Proton S70 variants – spec-by-spec video comparison of Executive, Premium, Flagship, X; RM74k to RM95k

The battle between specs and price is eternal. Just when you thought that variant A is good enough, you sit in variant B, see the upgrades and your head is turned. “I can get all these for only RMxk more, hmmm…” It can’t be just me – come on, own up!

That was what happened as I played imaginary car buyer at the Proton S70 launch. We’ve already seen and tested the Flagship, so I dashed straight to the base Executive variant to check out if it’s acceptable. It is – the grey fabric seats (all other variants get leatherette) has a melange-like look that’s nice, and the overall vibe of the base model – especially inside – doesn’t feel too cheap as they didn’t “de-trim” it like in Perodua’s entry variants.

Not bad at all for RM73,800. And then I went to the Premium. For just RM6k more (RM79,800) you get so many things that aren’t luxuries, but essentials in 2023 – things like LED headlamps, reverse camera, front parking sensors and leather steering wheel (the latter two aren’t essentials, I know, but this is supposed to be a C-segment sedan) were all available on the Perodua Axia I just drove.

And the S70’s most fancy exterior element, the full-width rear LED signatures, start from the Premium. So, the Premium is where it starts then.

And then you see the RM89,800 Flagship with its 17-inch rims (this should be the minimum for the S70’s tall body), digital instrument panel and large central touchscreen (the screens bring an advanced, premium car feel), and in no time, you’ll be shelling out top ringgit for the Flagship X. Before you laugh, the RM94,800 X is actually decent value for early birds – you’re topping up just RM5k more for a sunroof, dashcam and a good-looking bodykit.

See what I mean? To help you with the process, Hafriz Shah takes you on a walk-around video tour of all the S70 variants. Mechanically, they’re all the same – 1.5L turbo MPI engine with a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic – so the difference between the RM74k car and the RM95k car boils down to kit.

The RM74k S70 Executive gets fabric seats and an analogue meter panel

Personally, I feel that the Exec’s price is tempting, and the interior feel is good, but you can’t be driving a ‘C-segment sedan’ with halogen lights and no reverse camera in 2023? The Premium is OK, but AEB and the full ADAS suite is reserved for the Flagship. We have to point out that autonomous emergency braking is available on the Axia – Malaysia’s cheapest model – and chief price-point rival Honda City has Sensing across the board.

As always, buy what you can afford. But it’s not an easy process, I understand. We’ve compiled the equipment list below so go through it after you join our video tour above. Also check out our launch report with full details and first impressions here. So, which S70 variant it is for you?

2024 Proton S70 Executive – RM73,800

Gets as standard:

Mechanicals

• 1.5 litre DOHC MPI turbocharged three-cylinder engine
  • 150 PS at 5,500 rpm, 226 Nm at 1,750 to 4,000 rpm
  • 7-speed wet dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode
  • Electric power steering (EPS)
  • Electronic parking brake with auto hold
  • MacPherson strut suspension (front), torsion beam (rear)
  • Ventilated disc brakes (front), solid discs (rear)
  • 50-litre fuel tank

Exterior

• Halogen projector headlamps
  • LED daytime running lights
  • 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels with 205/55 Giti GitiComfort F22 tyres
  • Power adjustable side mirrors, manual fold

Interior

• Smart entry with push-start button
  • Remote engine start
  • Cruise control
  • Drive mode selection – Eco, Comfort, Sport
  • Urethane steering wheel
  • Tilt and telescopic steering wheel adjustment
  • Steering wheel audio controls
  • 8.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Bluetooth
  • Four speakers
  • 5x USB ports – 3x front, 2x rear
  • Analogue meter panel
  • Manual air-conditioning with N95 cabin filter and rear vents
  • Fabric upholstery
  • Auto-down power windows – all

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side, side curtain)
  • VSA, ABS, EBD, brake assist
  • Hill hold assist
  • Rear collision warning
  • Lane change assist
  • Rear cross traffic alert
  • Door opening warning
  • Reverse sensors, three-eye

2024 Proton S70 Premium – RM79,800

Adds on:

Exterior

• Automatic LED headlamps
  • Rear LED light bar
  • Auto folding side mirrors
  • Silver trim on front and rear bumpers

Interior

• Leatherette steering wheel
  • Leatherette seats
  • Automatic air con, single-zone
  • Rear centre armrest
  • Anti-trap power windows

Safety

• Reverse camera
  • Front parking sensors, two-eye

2024 Proton S70 Flagship – RM89,800

Adds on:

Exterior

• 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels with 205/50 Goodyear Assurance tyres
  • Auto nearby trunk unlock

Interior

• Steering mode selection – Comfort, Normal, Sport
  • Full LCD digital meter panel
  • Security window tint
  • Powered driver’s seat, six-way
  • 12.3-inch touchscreen infotainment system with 4G and WiFi
  • Voice command, navigation, music streaming, weather forecast
  • Proton Link app with vehicle status, remote control
  • Wireless charger
  • Six speakers

