The FL5 Honda Civic Type R may be a RM400k Civic, but that’s not stopping a long line of well-heeled Malaysians trying their luck for one. There are now over 200 names in the fish bowl, Honda Malaysia (HM) says.
Luck? If you haven’t heard, the latest CTR is the first car in Malaysia to be sold via ballot. HM made the decision to draw names instead of the usual first-come-first-served method as our market’s allocation for this year is only 20 units, including one unit for HM’s internal use. That’s 19 keys up for grabs when demand for the mega hatch is so big.
The SOP is this. One puts his name and a deposit at a Honda dealer, and all names are handed over to HM, who will pick the names in a ballot. We’re told that the draw – which happens tomorrow – will be done internally, but audit-compliant. If you’re in the running, good luck.
Like its FK8 predecessor, the FL5 Civic Type R uses a KC20C1 2.0 litre turbo-four mated exclusively to a six-speed manual driving the front wheels – no auto option, nor AWD, which is the way it should be. Outputs for Malaysia are 319 PS at 6,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque from 2,600 to 4,000 rpm, slightly lower than the 330 PS/420 Nm of Japan – like Australia, this is probably due to our fuel quality.
Get the full deal on the sixth-generation Civic Type R in our launch report, which also has a small gallery of past masters such as the EK9, FD2 and FK8. If you missed this boat, more will be coming next year.
GALLERY: 2023 Honda Civic Type R FL5 in Malaysia
Luckily I bought my rekon FL5 rm280k only..
where you bought for 280k only?
Accident car?
LOL
Fl1 convert kan..
semua orang kaya Raya. syabas crony and songlap
Kalau lu pokai beli saga Axia saja la malu apa
i naik rapidkl aje
Saga axia pun semua kena songlap.. hahhahaha
Ask honda Msia bring in honda civic hatchback fl1 sure 4,000 booking on 1st batch. Many will be ah beng convert to Tipu-R wannabe.
Tesla M3 can smoke this car at half the price.
Errr..Tesla has smoke?
Sometimes. Didn’t u see the news?
Sadly, that’s true…
Vape pun takde, how to smoke?
People who always try to bring an EV into the picture are just kids who don’t know what a manual transmission is. Probably have not seen one in their life. Sorry mate, go play with your battery powered remote control car and leave the stick shifting to adults.
As long as you know your place and stick to the left lane fine by me. Stop hogging the traffic and go play with your stick.
U own a Tesla ? Or u just comment because u can’t afford anything above RM100k ?
My car fully paid lah, Kancil 850 EZ.
Yeah 1st KM of straight line only. Found 1st corner and brick powered tesla would go straight into a ditch, unless you drive slower than average midsized sedan.
given the average driver skills, civic type r also has high chance of ending up in a ditch.
Honda quality is suck….