No plans to regulate Grab, e-hailing prices; introducing a floor price could increase fares – Anthony Loke

Transport minister Anthony Loke has said there are no immediate plans to regulate e-hailing fares in the country, including setting a floor price. As reported by The Star, Loke explained in the Dewan Rakyat that the setting of a floor price is complicated process that needs to take into consideration the interests of both drivers and passengers.

“If the floor price is set, then the fare charges for the users will possibly increase as well. When that happens, the MPs will come back to the August Hall and raise an issue about the rising fares. There are variables like traffic congestion, weather, distance, time as well as demand and supply which takes into account,” said Loke.

“We should look into dynamic pricing mechanisms which rely on supply and demand therefore the fare rate will be flexible based on real-time factors,” he added. Loke was replying to a Datuk Larry Sng, who asked the transport ministry to state the outcome of its meeting with e-hailing companies, particularly the review of fares that are reportedly too low and affected gig economy workers.

The transport minister revealed the Land Public Transport Agency (APAD) had met with stakeholders from the e-hailing industry, with companies saying it encouraged its partners to operate in areas with high demand where they are offered incentives.

“For example, one e-hailing service provider is informing their partners one week in advance on incentives through their platforms or application. Such a move can assist the partners or drivers to plan their operating times and to meet their income target,” Loke said.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Should a floor price be introduced for e-hailing services to benefit gig economy workers? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• When there were private developers building properties for sale, the government establishes bodies like LPHS, UDA, JCorp in order to build affordable properties for the public to purchase. It is time that the government establishes non-profit oriented bodies that build apps akin to Grabs, Foodpand, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Malaise Carabao, Jina Barbie, Bharatan Bordeaux on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:46 am

Can’t compares citrus with coconut. Supervising asset pricing is very much appreciated. Meanwhile it’s not economic viable to supervise service charges provided via a liability.

• Don’t give the gomen funny ideas to repurpose the white elephant MySejahtera

• drMpower on Nov 15, 2023 at 11:55 am

this floor plan beat the whole idea of Grab in the first place. that is to provide competitive pricing
    thats regulation in some sense. u put a minimum to a pricing, thats render the whole thing worthless.

one way is to get everyone to agree to minimum wage. that can be done without the floor pricing plan. there are so many ways to provide competitive services.

• newme on Nov 15, 2023 at 12:02 pm

Regulate what? Huge population pounding their chest wanting to boycott this company. Let the boycott do it’s work, if they can.

• A call for a rational mind,not pure emosi on Nov 15, 2023 at 7:21 pm

Their their own friends,relatives r now eating kanji.Just because the Spore Grab lady made some not so “ngam ” comments.Of course,we shouldnt condone violence done to the poor Gazans who r facing starvation n needless deaths.

The Mc Dee franchise was sold by Vincent Tan 2016,to the Saudi Company which has been doing charity locally,why they cant see? Why punish the staff who might face layoff soon? What wrong did the local McDee staff do?

• Tokguru Bala on Nov 15, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Alhamdulillah terbaik YB Loke perihatin rakyat.

• Laugh on Nov 15, 2023 at 3:49 pm

Comeon lah…
    We need to raise the price of Grab travel and income of gig workers.
    They need more money.

It should be raise high enough so everyone would not choose to use it.
    lol….

• Ehailing rate need to be reasonable on Nov 15, 2023 at 10:32 pm

Frankly, if u got do some research, u will know tht the price is cheaper compare to our neighbours under the green brand. Need to be reasonable. Remember, drivers r using their own car tht need maintenance like car wash& vacuum, oil chg every 2 mths, brake, tyres, gearbox oil, aircond. ehailing insurance, roadtax, puspakom inspection, installment etc. Some more their risk r higher as dunno what type of passengers they may get. Not yet include some accident. Ppl choose to do ehailing mainly bcoz they hv no choice. My fren start this year. He used to earn 7k as salaried man, after he lost his job, unable to get a job tht even pay 4k and somemore need to compete with younger colleagues. Get humiliated and bully. So now he end up doing ehailing. At least 3 of my frens over 40s end up doing this. Really pity them after listen to their grouses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Sohai on Nov 15, 2023 at 10:42 pm

What the government shouldnt do is distort the pricing without knowing better.

What the government should do instead is to introduce more competitions in the form of quality public transport. The market will balance the pricing by itself

• Just my 2 sen. on Nov 15, 2023 at 10:53 pm

My suggestion to Mr.Loke,
    1. Match the rate compare to northern neighbour.
    2. Or reduce the commision charge.
    3. Higher rate to foreigners.
    4. Charge based on no. of passengers, eg 1-2 ppl std rate, 3-4 ppl 20% higher. This is to compensate the extra fuel/wear&tear due to xtra load.
    5. additional charge for more than 2 luggages.
    6. provide dedicated workshop for ehailing vehicle tht can enjoy lower repair/service price.
    7. combine all the small ehailing company to under 1 umbrella to compete with the big 1.
    just my 2 sen.tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Commuter on Nov 16, 2023 at 9:22 am

I don’t mind paying extra for better service, maybe increase the tier up than just the lowest Justgrab service. Increase the Grab plus service with better cars & service and confirmed driver wont cancel the booking will be great. If in a hurry, just pay extra ie. choose Grab Plus/premium…etc

• AL the Part Timer on Nov 16, 2023 at 12:21 pm

Yeah, agreed on ur point. If the drivers cant earn enuff, how to regularly maintain their vehicle for the comfortable of passengers? As a parttime ehailing, driver cancel mostly due to unreasonable pickup point & fare, ie driver going to north, but pickup at south, need to u turn at 1-2km to pickup for rm5??? it is their ridiculous apps tht fail to match correctly. Not picky, but we need to count the petrol consumption for tht job.If the fare is higher, every driver will just do. And also agreed on the comment above tht G need to charge foreigner higher price. banglas all using ehailing now, as they found out cheaper, convenience & comfortable to use as a group, somemore misuse it to carry their things!? 1 price for both human & goods transportation!! Somemore their civicmindedness is low, shoes always carry sands, sneeze & cough inside the car. Smelly. Cant they take bath or change before taking the ride?! As a result, Driver need to cleanup the carpets, seats and spray disinfectant every trip end.If not, we get bad rating from next passenger pulak! Sigh……..!!

