No more Datuk emblems on cars! Sultan Pahang says award recipients must not display crests on vehicles

The Sultan of Pahang, Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, who is also the current king, has reminded recipients of the state’s honours and titles to not display the emblems on their vehicles.

This means that those who continue to have ‘DIMP’ crests on their cars will be stopped by police and have action taken against them under the Pahang Emblems, Titles or Awards (Prevention of Improper Use) Enactment 2017.

The reminder was issued by Comptroller of the Royal Household of the Sultan of Pahang Datuk Ahmad Khirrizal Ab Rahman on Saturday, and he added that those who commit an offence under the enactment will have their awards or medals revoked. Those found using fake titles will also be charged.

IGP Tan Sri Razarudin Husain took note of the decree. “Under this section, no one except with written permission by the Sultan can display or affix any item that contains title emblems or awards or replicas of the awards on any vehicle. Action can be taken in accordance with this enactment if any vehicles still display the emblems,” he said in a statement, reported by Bernama.

With this, one of the main reasons why many want to be a Datuk in the first place – to show off – is now illegal. Will the other state rulers also declare the same?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YASSSS! Finally, those wannabes and showoffs gotta have to follow the actual rules set by the government.

Daulat Tuanku.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
  • Datuk to 60 Grandkids on Oct 16, 2023 at 9:47 am

This is the way! Daulat Tuanku!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
  • Good step to put a damper on those road bullies lol.

But will the police dare to stop datuks for this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Why not, it’s by the decree of the King. Give police the power to refer them back to the Sultan’s council as well. Datuks are a dime in a dozen, nothing to be proud of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • Unfortunately, it’s actually only the decree of the Sultan of Pahang and not in the capacity of YDPA.

• Valerie on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:21 am

Dont even know if those display on their car is real or fake. They all have 100% black tint and some may drive like their road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Sohai on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:22 am

Love you very much Tuanku.
    You have worked so hard during your reign, no thanks to those naughty (and frogy) politicians.
    Thank you for giving us much needed stability during these unprecedented times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • ahbeng on Oct 16, 2023 at 10:31 am

Ayo, how those MLM or Forex traders going to tik tok show off liaow with all this VVIP emblems ?

It’s a good move by the royalties to stop all this. Receiving a datukship should be an honour instead of showing off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Daulat Tuanku !
    Hope all other states follow. Finally the rich cant FLASH their lights and tailgating us like a super VIP. Now PDRM to start taking action

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • yea.. very nice..
    hopefully enforcement will be carried out..

• Pahang State Issued Dato Only on Oct 16, 2023 at 11:32 am

Using Perak emblems no problem

FAKE one woh YOU Blow aHH?

• Regular Citizen on Oct 16, 2023 at 12:10 pm

Good move. Salute the Sultan of Pahang. Should be whole malaysia. Not just Pahang.

• Daulat Tuanku! The worst offenders are the double, bus stop and pedestrian crossing parkers in Mont Kiara. Posh cars, darkest tints like the law don’t apply to them and multiple emblems. I worry for the poor expat moms on strollers that dare express their consternation to them or their huge drivers who will point to ‘em emblems as if saying how dare you…

• Na Tuk Kong on Oct 16, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Duit sudah angkat

Barang tarak boleh guna

LoL!!!

• Yalah on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:27 pm

Datukship from Sulu can put kah?

• Ben Yap on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:28 pm

work so hard to get title but cannot display. people will call these Datuks “En” instead.

• Sir McTominay Woo on Oct 16, 2023 at 1:29 pm

You throw stone also surely hit someone with title now so many already

• @NotBruceWayne on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:17 pm

& Only royalties & PM should be allowed to use riders escort; the rest of the politicians/VIPs should endure the traffic like the rest of us!

• Laugh on Oct 16, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Alamak, like that why would people wanna be dato anymore.
    Rich ppl pay to get these titles so they can show off and put this metal sign on their cars.

Aiyo, cannot drive under intoxication and other things lah…

• hazri on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:30 am

please do the same for bar council emblem, why? want to people know you are a lawyer or magistrate? i know some of my friend who not real datok use this pahang emblem to their old alphard and vellfire to show off. nothing to be proud of, so many datok from pahang, regardless fake or real. why? because easy to get or can be sold from middle man? so no respect from me. i just respect who get datok from johor, because susah giler nak dapat. Daulat Tuanku.

• ThePolygon on Oct 17, 2023 at 7:27 am

Finally my camera got more use.

• I already become a Datuk after my daughter give birth to her qst child.