2023 Honda Civic Type R FL5 launched in Malaysia – 2.0T, 319 PS, 420 Nm, 6MT, Sensing/Connect, RM400k

It’s here, the latest iteration of one of the most loved and revered names in the car world – the Honda Civic Type R.

This is the FL5, the sixth-generation Civic Type R with a hatchback body, the hottest version of the 11th-generation Civic and successor to the FK8 that we love. Before that was the FK2, which introduced turbo to the nameplate. Prior to that was a series of fabulous naturally aspirated VTEC engines in the FN2, EP3 and the one that started it all, the EK9. Of course, who can forget the FD2, the first Type R model to be officially sold in Malaysia, which was the only country to get the get the JDM sedan outside of Japan. Check out the past masters in a mini gallery below.

Honda Malaysia has form when it comes to Civic Type R (we also received the FK8), which is why we were expecting the FL5 to eventually reach our shores, even before it was teased to the media in March this year. Fast forward half a year and celebrity parents and football clubs would say: He’s here and he’s perfect.

Like its FK8 predecessor, the FL5 Civic Type R uses a KC20C1 2.0 litre turbo-four mated exclusively to a six-speed manual driving the front wheels – no auto option, nor AWD, which is the way it should be. Outputs for Malaysia are 319 PS at 6,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque from 2,600 to 4,000 rpm, slightly lower than the 330 PS/420 Nm of Japan – like Australia, this is probably due to our fuel quality.

The higher figures (for Japan) are due to a redesigned turbocharger where the size, shape and number of the turbine wheel blades have been optimised along with the flow path of the intake charge. Other changes include an increased air intake flow rate as well as a more efficient exhaust system. The latter features a straight through design and an active exhaust valve. They’ve improved the Active Sound Control.

Powertrain aside, the effective opening area of the radiator has been increased by 48% thanks to an enlarged grille opening. There’s also a lighter flywheel, and the rev-match system has been revised to be more precise. The 6MT also gains a high-rigidity lever and an optimised shift gate pattern for more precise and direct shifts, accompanied by a helical-type LSD and aluminium shift knob.

Elsewhere, the suspension (front MacPherson struts, rear multi-link) gains increased rigidity and setup was retuned for better straight-line stability and steering feel. As before, you get electronically controlled dampers with three drive modes (Comfort, Sport and R+) plus a new Individual setting.

The carryover two-piece front brake rotors get better cooling as well as a retuned booster for enhanced feel and controllability. Honda worked closely with Michelin to develop the Pilot Sport 4S tyres, which now have a 265/30 profile, 20 mm wider than before. The black wheels with ‘inside out’ lip design are 19-inch items (an inch smaller than the FK8) and they contribute to a 25 mm wider front track, while rear track is wider by 12.7 mm.

Compared to the FK8, today’s CTR is 20 mm longer, 15 mm wider and 12.7 mm lower. Honda says that the driver sits lower than before in a newly designed and lighter sport seat, which is of course covered in full red fabric. There’s no other interior colour option; likewise, Honda Malaysia is only offering the FL5 in the Type R signature Championship White, just like with the FK8.

Unlike the FK8 though, the more matured FL5 is made in Japan and is a CBU import from Honda’s Yorii plant in the Saitama prefecture. There’s also Honda’s Sensing suite of driver assist features, Honda Connect, Log R Data Logger (includes Sepang) and a reverse camera/sensors, things that our previous generation CTR didn’t enjoy. There are eight airbags in total, including knee airbags for the front occupants.

Despite its super aggressive aero-honed looks, the FK8 was actually a good daily with decent ride – with these new features and more subtle looks (12% better Cd value, more ‘integrated’ styling, no more fake carbon print and red accents) the new Type R should be even better in this respect.

By the way, the flared rear fenders are now unique to Type R, instead of the old car’s plastic extensions. The hatchback’s rear doors (no more Type R badge) are also now unique to match the wider fenders. Oh, and the rear bench centre is not for human seating – there are cupholders there, so it’s a four-seater.

