Tun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

Tun Daim Zainuddin has been charged with the failure to declare 71 of his assets to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC), the New Straits Times reports. According to the charge sheet, the 85-year-old former finance minister failed to comply with a MACC notice to declare his assets such as one bank account, seven luxury vehicles, 38 companies, and 25 properties at the MACC headquarters in Putrajaya on December 13 last year.

The offence falls under Section 36(2) of the MACC Act, which carries a maximum five years’ imprisonment and RM100,000 fine upon conviction. Daim pleaded not guilty to the offence.

As this is a car site, we’ll focus on the seven vehicles listed in the charge sheet that he reportedly failed to declare:

Mercedes-Benz 600 SEL

Tun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

Mercedes-Benz S-Klasse Limousine der Baureihe 140 (1991 bis 1998), Studioaufnahme (Ansicht von vorne rechts) eines Mercedes-Benz 600 SEL, Baujahr 1991.
Mercedes-Benz S-Class saloon from model series 140 (1991 to 1998), studio photo (right front view) of a Mercedes-Benz 600 SEL produced in 1991.

He clearly liked his Mercedes, as this is the first of three Benzes in the short list. Back in the early 90s (pre-dating the S-Class moniker), the 600 SEL was the flagship sedan in the W140 range, and it was quite the beast, equipped with a M120 6.0 litre V12 offering 408 PS and 580 Nm. As you’d expect, it came decked out with all the bells and whistles at the time.

Mercedes-Benz 450 SELTun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

Next is the Mercedes-Benz 450 SEL, the Sonderklasse that ran from 1972 to 1980 (the W126 was made between this and the W140 above). Thought by many as the very first “modern” Mercedes sedan, the W116 introduced the wide radiator grille, head- and taillights that would define the brand for the following decades. The 450 SEL was the firm’s flagship model with a 4.5 litre V8 engine.

Mercedes-Benz 450 SLCTun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

Sharing the same number, if not the engine is the C107 Mercedes-Benz 450 SLC, often seen as the less desirable hard-top version of the R107 SL of the same era – though the coupe is certainly less common with only 62k made vs over 200k roadsters. The SLC was in production between 1971 and 1981 when it was replaced by the larger C126 coupe, while the SL continued on until 1989.

Jaguar XJ-S HETun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

The grand tourer first arrived in 1975, but the HE suffix in the listing means that the version in question is somewhere from the early 80s into the early 90s, when a new 5.3 litre High Efficiency V12 made its way on to the car. It’s not mentioned if the XJ-S is a coupe or convertible of the type. We’re thinking it should be the coupe, which was far more handsome.

Rolls-Royce 2 Axle Rigid BodyTun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

Now this one is hard to pin point, as “2 Axle Rigid Body” isn’t a model name at all, nor does it refer to any specific Rolls-Royce line. As such, we’ve taken the liberty of picking a selection of early RR Phantom models, being the top-of-the-range model line-up back in the day as it is still is now. Mind you, coach-built really meant coach-built back then, and no two Rolls-Royce were ever the same.

Austin Morris Tun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

If the previous entry was vague, this one even more so. In fact, Austin Morris isn’t a car brand at all, but two. Yes, Austin Motor Company and Morris Motors did merge in 1952, but the two kept separate identities. As such, we’ve selected a bunch of random Austin models through the years, showcasing just how varied the British brand’s product line up was.

Ford Prefect Tun Daim’s seven luxury cars in the MACC list – from Mercedes-Benz to Rolls-Royce, Jaguar, even a Ford!

Not the character in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, but rather the legacy model from which it was derived. Built by Ford UK, the Prefect was first introduced in 1938, dropped during World War 2 and then went back into production in 1945, where it was offered until 1961. It’s not known if the Prefect in question is the bulky beast from the early 50s or the Anglia-sized 100E or final 107E that came after it.

So, what do you think of the cars on this list?

