TnG eWallet 1% charge for credit card reloads from Feb 23 – DuitNow Transfer, debit card free of charge

Touch ‘n Go has officially announced that a 1% charge will be introduced for eWallet reloads through credit cards, with the charge based on the reload amount. Credit reloads via DuitNow Transfer and debit cards remain free of charge, according to the statement.

“This move is to curb excessive cashing out of credit card balance to bank accounts and offset the heavy cost of credit card reloads which TNGD has been subsidising since its inception. Users are encouraged to use bank transfers via DuitNow which has exactly the same process as fund transfer among bank accounts,” according to a statement by the company cited by The Star.

“As the largest financial institution serving over 20 million e-KYC verified users, we must find a fine balance between convenience, security, and the long-term cost sustainability of our company,” Touch ‘n Go Digital CEO Alan Ni said, according to the news daily.

To reload the eWallet, users will first need to log into their bank app or website, then select “Other Banks” and then “Touch ‘n Go eWallet”. The account number to be used is the eWallet DuitNow Transfer account number, which can be found on the reload page of the eWallet mobile app.

Any amount from RM1 can be input for transfer into the eWallet, and this works just like a bank transfer, according to Touch ‘n Go. The recipient can be set as favourite, and recurring transactions can also be set up.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Expect to see an outflow of users… being able to reload from credit card was a huge convenience factor. If cashing out was an issue, why not just limit people from cashing out? I thought they were already doing that to some extent?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Cashing out or DuitNow transfer payments on Feb 05, 2024 at 4:15 pm

I think it is necessary to distinguish cashing out vs payment transfer to vendors/merchants. Now even reloading your NFC TnGo Card with CC need to pay 1%…… Govt should take over TnGo instead of allowing a profit oriented entity to run TnGo.

• Recalcitrant TNG...PMX take action on Feb 05, 2024 at 5:40 pm

Anwar PMX..pls STOP this recalcitrant TNG from bullying the rakyat.
      They r already making tons of RM,and still want to charge the poor covid striken rakyat.
      They r like the problematic “spanco” that keep milking the govt dry.
      1 rm for every Rm100 to a rich man is negligible..but for those struggling to buy Milo,it is still cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Logical Deduction on Feb 06, 2024 at 12:29 pm

Hoping for the problem maker to solve the problem? Once again stupid PH logic which got us to follow DrM a 2nd round and ended up in this mess.

• Dah lah PMX mau tax giler, TNG pon sama mau tax reload jugak. Ini kjaan mau bunoh rakyat ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • newme on Feb 05, 2024 at 5:58 pm

Dahlah sikit2 nak salahkan kerajaan.

PMX mau tax giler pun bukannya ko kena tax dengan pendapatan yang tak seberapa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • No LHDN pun takde lagi bising macam kena bayar cukai macam Dato’ Vida. Dahlah tak bayar cukai, dapat STR pula.

• No same person would want to link e-wallet to their saving account.
    Unlike credit card, when performing bank transfer, there is no turning back once money is out from your account. You can’t dispute like credit card.

• awaiting to stop using TnG ewallet

• Nonsense on Feb 05, 2024 at 7:05 pm

Why wait? Shouldn’t use it in the 1st place. Need only 1 TnG card for toll payment and that’s it.

• Samuel Phuah on Feb 05, 2024 at 5:11 pm

TNG is just greedy
    just like previously they charge extra for parking using tng card
    this time they want to make extra 1% from reloads.
    they did not remember we made advance payment into the card, and the amount earns them big daily interest. yet they still want to makan our money
    the government is asking us to move to digital, but this cronies are trying to makan our money when we migrate.
    my conclusion – go to hell
    I will rather use other wallets, cash or my credit card directly. no more tng for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Quit complaining and do your bit on Feb 06, 2024 at 12:39 pm

The extra charge then was levied by the parking operator, this was clearly explained by TNG then, don’t pretend stupid. There are some operators that forego the charges but majority are private businesses so of course profit comes ahead. If you didn’t like the terms you can always park somewhere else or use other payments.

