JPJ received 3,440 reports of road traffic offences from public via MyJPJ app, e-mail during CNY operation

These days, not having the authorities spot you committing a traffic offence doesn’t mean you’ve managed to get away scot-free, because someone can record and report it via online channels, where action can then be taken accordingly.

Such is the case with 3,440 reports from the public involving various traffic offences sent to the road transport department (JPJ) via the MyJPJ application and through e-mail during the Ops Selamat operation, which ran from February 1 to 13 in conjunction with the Chinese New Year celebration, Bernama reports.

According to the department’s senior director (enforcement), Datuk Lokman Jamaan, the highest number of offences were for using the emergency lane, beating the red light and overtaking on double lines.

“We will issue a interview notice under Section 114 of Act 333 within three working days to the identified owner to come to the JPJ office for procedures and case resolution. If the owner fails to attend within 14 days of the Section 114 notice being issued, the owner will be issued a P (22) Notice summons and if (owner) still fails to explain within the specified time period including failure to appear in court, he will be blacklisted,” he said.

Lokman said a total of 27,339 summonses were issued for various traffic offences throughout the duration of the nationwide operation. He said that over 72% (19,722 summonses) of offences recorded involved road users driving over the speed limit, while 16% (4,283 summonses) were issued for traffic light offences, and 6% (1,700 summonses) were for not wearing helmets/seat belts.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nice, lots of idiot drivers in Penang that jump queue

• Amazingly true ! on Feb 16, 2024 at 12:37 am

Penang drivers are “special”, they are semi-Singaporean in their heads and British on their cars stickers, they have mental magic privilege from God of Heaven and queen of 4D!

They are above any human laws, above common sense and physics, they have a sacred mission on Earth :

– overtaking the next car, before the next traffic light … In order to arrive as fast as possible to the Mall (to eat fish balls :-/)

• Penang drivers triple suck on Feb 16, 2024 at 12:39 am

lots + idiot drivers + Penang = pleonasm ³

• Who cares on Feb 15, 2024 at 11:12 am

Just wait for discount. Nothing will happen one don’t worry. Trust me I got 52 pending saman

• seitha on Feb 15, 2024 at 11:24 am

“According to the department’s senior director (enforcement), Datuk Lokman Jamaan, the highest number of offences were for using the emergency lane, beating the red light and overtaking on double lines”

Well the gov say can use the “smart lane” kan so people use it la…

this gov has become mada sambranis!!

• seitha on Feb 15, 2024 at 11:26 am

Again, there is no break down of the raw data… how is this goild to help reduce the offences!!

and no one knows what JPJ is doing with the raw data!!

• degenerate society on Feb 15, 2024 at 11:34 am

“””””He said that over 72% (19,722 summonses) of offences recorded involved road users driving over the speed limit, while 16% (4,283 summonses) were issued for traffic light offences, and 6% (1,700 summonses) were for not wearing helmets/seat belts.””””””

TRANSLATION:

-> 72% of frustrated Karen’s driving old underpowered cars

-> 16% of people who really thought that RED lights during CNY become SMART lights, like SMART lanes… CNY’s emergency Meh?!

-> 6% of Karen’s (again) who can’t mind their own business LOL

—->>> 100% of snitches :-/

Madani Boleh…

• aaaps on Feb 15, 2024 at 12:52 pm

Bet mostly rempit related complaints.

• Izzwan on Feb 15, 2024 at 1:17 pm

So many busybody aka kaypoh people here. Obviously the current highway and roads cannot handle the current capacity of traffic. Some slow idiots hogging the lane making it worst, thus people were driving at the (not-so) smart lane and got captured and sent to JPJ.

Citizens do the job, they get paid. Well done
    Thanks but not thanks, time to change another gov when the petrol subsides were removed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Perlisian on Feb 15, 2024 at 1:34 pm

“the highest number of offences were for using the emergency lane”..how many from this report is actually when using smart lane?

• Receive is one thing. Requiring the reporters to waste time to be witness is another despite presents of video evidences.

• Lance Chau on Feb 15, 2024 at 5:52 pm

I have somewhat stop sending complaints to JPJ. Reason being, effort not appreciated and when they want further info, they call you like you owe them a favour, not the other way round.

• Nobody like snitch on Feb 17, 2024 at 10:58 am

Deep inside, you started to realize that the more you report others, the more others will also report you… Slowly you realized that you have become a little snitch, an agent for the government but without any rewards, a feeling of betraying other dudes like you, sending incognito message to police to attack others as a revenge from offense you do everyday as an habit. You do, but others cannot! You are so special, so unique…

When a man start to behave like a Karen, that man become a eunuch, a despicable sub-human. A man without balls, without honor. Snitches alway get a very bad karma…

In fact, even the police look down on people like you… The dude you report don’t know you, yeah! It gives you a feeling of safety, you feel smart, acting in the shadow, but police do know who is the snitch ;-)

• Snitch will be snitched too... on Feb 16, 2024 at 12:23 am

When a government encourage its own citizens to snitch over each other, this is a sign of serious weakness.

Any regime in History who encouraged its population to become delators finished to be rejected by its population and finally collapsed.

Ultra individualism, greed, jealousy, division, mass manipulation via social media toxic entertainment, now an app to officially snitch on each other’s? You think THAT will build “Madani” ?

The exact opposite… Anyway, too much evil in citizens brains, they gave no more moral or dignity, it’s all about competing and consuming.

With or without Smart snitchApp, most of them have already signed with the (((experimental))) grim reaper… Let Karma take care of CitizenSnitch (princess Karen and doggy Ken…)

• Laugh on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:17 pm

“come to the JPJ office for procedures and case resolution.”
    Is this same like “Settle balai RM300 or settle here RM100.”?

Personally I have given up sending these complaints…
    JPJ will call you to ask for multitude of things, GPS lah, location lah, how sure am I lah, the driver is the owner or not lah…
    In the end, they just say… not enough information and not going to saman.
    That’s how they settle here maybe…