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Daim-ler on Jan 29, 2024 at 10:19 pm

Got Rolls-Royce, Jaguar but no Daim-ler

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • Dah Menang Semua on Jan 30, 2024 at 9:30 am

When your wealth can buy-up the country
      Why you can’t do with collecting cars?
      Except… where do the money from?
      Back in the days and now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Who is the real target ? on Jan 30, 2024 at 8:35 pm

Hello..remember there was a VVIP who died in a helicopter crash?
      Being a normal menteri…the family now fighting for the Rm1 Billion plus in assets.
      If u wanna prosecute poor Daim,how come a normal menteri can amass so much wealth..MACC pls open a file.
      All illegally hidden wealth must be return to our Govt treasury..our over burdened public hospitals need Billions of Rm.

• Tun Ahmad the Driver on Jan 29, 2024 at 11:19 pm

Semua2 roadtax satu tahun brp kena bayar?

• Pandora Chest on Jan 30, 2024 at 2:16 pm

Good connection gets to pay at north borneo road tax rate best saving compares paying at malaya rate. HiHi

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Jan 29, 2024 at 11:35 pm

PH folks should be reminded, you voted for them against BN back in 2018, so don’t pretend to act Pikachu surprised. You all are as guilty as Daim is being changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 60
    • Uncle on Jan 30, 2024 at 11:07 am

No logic to think this manner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 31, 2024 at 8:06 am

Since when PH supporters have any logic? Lawan 60 taun pon boleh jadik kawan. Kawan 60 taun pon boleh jadik lawan.

#KawanTetapLawan
        #LawanTetapKawan
        #ManifestoDicapati

• Sohai on Jan 30, 2024 at 12:05 pm

2024 now u talk 2018??
      I can’t even remember what I ate for dinner last night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • Turn M on Jan 30, 2024 at 6:20 pm

Tuu lah Msian mudah lupa senang kena con by my PH dulu he he he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • A vote for BN is a vote for PH on Jan 30, 2024 at 7:04 pm

and now you’re indirectly supporting PH

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:53 pm

The grassroot isn’t. How else is PN winning by elections with bigger margins?
        A strong BN has no need for PH. They had been doing just fine for 60 years. The current BN was hijacked by an Anwar sycophant & acolyte. Give yall votes to BN and they will bury both PH & PN together in a shared coffin.

• hafiz on Jan 31, 2024 at 7:38 am

are you stupid?

• Sick&Tired on Jan 30, 2024 at 7:41 am

This is just the tip of the iceberg!! You telling me these are his daily driver’s!?

Btw the slc and xjs are my picks from the whole bunch.

• permainan politrik? on Jan 30, 2024 at 7:49 am

Permainan olitik only I presumed…kereta sewa dan rumah sewa PMX apa cerita????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 21
    • Turn M on Jan 30, 2024 at 6:20 pm

Dia tuu parking kat UK and USA

• hazri on Jan 31, 2024 at 2:53 am

at least pmx dare to declare all his assets. with all he had, theres nothing fishy if he want to rent car or house. even hadi marang not dare to declare. but only dare to say declare asset is stupid.

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Jan 31, 2024 at 1:56 pm

Did he declare assets in his daughter’s name, in his cucu cicit name, and what about those in offshore accounts & overseas properties? Come on, even Mahathir declare his assets you folks don’t believe it is just that much.

• john is otak batu on Jan 30, 2024 at 8:08 am

nothing, tip of iceberg… what about private jet & yatch?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • @NotBruceWayne on Jan 30, 2024 at 8:27 am

the overseas stash included?

• macampondan on Jan 30, 2024 at 8:40 am

diam got taste. lol

• Lastly, he only need wheelchair instead all of that fancy wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • put aside politics and whatnot, for a billionaire, Daim’s taste on cars is quite out-of-the-world and distant from norm… or perhaps he is a pussy only wants to feel safe in big cars?…. just 2 cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Ben Yap on Jan 30, 2024 at 11:34 am

No matter how rich you are, one will always want more money.

• All nonsense only on Jan 30, 2024 at 3:06 pm

when you are considered an enemy, everything will be dig until the worm hole, but if you are a friend or an ally, even sudah ada case pun boleh dropped.. hahaha

• He forgot to declare Daim chocolate at Langkawi also.

• Tun Daim on Feb 01, 2024 at 2:01 pm

It’s not like I can drive anyway. You could have just taken my wheelchair