JPJ 14-day ops found 23k drivers without licence, 17k cars with expired road tax and 14k with no insurance

Another large-scale operation conducted by the road transport department (JPJ) has resulted in another large haul of traffic offenders, with the miscreant list being led by those motoring about without a driving licence.

According to the department’s senior enforcement director, Datuk Lokman Jamaan, 23,748 summonses were issued to road users for the particular offence during Ops Patuh Bersepadu 2023, a nationwide 14-day operation that ended last Friday. During the two-week exercise, the department inspected 554,372 vehicles across the country.

Expired road tax was the next highest offence detected by the department, with 17,447 notices being issued for this, as The Star reports. He added that 13,857 summonses were also issued for vehicles found not having insurance protection.

He said the department also detected seven other main offences in the operation, namely queue cutting, running the red light, using mobile phones while driving and not using safety belts, among others.

Lokman said that other notices were for technical offences (12,191), no vocational driving licences (4,902) and overloaded vehicles (2,329). Stating that most of the offenders were motorists aged 15 to 35, he added that the department also took action against 4,797 foreigners for various traffic offences.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• t333son on Nov 27, 2023 at 10:17 am

Chill, tidak apa. From looking at history , these guys just ignore. Then after collecting many many tickets years later Gomen bagi discount for good savings habit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Dah Menang Semua on Nov 27, 2023 at 5:01 pm

pasal lesen xkan digantung
      lesen mati roadtax bleh renew lagi
      insurance xda kereta bleh jalan lagi

• Sohai on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:22 am

Estima window hitam then tint hitam pass, Estima window kuning then tint kuning pass, if Estima window merah then tint merah pass. Antomi lok no standard, JPJ spec follow tauke AP window spec.

• policeman on Nov 27, 2023 at 6:34 pm

Govt shud revoked their citizenship. Pure traitors

• Imposing hefty fines based on the expiry dates should be sufficient deterrence. Repeated offenders should be jailed.

• Seitha on Nov 27, 2023 at 11:38 am

Why there is no breakdown of the data.
    1. Age of driver without license
    2. Age of driver without overtax(which means no insurance)
    3. Race of driver without license and road tax
    4. Years of driving without license, road tax
    5. Make of cars cars driven without road tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Anakku baik orangnya on Nov 27, 2023 at 1:06 pm

Cannot la…sensitif tau nanti very obvious rasis

• Seitha on Nov 27, 2023 at 3:36 pm

Ini bukan rasis
        jika tak breakdown macam ini…macam mana nak target program2 khas untuk golongan ini..

• Golongan camtu on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Kita reti buat anak je. Jaga anak tatau. Tengah malam dorang merempit ke melajak ke, kita tatau sebab tengah sibuk mengongkek buat adik baru dorang. Lagi satu, kadang2 kita boleh tinggal anak dalam kete tengah hari panas biar dorang rasa sauna jugak hehe

• Squid on Nov 27, 2023 at 1:57 pm

Why the need to know the race? Or why want to know what are the make of cars?

• TheShah on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:09 pm

Because our country is very racial sensitive. Doesn’t matter if the data is true. This is what ppl get for voting for racial extremists into parliament. Every day talk talk talk religion. Well done.

• Seitha on Nov 27, 2023 at 11:40 am

23,748 x RM300 =RM7,124,400, GOOD INCOME FOR THE GOV!!

• Yeahsure on Nov 27, 2023 at 12:14 pm

and?so? in a proper law abiding country, those guys will be suspended and be off the road for a minimum of 1 year…here? pay fxxxing rm20 also settle..pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Samuel Phuah on Nov 27, 2023 at 12:30 pm

This is because of the stupid move by JPJ to stop issuing printed road tax, license and now registration card
    I see many cars without roadtax and insurance around, and I also see many using fake roadtax (scanned) to fake and tipu enforcement officers.
    Obviously MY is not ready for all this crap implementations, I see JPJ and police do not have the scanners too.
    STUPID GOVN trying to show we are very advance but in reality we are very backward.
    No money to buy scanner then dont implement this nonsense la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • You see many cars without roadtax? of course lah, that’s because they don’t need to display it any longer.

JPJ no scanner? then how did they issue so many summons for this same offense in the latest Ops? They obviously used their scanner and checked their database before issuing the summons.

• Samuel Phuah on Nov 28, 2023 at 4:28 pm

JPJ and police only have limited number of scanners that they use when conducting big operations.

• hazri on Nov 27, 2023 at 4:36 pm

you said gov stupid because stop issuing printed road tax, license, etc. and, you said see many car without roadtax & insurance, how do you know btw? you can scan using your eyes or what? but, at the same time you said many using fake roadtax. so if issuing printed roadtax or not, people who break the rules still break the rules right? not because gov stop issuing printed road tax, right? actually, do you really comprehend with what you said?

• Samuel Phuah on Nov 28, 2023 at 4:17 pm

I got to know when I was in the hunt for second hand vehicle. went to many shops to view and test drive, all using the same method of using fake road tax.
        when asked, they terang terang tell you this is how they operate. nothing to be shy about.

• Hakim on Nov 27, 2023 at 12:50 pm

I don’t feel safe on the road after seeing so many drivers using their phone while driving and also the high fatality rate. I think a stricter enforcement is needed to keep our road safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Put them on jail, dun risk others that bought insurance, contribute roadtax and license.

• Squid on Nov 27, 2023 at 2:47 pm

The problem with our system is everything can be settled with a fine. Only serious crimes are given jail time. Time to make a change. Either jail time or at the very least, have to spend time doing community service. Fines can be ignored, discounted and settled many years later. Time is another matter.

• Profit profit.
    When everything, license roadtax insurance are online, suddenly all system down and cant check during roadblock, free saman.

• AmRan on Nov 27, 2023 at 3:54 pm

that’s why NO ADAS mana boleh.
    hahaha

• call me by your name on Nov 27, 2023 at 5:49 pm

shock in small caps

• People cannot afford licenses. Other western countries license valid until you are 65 or 70 years old. No need to pay every year to renew.
    And our insurance rates I think is excessive. More than western countries probably.

• opmanmy on Nov 28, 2023 at 7:54 am

Nothing new, really. Anytime put up a roadblock, you can easily get hundreds (if not thousands) of folks without driving license, expired road tax, no insurance coverage, no seat belt on, underaged kids driving, etc. etc. It’s probably just too many of them similar to like smoking everywhere nowadays in restaurants. Hangat tahi ayam only…after a while back to square one.

• turborider on Nov 28, 2023 at 10:48 am

Saman only is not enough to solve this problems.
    1) Drive without license – Jail the owner of the car 1 month.
    2) Expired road tax and insurance – Retain their cars for 7 days, if still failed to renew, confiscate their car and charge daily storage fee to them.

• No one scared of Saman, what can they do gomen no money to cari and haul to court, police got better things to do so Saman so what, blacklist cannot renew same thing anyways why they kena Saman in the first place! Hahaha