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 89
    • Socrates on 2 wheels on Sep 07, 2023 at 12:55 pm

If ever u get into a car mishap or for breaks out in your car, do not expect any help from any bikers, whoo are usually the first responders to stop and offer help ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Socrates on 2 wheels on Sep 07, 2023 at 12:57 pm

If ever u get into a car mishap or fire breaks out in your car, do not expect any help from any bikers, who are usually the first responders to stop and offer help ok?

• Sohaihighhigh on Sep 07, 2023 at 4:08 pm

Dont worry he die first before need help

• Laffmedie on Sep 07, 2023 at 6:16 pm

Yes quite true, I’ve seen bikers going to help in road accidents. Cars will slow down to tik tok! Maybe this guy should put BDNH or ‘Bikers Do Not Help’, like DNR or Do Not Resuscitate!

• LesenB2 on Sep 07, 2023 at 9:21 am

Versys X 250 = RM24,900.00 (2 cylinders)
    V Strom 250 = RM18,000.00 (single cylinder)

Nanti pls buat comparison between these 2 bikes ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • pengayuhbasikal on Sep 07, 2023 at 9:56 am

2 cylinders give better speed and less vibration at higher rpm … the rest , up to individual preferences.

• Skulljuju on Sep 07, 2023 at 10:55 am

Parallel twin still thumps like a single cylinder. Just maybe Kawi uses better mountings and vibration-proofing to reduce it for comfort.

• Z900 2016 on Sep 07, 2023 at 10:12 am

Dominar D400 with KTM Duke 390 engine, more hp and torque is only RM16K and with ABS!!! Just because this is a Kawasaki, Modenas is upping the price??? Modenas is starting to cekik darah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Sohaihighhigh on Sep 07, 2023 at 4:14 pm

Sushi 1pinggan sudah rm3 sekali makan xkenyang, roti canai dgn kari rm2 sekali makan sudah kenyang, mana sama sushi vs kari

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 07, 2023 at 10:10 pm

You ride the Dominar at >130 for more than 20mins, your hands go numb from the vibrations. The dominar is a great value for money bike. But it’s not everything. I put 50k on mine in 2 years. If you do as many highway kms as I do, you’d need more than one cyc.

But it’s a big mistake to omit ABS. That’s a really silly thing to do. I hope that’s a typo. All the press picture shows the ABS ring.

• Z900 2016 on Sep 08, 2023 at 9:00 am

That is BS, i’ve tried D400 from KL to Batu Kurau, 3-4hrs and it feels a lot better than my previous Z250, what u mean numb? You are weak, drink more milk brother…

• Seriously ABS is omitted??..what happen to you modenas. You bring the bike that can be used off road and you omitt ABS??. Brake on gravel or sand will immediately make you lost control, eventually will slide etc due to lock of front tyre. At least give one single channel ABS. If you live in 2023, please choose other bike that can improve your safety. A lot of bike.

• DirtBiker on Sep 08, 2023 at 9:10 am

ABS is not useful on the dirt but essential on public road. When braking in the dirt/gravel, the skid is essential to help you to stop, which is why dirt biker or tourer have the ability to turn off ABS.

• Sinister on Sep 08, 2023 at 11:42 pm

The first touring bike that i tried and fall in love in is Versys, sadly i just bought TRK 251 last month because i thought they planned to launch 2023 version in end of the year. Welp, it is what it is.

• ex-mforcer on Sep 11, 2023 at 11:23 am

Trk is a great bike globally, but I’m not going to buy anything distributed by Mforce. They seem more keen on selling u their bikes than in providing after sales service and technical support. Try getting a slot to service your bike at Mforce Segambut and they will tell u that they are full up for a month! Their are short staffed and too few service bays, common problems will take days if not weeks to solve and ask the while u have to deal with a very rude and arrogant service manager who dismisses your concerns rudely. So if that’s your cup of tea and u enjoy taking on the challenges of having to deal with that nonsense, then u are champion!