Highway tolls in Kuala Lumpur can be renegotiated when financial situation improves – PM Anwar Ibrahim

Toll concessions for highways around Kuala Lumpur can be renegotiated once the country’s financial situation improves, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said at a forum, reported Free Malaysia Today.

The prime minster agreed when asked at the forum, if there were too many toll plazas on highways around the nation’s capital. Anwar is also finance minister of Malaysia.

Highway concessionaires need to be compensated should the government decide to abolish tolls, and the government is bound to agreements with the concessionaires. However, “once the country becomes financially strong, we can renegotiate,” Anwar said, adding that toll-related matters were inherited from previous governments.

Negotiations between the government and highway toll concessionaires started on November 17, 2023, and concessionaires included Amanat Lebuhraya Rakyat (ALR), Projek Lintasan Kota Holdings (Prolintas), IJM, ANIH and PLUS, according to then-deputy works minister Abdul Rahman Mohamad.

Highways under ALR include the LDP, Sprint, Kesas and Smart Tunnel, while Prolintas holds six concessions including the AKLEH, Guthrie Corridor Expressway, LKSA, Kajang SILK, SUKE and DASH highways. IJM holds four concessions, namely the Besraya, NPE, LEKAS and the West Coast Expressway under WCE Holdings.

Meanwhile, PLUS holds concessions for the North-South Expressway, NKVE, Seremban-Port Dickson Highway, North-South Expressway Central Link and the Butterworth-Kulim Expressway. The Malaysia-Singapore Second Link and Penang Bridge are also in the group’s portfolio.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• seitha on Feb 26, 2024 at 10:18 am

Why not let the public read the deal/deals signed with the concessionaires?
    PT, go after anwar to release the deals!!

By the way, when is PT going to ask anwar to open the time capsule planted by mahatahi in Rawawng. Its supposed to have been dug up in 2018!!

• Incompetency...A Clear and present Danger on Feb 26, 2024 at 2:07 pm

With a huge national debt of 1.5 trillion RM,we can only dream,about toll free roads.
      It wont happen.It is just SYIOK fantasy talk.
      Politicians can also say,we will develope a spacecraft to the moon..giving free rides..once our finance improves.
      The germen should focus not only on corruption,but CUT unnecessary wastages.
      No point sending people to jail,while spending as if there is no tomorrow.
      His Majesty,the YDPA is spot on correct by emphasising the need for budget surplus,not yearly deficits.
      Hopefully,by the time the bossku dude is released from Kajang,his favourite Starbucks machiatto wont need a briefcase of RM to pay the cashier.

• PH janji abolish toll mana? on Feb 26, 2024 at 5:10 pm

Rakyat should just go after Anwar for renegading his election promises to abolish tolls.
      Promise of Pakatan Rakyat leader = Promise of Pakatan Harapan leader

Or else PMX & PH are just trolling millions of Msians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
      • everybody is waiting 4 u.. on Feb 27, 2024 at 7:14 am

Everybody is now waiting for u to take the lead & expecting for you to upload a video on social media, featuring u questioning him on this issue face to face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Feb 27, 2024 at 11:06 am

I am still waiting for your dear leader to come see me so I can render him rakyats fury smack on his face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • You can wait until you kantoi on Feb 27, 2024 at 1:22 pm

You didn’t give the place, time & your tel no. So you can wait until you kantoi.

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Feb 27, 2024 at 6:12 pm

You have all my details in your system as you keep sending me SMS & WA telling me to vote you jokers but I never will. You know how & where to reach me, I will be ready anytime to lay the smackdown on your inept leader. Ada bolas?

