2024 Kymco AK550 Premium in Malaysia, RM65,500

Getting its Malaysian launch is the 2024 Kymco AK550 Premium maxi scooter, priced at RM65,500 excluding road tax, insurance and registration. Kymco scooters are distributed in Malaysia under the Edaran Modenas banner, and brought in CBU with two colour options – Black and Matte Brown.

The AK550 Premium is powered by a DOHC, two-cylinder, liquid-cooled engine in Crossplane configuration, displacing 550.4 cc. Power is claimed to be 50.9 hp at 7,500 rpm with 52 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm, going to the rear wheel via CVT gearbox and exposed belt drive.

There are two riding modes win the AK550, Power and Rain, to suit prevailing riding conditions while 14.5 litres is carried in the tank and seat height is 785 mm. Weighing in at 238 kg, this maxi scooter comes with upside-down forks in front and horizontal monoshock with preload adjustment in the rear.

Rolling on 15-inch wheels front and rear, the AK550 wears 120/70 and 160/60 rubber, front and rear, respectively. Brembo does the braking, with twin Brembo four-piston callipers in front clamping 270 mm discs, and a two-piston calliper with 230 mm disc at the back, while cornering ABS is standard.

Riding conveniences on the AK550 include an electrically adjustable windscreen, cruise control and smart key for keyless starts. The under seat compartment is said to be large enough to hold a full-face and open face helmet simultaneously.

Riding information is displayed on a circular TFT-LCD screen, flanked by separate readouts on either side showing speed and other information such as engine status. Coming standard is Bluetooth connectivity to the rider’s smartphone for navigation, music, messaging and calls.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Casual rider on Jan 12, 2024 at 7:50 pm

TL500 look like a bargain now in this market

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Jan 12, 2024 at 7:57 pm

When a taiwan scooter cost as much as a Bsegment car, something is really wrong with this country and we must make the change right now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • Cant afford it on Jan 13, 2024 at 11:56 pm

Guess u dont know Kymco then.
      Might as well say china i phone cost as much as a bike.

• Angry Voters on Jan 15, 2024 at 6:04 pm

Kymco is not from Japan or Germany or Italy, it is defo Taiwan mari. So why so expensip!

• Izzani Azman on Jan 18, 2024 at 8:58 am

When it comes to Chinese made, eveything should be cheap? Japanese or European made are okay with expensive price tag eh? AK550 is made to be a TMAX killer. So do the quality, features and price too. Still cheaper than its main benchmark, Yamaha TMAX. Quality? Kymco is a proven manufacturer and have been making scooters for various big brands such as BMW and Kawasaki. Should have watch the review of this bike on Youtube or other platform.

• Uncommon Sense on Jan 18, 2024 at 11:25 am

smart #1 brabus is not from Japan or Germany or Italy, it is defo China mari. So why so expensip!

• ak550 on Jan 13, 2024 at 7:54 am

This should be price max at 59k at most, below 60k make more sense.

• No Common Sense on Jan 13, 2024 at 11:25 am

Beli moto Rm65k masih juga kena hujan. Bijak betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Car Pool on Jan 14, 2024 at 9:17 am

Relaks Relaks dah laa..
      Kalau semua pakai kereta Jalan Jem teruk..

• Sama macam org memancing, rod ribuan RM, susah payah tangkap ikan sekor2,

Kat pasar berlambak ikan, beli je lah

Its about passion and hobby lah brader
      Yang xda jiwa xkan paham

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Uncommon Sense on Jan 18, 2024 at 11:24 am

Beli kereta tesla / alphard / merc / bimmer etc masih juga sangkut traffic jam macam axia rahmah. Bijak betul.

• Xventure on Jan 13, 2024 at 11:54 am

At that price better get XDV750.

• azroy on Jan 14, 2024 at 10:36 am

…and how long do you think the waiting list is for that? mind you the 2nd hand price is 80-90k. still “better get” (baik beli)…

• black adam on Jan 14, 2024 at 10:44 am

…and how long the waiting list for that? mind you 2nd hand price is 80-90k (or more). is it still a “better get” (baik beli)?

• Dong gor on Jan 13, 2024 at 2:59 pm

What’s the technology in this bike to justify the price tag…crazy ar …buy a myvi and I guarantee u the rain mode is more effective

• linear_system on Jan 14, 2024 at 11:37 am

and i dont think u can activate the anti-traffic jam mode in the myvi

• Seitha on Jan 14, 2024 at 6:54 pm

look at the guy with the thumbs up in the picture on the top below the head line.
    the scooter is priced at 65k because the company needs to pay the guy so that he can buy those shoes he is wearing in the picture

• Taiwan price is TWD287,968 = RM 43,037 ,tansport and tax RM22,000 in Malaysia.

• Junkies otr on Jan 15, 2024 at 7:41 am

All vehicles above 20yrs must scrap.

• Z900 2016 on Jan 15, 2024 at 9:07 am

If u think this scooter is expensize, clearly you cant afford it, perhaps ur salary too low so work harder or get a better paying job….diam2 sudahla

• Angry Voters on Jan 15, 2024 at 6:04 pm

Clearly you dont have a car or know the value of money. Sad

• Z900 2016 on Jan 16, 2024 at 8:19 pm

Pity you can only afford a 65K car, clearly this scooter is not for u la…keep on dreaming bro!