The new Automated People Mover System, or aerotrain at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) is nearly 90% complete and will be delivered from Wuhu, China to Malaysia next year, transport minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook said.
The first, new aerotrain set consists of three cars and is of an improved design that is similar to the previous one which has no seats and therefore is standing room only because it is meant to connect the main terminal with the satellite terminal which is a short distance apart, the transport minister said in a Facebook post.
“However, there are some additional features in terms of convenience and comfort. There are seats for the elderly, and larger windows in the design to ensure a better and brighter view outside, he said in the video depicting his visit to the trains’ assembly site in Wuhu, China. The aerotrain assembly plant in Wuhu is a joint effort between Alstom and the China Railway Construction Corporation (CCRC).
Meanwhile, Loke expressed hope that Malaysia Airport Holdings Berhad (MAHB) can resolve the contract issues in order for the aerotrain service to be reinstated as soon as possible, Bernama reported. Malaysia Airports Sepang (MA Sepang), a wholly owned subsidiary of MAHB terminated the contract with Pestech Technology last August for the supply, design and installation of the aerotrain at KLIA.
The termination was due to Pestech’s unsatisfactory performance, which had a significant impact on the project’s progress and posed a risk of delays in completing the project by the specified deadline, Bernama reported MAHB as saying.
He can just take a good look in Changi Airport, Sg but he chose his ‘homeland’ instead lol
But their trains also came from China wor
You are missing the point entirely hun. As are the others who dislikes my comment
Anthony Loke dah jual to China….
Inspired by Bharat train everyone can ride on train roof top as well or clinging onto side windows.
Your superfluous comment against India shows your insecurity :p #smallpenissyndrome
the point here is that since Singapore trains also originate from China, anthony loke was wise to go straight to the source
hello? this is not a public transport la, not even under prasarana. it is Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad, a private company and why this numberplate minister is so busy body going to China to inspect it for? Please find ways to further reduce the cars on the road
But then hor when it broke down they blamed him wor so how?
Because it was his fault for cutting maintenance budget back when he was first TM?
PM7 asked him to
MAHB is a private company and should be able to take care of this train problem by itself. The money from airport fees goes directly to mahb to maintain the airport and it’s facilities. No need for ministers to get involve.
But in this case, looks like mahb incapable of even solving this issue since decades ago. I attribute this to mahb first CEO who really screwed up everything. Including klia2.
Another example is airport expansion.
KK airport just completed its upgrade and expansion less than 10 years ago and now already overcrowded and aircon breakdowns.
Same will happen to penang airport. Expanding from 8 mil. pax per year to 12 mil. is just not enough. It should at least be 15 or 20 mil. Pax per year so that it could operate uninterrupted for next 20 years at least.
From the way it’s been managed, I can guess mahb is a top management. Too many people at the top.
They should simply sell off the smaller airports and focus on the big ones. Klia and saleha gokcen in tukey.
Penang, kk, kuching, alor setar, k terengganu, kota baru sell It all off. It’s too top heavy to manage small. Airports.
Commercial airline (and the designated airports) falls under public transport so it is the minister’s responsibility and job scope to ensure the service is back to how it should be. Clear cut and straight forward.
He is a publicity hog. Any time there is any Tom, Dick & Harry function with a camera you can bet he will be there.
he’s trying to out perform his predecessor
You have ur own reasons for that malicious comment. Loke does what a responsible govt servant should do, to put things in perspectives & giving assurances to people concerning our (& visitor’s) needs.
Just ignore those PN malap stooges worshipped Duta middle Timur enjoy pulling up Sotong along trengganu beach. :D
You can’t reduce cars, need to build more roads and connect backend parts to ease congestion
I see no logic but just bad planning with Aerotrain. Imagine just landing from a tiring long flight and can’t wait to leave the airport. But after coming out of the plane, you got to queue and waith for a stupid train. Bodoh. The best airports are the ones that not only look good but it will have the shortest time to get out of the airport. Sohai punya planning.
Boss even the best airports also got waiting time for trains. See our next door neighbour whose airport ranks among the best in the world.
u r lucky dat u can afford the air fare, not like most ppl..
Klia was built during Madey era. Badly designed n failed layout exactly like previous incompetent gomen Pnpas an utter failure..
And those dumbo malap kaki hutang oppos nw blindly sucking up to that Madey firaun. Lolol !!
I agree, KLIA is very bad design. Our Low IQ politicians thought how cool it looks to have a train in the airport not considering most people just wanna get out quick. Mau gaya tapi tak bermutu. Typical kampung mentality. Gaya dulu
KL flood everyday..
Meanwhile we getting new train which shorten travel time between 2 terminals.
Talking about priority…
When klia design was first revealed with a satellite terminal and train connection to main terminal, I knew it would be problematic..
It could work but you need engineers to be in charge during design phase and not architects or politicians.
Changi is different, the trains are used to take passengers between terminal. But when you disembark from taxi or car, you go to terminal where your flight is, and directly to your plane with no need for train. The inter terminal Changi train is not fully packed and used by those on transit for flights that takes off at another terminal.