Grey import Tesla built-in eSIM now works in M’sia?

It appears that Malaysia has been added to the list of countries where Tesla’s built in M2M eSIM works, as discovered by a parallel import Tesla owner today.

A lot of parallel import Teslas have had their eSIM changed to a Malaysian one by the importer but Tesla owner Englebert has been using his Premium Connectivity with a WiFi hotspot so far, so his car has had no direct access to the internet.

To his surprise, his car’s eSIM suddenly had LTE connectivity today, and he could use all his Premium Connectivity functions without being connected to his WiFi hotspot.

A quick check on what IP address the car was connecting from reveals an IP from a network called “KPN Tesla”. Tesla uses Dutch telco KPN to supply M2M eSIM for its European market cars. So what has probably happened is Malaysia has been added to the list of countries where roaming is enabled.

If you have a parallel import Tesla without a local SIM installed, is this the case for you as well, or is this an isolated case?

Teslas by default come with Standard Connectivity. Premium Connectivity is an add on that is priced differently in each market. It is USD9.99 a month in the US and £9.99 in the UK.

The screenshot above is from Tesla Malaysia’s Premium Connectivity page. We don’t know how much Premium Connectivity will cost in Malaysia yet, but all Tesla cars will be delivered with a 30 day trial of Premium Connectivity, after which it will revert to Standard.

Another interesting point to note is that Tesla UK’s Premium Connectivity comparison table includes Sentry mode, but it’s missing from the Tesla Malaysia page.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Zero ICE by 2030 on Sep 10, 2023 at 10:57 pm

Now grey imported TESLA can have Malaysian map with info of EV Charger stations instead of using Singapore Map?

• Typhoon festival active at Taiwan and Japan now on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:01 pm

Ain’t plenty of IT technician provides to root the system or jailbreak the system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Gipson Sim Tak Soon on Sep 14, 2023 at 10:13 am

Waiting for expert comment here
    Grey import got this got that
    Your mom car got massage
    Your 5g can microwave your pea brain
    Build your wet dream is a great car
    Happy you la