• Gomorrah on Feb 06, 2024 at 4:55 pm

The premise is the same right…usage of TNG reduces the parking operators costs when it comes to upkeep of autopay stations/employing carpark staff. So both parties are charging extra when both using each other save money. Instead of passing on savings, they profit off the end user even more. This is the sort of BS logic Malaysian businesses use to screw the rakyat and all we’re left is you tak sukak you pergi lain tempat. Love to see your damn business thrive when everyone belah to somewhere else.

• Cyber Prime on Feb 05, 2024 at 6:40 pm

CC reload can be done quickly in 1 step, making it very convenient, especially if you’re in a hurry.
    You don’t have that with reload via DuitNow or bank transfer. Linking debit card is a big NO, as it is not easy to dispute while the money is already gone if got frauds.

• Contender on Feb 05, 2024 at 7:30 pm

Profiteering this Touch N Go ! Currently already have RM1k limit for credit card, above that already charge 1%. Use Grab Pay then…

• Thank you for voting PH and BN… more MahalDaNi to come.

• Geng boikot on Feb 05, 2024 at 9:16 pm

Boikot tng macam kita boikot mekdi & kepci

• Sparcov on Feb 05, 2024 at 11:37 pm

Encouraging people to use e-wallet, promoting e wallet, forcing payment on car park, forcing e payment on majority store while taking advantage to make 1% out of it. Ripping off…..by force

• Disappointed on Feb 06, 2024 at 9:00 am

Yesterday, I reload using credit card. The 1% charge was levied. The news is not accurate.

• Yomama on Feb 06, 2024 at 1:44 pm

Bang, read the news properly. Effective 23 February 2024…lol

• Patrick Lim on Feb 06, 2024 at 10:17 am

Use Boost or Grab Pay, no need to use tng eWallet since it wants to profit from reload by credit card which is one main reason users are satisfied currently. What is so good about reload by DuitNow from bank savings account via tng eWallet feature? Might as well go back to pay by cash.

• Laugh on Feb 06, 2024 at 10:30 am

TnGo have kinda monopolized the eWallet market in Malaysia now because there’s no charges for using creditcard for both merchants and users.
    A lot of merchants have stopped accepting Creditcards and opt to accept TnGo payment in exchange.

Banks have already stopped giving reward points for creditcard reloads to eWallets.
    Now, extra charge to reload using creditcards.

Well, restricting TnGo app for tolls, nfc card reload and maybe roadside parking now….

Can try Grabpay now maybe….

• BanyakOrangSudahGila on Feb 06, 2024 at 10:59 am

Ok, i won’t use TNG anymore, so mah fan. I just use Samsung Pay and cash.

• hazri on Feb 06, 2024 at 11:50 am

imho, if someone can spending with cash using qr duitnow or debit card, there is no point to use tng ewallet. people want to “cash out” money from credit card to tng ewallet because purposely to avoid 5% charge if cash out from atm machine. previously, minimum topup is rm10, then tng increase to rm20. previously, only topup using cc above rm1000 tng charge, but now even rm20 can be charged. 1% is not little. whatever reason tng gives, they purposely done it to get more duit tepi. time to consider again, boycott or not.

• neutral on Feb 06, 2024 at 2:19 pm

before tng has ewallet, we always just use cash to topup, no problemo. when it introduced ewallet, yeah, it makes other payment easier. but if you charge 1% for cc topup. i will just use cash or another method like grabpay which doesnt cost me any charges for topup. So, tng can be sure to have less ppl put in money, and users will divert elsewhere. your loss, TNG. if TNG maintain the current topup 1k with 0%, you will retain users. or say byebye. you can complain like those taxis operator who lost much income due to e-hailing operator. consumers/users are still the decider factor.

• this company is monopoly in electronic toll payment thats why they can do whatever they want…because we dun have any other option.goverment do sumthing, u think 1% not that big but you may enjoy million profit from that transaction.

• Screw u tng on Feb 06, 2024 at 8:13 pm

Seems like I’ll go through the direct debit toll lane more often starting this day