• You can defend your childish stupidity until you kantoi on Feb 27, 2024 at 10:19 pm

Everybody knows from the news where he was today but you yourself just lack the bolas to meet him, making up loads of childish excuses. No wonder you like to be represented by kantoi because it suits you very well.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 26, 2024 at 11:28 am

More janji kosong as if we haven’t been shafted enough by their manifestos. Even the serial liar Tony Pua knew when to shut up regarding his fictitious claims about highway tolls, but Anwar still wants to make more empty promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 31
    • Manifesto Dicapati on Feb 26, 2024 at 5:18 pm

TP only knew to shut up now that he is outside the political leadership circle so he no longer enjoys the immunity of running their mouths as DAP politicians often do when they have power. He just found out too late he lost protection dy when his bolas kecut after getting called up by MACC for his pardon remarks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
      • Do u mean.. on Feb 26, 2024 at 7:25 pm

Do u mean his bolas kecut like yours kecut when u couldn’t face to face with his boss 2 ask 4 explanation of y no RM1.50/l 4 petrol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Robocop on Feb 27, 2024 at 11:11 am

DAP is ran like a Mafia racket. When you have the favour of its godfather you are immune to anything except talking about his family issues. When you don’t have his favour, good luck as you are sleeping with the piranhas. TP used to get away with much worse but once his time in DAP is numbered he is gone case liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
          • cyberdyne model 101 on Feb 27, 2024 at 1:14 pm

you’re just jealous that he still has got his bolas while yours have gone missing when they converted you into a cyborg

• Janji dicapati on Feb 26, 2024 at 11:42 am

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
  • Nurul Izzah on Feb 26, 2024 at 11:43 am

Anwar menang rakyat senang

• Danny on Feb 26, 2024 at 12:01 pm

Keyword “once” … when is once, once is never

• Ben Yap on Feb 26, 2024 at 2:20 pm

anyone still believe PMX? i don’t since he has u-turn on different occasions.

• Politicians are trained to run their mouth. Most have no idea how to competently run a sundry shop, let alone a country. Because of our current form of democrapopularity system, only these people are available to be voted in as leaders, even though most should not be anywhere near the seat of power.

There should be some form of strict test these people should take to be allowed to be a candidate.

• Ex PH Supporter on Feb 26, 2024 at 5:20 pm

We threw away 60 years of stability and economic progress just on their words. We should have known better but politicians are salesmen & scammers, they cannot be trusted and yet we did. Msians loved to get scammed after all.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 26, 2024 at 9:34 pm

PH voters should blame themselves for believing in “Ubah”. Come on guys, th emotto is just “Ubah”, right? “Change”? It didn’t say change for the better or change for the worse.

They absolutely fulfilled their promise of Ubah. From a darling of foreign investors and the world’s longest stock market bull-run to a regional stock market pariah and an investor repellant. Ringgit vs USD is at the worst point in history, all things considered. We got clobbered in 1998 because of the ENTIRE ASIA having an economic crisis. The WHOLE CONTINENT was affected. But in 2024? We are among the few in Asia that’s getting clobbered with poor economy and nosediving currency value when there’s absolutely no massive regional or global economic crisis happening.

This horrible damage to the country and our future is a direct result of successive incompetent governments starting with the absolutely terrible Mahathir 2.0 government that was just wayang lebih, more interested in sabotage and destruction of the country’s image just to make BN look worse and worse despite them having defeated BN. Foreign investments were blocked, projects were cancelled, every good thing was dismantled, and after destroying everything they smile and tell us “Look at what a mess this country is! It’s BN’s fault!”.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 27, 2024 at 2:21 pm

Rakyat will say;
            Ini salah USA for seeking regime change.
            Ini salah agen yahudis in gomen.
            Ini salah BN dulu
            Ini salah PN/PAS
            But the true blame lies with us as we believe those lies and slander and empty promises of milk & honey and now we have opened Pandora box the worst things could happen to Malaysia is happening now and we can never UBAH BALIK.

• cager on Feb 27, 2024 at 5:30 pm

Gov should have fund public transport with the profit collected from tolls. Not only limit to Klang Valley but other cities as well. With this everyone including children and seniors can travel easily and safely without relying on cars.