Safety

• Autonomous emergency braking
  • Forward collision warning
  • Adaptive cruise control with stop and go
  • Intelligent cruise control
  • Lane departure warning
  • Lane departure prevention
  • Lane centering control
  • Traffic sign information
  • Auto high beam
  • Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 360-degree camera with 3D display

2024 Proton S70 Flagship X – RM94,800

Adds on:

Exterior

• Sunroof
  • Five-piece bodykit (if you’re among the first 3,000 buyers)

Safety

• Front dashcam

GALLERY: Proton S70 1.5T Flagship X

GALLERY: Proton S70 1.5T Flagship

GALLERY: Proton S70 1.5T Premium

GALLERY: Proton S70 1.5T Executive

GALLERY: Proton S70 brochure and price lists

Are you planning to buy a Proton S70? You can place a booking for RM500 now with our partners Proton PJ Regal Motors. If you have a car to trade in, get a quote from myTukar.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• James KWON on Nov 30, 2023 at 1:12 pm

I saw this car in Proton showroom in COE Subang. while the car looks OK, it does now have the same feel like when you see a Honda or Toyota. Mazda is way above this car. inside is far too plastic and I say plastic feels hollower than the ones Proton used to use. the workmanship is not at X50 /X70 level. I dont think anyone who drove Japanese or some of the new Korean cars would change for this. its 100% identical to Geely Xingrui means its a full re-badge with a new grill and Proton badges inside and on wheels. value for money but for first car buyers maybe or existing proton drivers who want a larger cheaper car but many will opt for used Japanese brands compared to this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Rubbish compared to Tesla 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Hamidikor,Ajibkor,Anwarkor (HAA) on Nov 30, 2023 at 7:52 pm

Honda,Toyota belongs to Premier league.
      Proton belongs to Div 1 ,in English football.
      Remember,if our taxpayers money didnt bailout P1,they r already defunct,insolvent,bankrupt…(in our History curriculum).

• Random guy on Nov 30, 2023 at 8:20 pm

Get your fact right.
      1. S70 is a rebadge of Geely Emgrand or Dihao, not Xingrui.
      2. S70 is not just a rebadge with a new grill, plenty of changes done by Proton, read more Paultan articles.
      3. How sure are you that those who drove Japanese or Korean cars won’t change their mind? Where is the proof? Wait another 6months and let the sales figure speak for itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • biriburu on Dec 01, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Lol Japanese brand also feel like plastic. Especially those B segments which is the one this car should be compared with. Driving feels also so meh even my 10 year old car drives much better. Even Mazda CX-3 is full of hard plastics.

• Pick Up truck driver on Nov 30, 2023 at 1:14 pm

Kena kencing berdiri oleh Li chung rong. Kereta segment b angkat bakul cakap segment c. Geng baik beli tolong tulis bawah

• MB Sanusi on Nov 30, 2023 at 5:20 pm

I really dun think my gudfren takiyuddin wud wanna swap his 7series TAK1 for this local BMF car.. sounds hipokrit but that’s just our trueself. Until our naive less smart believers stop believin’ us

• Nonsense on Dec 01, 2023 at 8:38 am

Let’s be real, did they priced it as C? No, then anyone bought S70 get more than what other B segment could have offered. By your logic, all other B segment buyer got kencing kaw2 by their respective brand’s ceo, that’s including you feasting on it.

• U know I know on Dec 01, 2023 at 11:55 am

If it’s not to protect P1, then they would not have to. If every C segment cars are priced the same as B segment cars, what is special about S70? All these price difference are due to protection only, nothing special. Price manipulation is nothing to be proud of.

• Since it’s a “C-segment” car, why don’t compare it against Civic/Corolla/Mazda 3? Many would love to know.

• lua sen on Nov 30, 2023 at 2:56 pm

if price starts from 70k, jap brands will need to step up their offerings…

• Dont mind fabric seats or non lcd instrument panel, but NO REVERSE CAMERA FOR 73K?? Wow crazy stuff

• Last car before EV on Nov 30, 2023 at 3:55 pm

i like basic rear led lamp with the exec variant rather than the fancy jumping light. But grrr…why the rear camera missing??? Might be easy to install a aftermarket 1 but it may looks weird.

• Seitha on Dec 01, 2023 at 11:16 am

1. Why 3 cyclinder but no Atkinson cycle
    2. Why turbo charging(lot of heatmanagement required, plumbing, lubrication issues) instead of supercharger(mechanical or belt driven, instant power, less plumbing, no heat management)
    3. Our hot weather why need sun roof?

• People should be happy for s70 release. Because of s70, H/T need offer better car and specs in the future. Competition is good for consumers.