Would you like to have one? Who wouldn’t, which makes the admission price of RM399,900 on-the-road without insurance the biggest limiting factor, alongside spouse approval. If that sounds high, bear in mind the FL5’s Thailand price of 3,990,000 baht, which is now equivalent to RM514k.

There’s one more hurdle though, and it’s a huge one. Potential buyers will have to enter a ballot for the 19 units of the first batch, and Honda Malaysia will pick the names on October 20. Full gallery coming soon. For now, check out the car we checked out in Bangkok earlier this year – the specs are similar. Detailed specs on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2023 Honda Civic Type R FL5 in Malaysia

GALLERY: Honda Civic Type R past masters

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bob Mal on Sep 27, 2023 at 11:28 am

One will definitely miss the Civic Type R FD2 which is sold for RM200k back in 2007 (+ only Malaysia got the this model outside Japan), then the Turboi FK8 at RM335k back in 2017 and now its RM400k WoW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Dah Menang Semua on Sep 27, 2023 at 12:28 pm

FD2 was the last “VTEC” Type-R
      These now only turbocharged

• Kaki demo on Sep 27, 2023 at 2:42 pm

My abg sepupu last month bought a 2022 rekon FL5 $289k only

• as an enthusiast.. i just don’t feel it anymore.
      its unexciting. might as well put Type-‘R’etired.

i’d rather just look at getting a DC2 or EG6 or EK9.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
    • Katheryne Wong on Oct 13, 2023 at 2:44 am

If can tapau Golf R with this price then will buy, or else better get the Golf R because cheaper and faster

• I think all manual “sport” car should come with a handbrake. Just like the GR86 & GR corolla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • ROTI CANAI on Sep 27, 2023 at 11:43 am

400k for a civic. great car but still the price is mindblowing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Honda for 400k..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • anonymous on Sep 27, 2023 at 12:07 pm

laughs in what were they smoking when they priced this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • It tickles me that Honda boasted how they wanted the latest civic sedan to be proportionally accurate and then when it comes to the hatchback they just throw that idea out the window.

• Wiraturbo on Sep 27, 2023 at 12:27 pm

400k easily smokes by 200k Tesla 3, susah ego o

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
    • You must be the type of person to buy cheap liquor to get drunk because it has higher alcohol, as opposed to enjoying the finer things in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
      • City type R on Sep 27, 2023 at 3:29 pm

Lol. Its a honda bud. Aim higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • If we know how much efforts the Honda engineers put into this machine and the results she produces in the race track, she worth every single penny. Don’t forget it’s limited with serial number

• maybe in acceleration. top speed is not EV’s strong point. anyway, tesla smoking CTR is rather ironic considering tesla doesn’t even produce smoke.

• Jase Kong on Sep 27, 2023 at 12:43 pm

Really sad to see this outcome… Japanese currency is dropping till 31.88 today, yet FL5 price still can hit RMRM399,900… the specs is lower than other countries like no 12 Bose speakers here… RIP la… I am in the booking list but I will definitely pull out this really over price fomo trick. There’re plenty choices out there than FL5 now days. No Thanks Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • No money then shut up on Sep 27, 2023 at 1:02 pm

Please make sure u got 400k in ur bank before u say this is overprice, otherwise just drive ur myvi aka budget king of the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Keegan Ting Tak Sing on Sep 27, 2023 at 1:06 pm

Dumb culture of monkey people buy silly money car syok sendiri trash it and cry. Myself still drive my second hand Volvo I buy long long ago. So people say this car sure break down but I tell them you cannot give flower to monkey. Maintenance and driving carefully kept it trouble free now already over 500k km still no overhaul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • 4GR-FSE on Sep 27, 2023 at 1:11 pm

Sad that budget fun cars that used to be cheap and accessible for young enthusiast have now turned into premium products that only the rich and middle age men can afford.

