Over 9,000 EVs registered in Malaysia in 2023 alone, more than 12,000 EVs in total registered since 2011

Electric vehicle sales in Malaysia is set to continue its positive momentum through the end of 2023, said minister of investment, trade and industry Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz, who said that Malaysia has recorded more than 100,000 registered electrified vehicles to date, reports Bernama.

“More than 12,000 battery electric vehicles (BEVs) have been registered since 2011 with the number of BEVs registered this year alone surpassing 9,000 units,” Zafrul said in his address. The minister believes that EVs would be the catalyst for the growth of Malaysia’s manufacturing industry exports, he added.

The electrical and electronics products (E&E) sector, which is a major part of the supply chain in the EV sector, contributes 40% out of the 80% of Malaysia’s exports from the manufacturing sector, the minister continued. There is therefore a lot of potential in the new-generation vehicles where more components are required in a single car, he added.

“When you look at [electric vehicles], [the total number of chips] can go up to at least 3,000 chips in one car, and these chips come from the E&E sector,” Zafrul said.

In terms of electric vehicle sales, the aforementioned figure of more than 9,000 units so far this year is a major leap beyond the 2,631 units sold last year, which was itself an 860% gain over the 274 units sold in Malaysia in 2021.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bob Mal on Dec 13, 2023 at 4:15 pm

Wow from 1 year 9000 / 12000 = 75% of all EVs are procured in this year alone guess all hail BYD and Tesla.

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:04 pm

Could have been more if not because of the 100k threshold set. As usual, we like to confine the sales because we are jaguh kampong, we don’t welcome everyone , they can go neighboring countries.

• Ajibkor on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:12 pm

12000 EV owners roaming on the streets for free. Zero road tax.. Pffttt

• Peppa on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:15 pm

BMW iX also. I have seen plenty. More than Mercedes EQs combined

• Johnny on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:03 pm

Wonder how Minister got the “Malaysia has recorded more than 100,000 registered electrified vehicles to date” – any breakdown ?

• EV is not the way..lots of landmines on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:07 pm

Last week ,a friend went north out station with his BYD.To his horror,his targetted charging stations were not working properly.
    In the end…he was so pissed off…he wanted to sell it away.
    On paper,everything looks rosy and easy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Mike Tee on Dec 14, 2023 at 12:39 am

Tesla Supercharger network has 99.95% uptime. It is severely underrated.

If you need to drive long distance (>200km one way) I’d say EV is not for you, yet. If you’re in a Tesla and don’t need to go along West Coast, it’s doable.

However, one final important point. EV tech won’t stay at current levels forever. An everyday affordable 700km real world range EV, using non-rare battery components, that charges as quickly as we fill petrol and has 25 year lifespan will become reality.

• Fake News on Dec 14, 2023 at 9:06 am

@ EV is not the way, Another cerita kerling.?lol. We know your mother land supports Yahudi. Dah lah, tak yah nak tipu lagi la. Buat malu kaum kamu ni. Only a fool will believe cerita kerling

• Yuttt on Dec 14, 2023 at 7:50 pm

That you don’t buy EV car . Why you font use Nokia 3310 better 2G .stupid ….

• Purely anecdotal. everyone has a friend who loves/hates product A.

If your “friend” did their planning, they would know there are alternate charging areas. From KL to Alor Star, there are tons of charging outlets, you just need a bit of planning.

I hope your “friend” sells their BYD ! Let someone else with better planning skills buy a 2nd hand car and use it.

• Charging is a problem. Plus they have different systems. In US, many automakers are making Tesla charging as standard. No more ambiguity.

• EV sucks on Dec 14, 2023 at 10:00 am

Brace yourself. This will be the norm on a public charging stations, as everyone will share the exact same thing. The charging plug as durable as it engineered, still a delicate piece of complicated engineering. A little touch may disrupt the charging even when it was connected properly before charging started. This is one of the top complain from Tesla users in US. According to MKBHD, in his “Reality of Owning an EV”(not exact title) video, if you know who’s this tech enthusiast.

Well, a simple metal pipes delivering fuel under 5min has never failed anyone since day 1.

• Nurul Izzah on Dec 13, 2023 at 7:20 pm

Anwar menang, Tesla mari

• t333son on Dec 14, 2023 at 8:57 am

Enjoy yr charging stop/queue during Raya balik kampung… I will stick with my old petrol car.

• kckfen on Jan 09, 2024 at 9:21 am

Thailand I year sales for 2023 is about 76314 EV car represent 684.4 percent increase from 2022. Making it total of 12.02 percent car sold is EV car. Malaysia since 2011 is 12,000 cars… Huge different in market numbers… you think thet want to come to Malaysia to set up production here when we have ultra kisu protected Perodua and Proton