• Wats the logic!! on Nov 16, 2023 at 9:04 pm

And i also want to add, Wats the logic when 6seater rate same as axia for JustGr. Eg. Aruz est fuel consumption 14km/l vs axia est 23km/l but both get same rate for the same distance job?? If u just depend on 6seater job, 1day can get 2 maybe?? Not even include the higher cost of wear/tear on tyres, brakes, etc. Hopefully a better alternative platform come sooner to stop the monopoly.

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2023 at 2:47 pm

I don’t understand why so many complain about high fare(Grab). There are platform with medium(Air Asia) (Gojo) and the very low fare(Indrive). You can’t pay less for executive service. Go to others service match your wallet.

• mohd arasul on Nov 16, 2023 at 7:01 pm

if that is the case what abt driver partners, not only the passengers got commitments but the driver partners too, part time drivers can survive but not the full timers, the passengers got choice too, either take a cab or a bus if they think the rate is unfavorable to them

• Chan jit Seaw on Nov 16, 2023 at 7:09 pm

The problem is during peak hours when demand is high and supply is low, the ehailing companies still maintain the normal non peak hours fare. Drivers only earn less than RM25 per hour due to traffic. Pick up and drop off for 1 passenger might take more than 1 hour. Drivers are losing in these instances.

• Man Kok Wai on Nov 16, 2023 at 9:04 pm

All e-hailing price should be negotiate between driver & passenger, like INdriver system, in order to stop the driver being exploit by e-haling company by giving unrealistic fare!

• Made jobless during 2018 govt on Nov 16, 2023 at 11:48 pm

Grab app is not fortuneteller. Imagine you book for x ride. Actual ride 10mins later may encounter rain, traffic police block due to vip on road, que at 4 only car per green, late customer arriving to car, request for apartment name but ask to go to block a round next to exit. Grab app should give estimate pricing, reducing by the actual time. Not by predicting one will reach within a specific time without taking in consideration all mentioned above.
    At 25sen per KM, that was pricing long time ago when petrol is RM1.

• ManOnly on Nov 18, 2023 at 9:38 am

Hi Mr. Antony Loke…ur answer is only one sided. Please try urself to drive a ehailing servis for a week n then give a feedback again. That time I can accept whatever ur answer. 2015 is good. 2019 50% gone. 2023 75% gone. Tq

• ManOnly on Nov 18, 2023 at 9:45 am

Hi Mr. Antony Loke….
    Ur answers more to one sided benefit. Please let u try drive a ehailing servis for one week n then give a feedback again. That time sure I can accept whatever ur answer n thousand thank u to u.
    2015 -Good
    2019 – 50% gone.
    Now 2023 – 75% gone.

• As e hailing driver the pricing at peak hour during morning, noon and evening is not consistent. For example, on Friday afternoon with heavy traffic the price is just normal whereby if you look at the traffic condition its bad, same goes in the evening, traffic goes as bad till 830-9pm but high fare is only till 630pm,with the rainy situation prices get too low, it is very demoralising. Had to off the apps till price gets higher(which it wont), or receive a job but getting stuck in the traffic. It is as if the e hailing operator saying”if you want take it, if not others will do it*, For them no matter what they still charge 20% from the fare. Its not a win win situation but you lose i win.

• Mentally retorted n retarted people like some ministers don’t know of drivers difficulties. Example : There is ceiling travelling incentives not less than Rm1.30/km at all companies to their staff vehicles which is taken into considerations : fuel, wear n tear parts, service, repairs, insurance, monthly repayment and roadtax and salary.

But, sorry to say, few of our ministers are over brilliant or educated since they look into the passengers benefits only,
    Does a Rm4.00, Rm4.80, Rm6.00 fare for a trip make sense in this Inflative world?

Passenger who thinks prices are high don’t have to board an E-hailing vehicles, instead they can walk or take free bus services to their destinations without spending a penny.

So, a fair ceiling price is compulsory for e-hailing industries by the govt, which shouldn’t be measured through supply and demand, instead it should be measured through current unstable economy, cost involved to maintain vehicles and others already mentioned in paragraph 1, and again inflation which has risen few times, but e-hailing fares were downgraded few times.

Hopefully, there is a swift solution over this issue, brilliant ministers.

Regards

• So cheap still complaint but cant afford a car! on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Ya, passengers complaint fare high really cheap scum! even they paid rm10 per trip, everyday, is still consider cheap..what new car can they buy with rm300mtly including maintenance , petrol! Somemore treat car like their own. Cab now charge even higher with meter! e haling cars mostly less than 5 yrs old, well maintained , comfortable but charge lower than cab??? Loke cant u see the problem here? Unless u can find a job for the drivers, if not plz do something! Dont let G monopoly.

• Shamugam on Feb 26, 2024 at 11:07 pm

As usual the Minister is talking on behalf of the EHailing companies. Just compare the income of drivers the last 5 years n u can see the problem. Compare the prices of the EHailing service for the same period n u will see the prices going down. Now compare the prices of spare parts for the same period. Then u know what the drivers are complaining are fully justified. Show me an industry where prices have gone down over 5 -10 years. It’s happening in ehailing industry.