• Nostalgila on Sep 27, 2023 at 2:12 pm

Well said brother. That ship of supra, celica, skyline, s2000, evo has sailed way past.

• Rev match for those who wanna buy a manual but dunno how to heel & toe or to blip – rev match manually. I hope the have option to turn it off like the fairlady.

I guess the car manufacturers have to do it to sell cars…

• czkry.86 on Sep 27, 2023 at 4:31 pm

hope u do know that, most new gen manual comes with auto rev match and u can disable them as well, even the fk8 able to disable the feature

• Ur moms car on Sep 27, 2023 at 2:19 pm

400k for this? Better wait for recon ones or just buy gr corolla

• Honda F1 Champion on Sep 28, 2023 at 11:33 pm

GR Corolla is 355k. Cheaper by 11% but who’s counting if you’re not a fan?

If you want the best on track, Type R smokes GR. Says a lot for a fwd car.

• It’s sad to say that the depreciation of MYR really impacted the price of this car. It used to be RM300k+ now its close to RM400k.

• With the weakening of the JPY, one can only conclude one thing: the AP holders’ insatiable appetite is disgusting.

• HargaBapakDia on Sep 27, 2023 at 2:36 pm

RIP on launch. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Will not buy EV on Sep 28, 2023 at 11:20 pm

Sorry to burst your libido but all 19 cars for the year sold.

• Atas sensing 2.4 on Sep 27, 2023 at 3:52 pm

Interesting manual car pun ada auto cruise, how does it works? need to pijak clutch change gear?

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 27, 2023 at 4:05 pm

lanewatch or real blind spot monitor?

• amz zani on Sep 27, 2023 at 4:14 pm

Really sad to see this outcome… Japanese currency is dropping till 31.88 today, yet FL5 price still can hit RMRM399,900… the specs is lower than other countries like no 12 Bose speakers here… RIP la… I am in the booking list but I will definitely pull out this really over price fomo trick. There’re plenty choices out there than FL5 now days. No Thanks Honda

• czkry.86 on Sep 27, 2023 at 4:34 pm

55K difference between the GR Corolla and this. from what I know, GRC offers better safety specs than this and cost cheaper

• Winner Ong on Sep 27, 2023 at 6:57 pm

Good fortune to my fans and loser can call your mommy daddy ask money buy rubbish car. This is for loser car pay money buy rubbish oso cannot win any racing only show your rubbish friend you so rubbish. I driving my Conti car already 3 years make many bisnes already you pay instlment bank hutang card ask your mother father for money. If I see pupil like this make me want to slapping face but I can control. Don’t so serios I only helping you be success like me but if you want angry oslo okay just don’t come near my face.

• C0kodok on Sep 27, 2023 at 8:31 pm

340i, nuf said, getting this is just dumb.

• This is a car that die hard fans said very good car but end up no money to buy and even worse if got money just will buy BMW and Merc.

• No sound on Sep 28, 2023 at 8:47 am

Good. With this body shape ah beng should have a harder time to copy

• 19 units only? luckily We have more Civic Type R at home.
    Civic type R at home: CIVIC TIPU R

• Sohai on Sep 28, 2023 at 12:11 pm

That Honda gear shift feel is to die for.
    I just wish it is not turbo and continue its vtec near 10k rpm rev engine. I had the privilege to drive a S2000 before. It is not just pure speed. It is also the sound, the control, that give you that adrenaline.

• lua sen on Sep 28, 2023 at 2:35 pm

among the jap brands in msia, i think H’s strategy is racing up a steep hill…

• baik beli... on Sep 30, 2023 at 12:30 am

golf R and 340i are cheaper

• hazri on Oct 02, 2023 at 7:20 pm

thats why only sell 19 unit, rm400k only for hard die fan. maybe after 20 years, the price can jump to 1 million. in your dreams.

• so cool!

• killer A on Nov 21, 2023 at 6:40 pm

still better than gr corolla 3 cylinder joke