Gov’t to release data on road accident deaths daily in a bid to create awareness among Malaysian motorists

In a bid to create awareness about road safety, the government is aiming to make statistics on fatal road accidents available daily to the public. According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the road transport department (JPJ) will coordinate with the police on making the data available, with information about road accident deaths from the previous day being released daily.

“We want to make this a policy so that it can be published by all media. We are hoping for the cooperation of all media, including the print media, to make these figures public to spread awareness,” he said, as reported by The Star.

He added that the data would also be accessible online, done in the same manner as presented by the CovidNow website, which provided updates on Covid-19 related data during the pandemic. “During Covid-19, data on deaths was released daily. The reporting must be similar to that format. We want to let the people know that road accidents are as dangerous as Covid-19,” he said.

The decision to implement the plan was decided following a cabinet committee meeting on traffic congestion and road safety chaired by deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi. “We want to change the mindset,” he stated.

This comes following the release of the latest statistics on road fatalities for 2023. Loke said that last year, there were 6,443 road accident fatailities, which translated to an average of 18 deaths daily or a death every 80 minutes, making for the highest figure in five years.

“From this figure, nearly two-thirds of it involved motorcycle, with 4,448 fatilities recorded last year. This is an average of 12 deaths a day and it means that every two hours, there is one fatal accident involving motorcycles,” said Loke.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kckfen on Mar 07, 2024 at 3:55 pm

Release juga lar those mat motor gambar doing superman on the road….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Mar 07, 2024 at 7:18 pm

Depan sejid pasang besaq2 gambo eksiden muke pale pecoh.. badan hanco berderai rempit jiwa kental

• The Sun page 3 on Mar 09, 2024 at 12:28 pm

you won’t see much as those pictures will be heavily pixelated censored

• Dah Menang Semua on Mar 07, 2024 at 4:07 pm

I wanna see accident stats that involves biker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Celup King on Mar 08, 2024 at 4:47 pm

I wanna see occurance stats that involves driving against traffic. Too many lately

• Johnny on Mar 07, 2024 at 5:11 pm

Minister Loke, don’t just publish the statistics, because publishing statistics will not help anything. Please work with relevant parties to educate the motorists/riders and if need be, they need to be disciplined too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Mar 07, 2024 at 9:20 pm

Publishing statistics…an AI robot can do it.
      Remember,we r in the era of artificial intelligence.
      Will the deaths decline automatically? If nothing is done,it will skyrocket like Putin’s ballistic missiles.
      In real estate sales…it is LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION.
      In automotive death prevention..it is ENFORCEMENT,ENFORCEMENT,ENFORCEMENT…faham,Mr Loke ?
      Do you need Mr Albert Einstein to teach you thermonuclear physics to tackle preventable auto motive related deaths?

• Kongres Ekonomi Budakmalas 2024 on Mar 07, 2024 at 5:56 pm

Won’t work on us coz we bad with numbers, maths & stats. Superman, rempit & kicking side mirrors > death

• PlainBS on Mar 07, 2024 at 6:22 pm

What is the point of all this? To show how incapable this Loke is?
    Why release data when you have no clue how to solve the ever increasing accident problem? Rather than going undercover with a camera crew or nonstop selling number plates, or try to get your mugshot on every publicity and news channel, why not Loke try drive during a traffic jam and see yourself why accidents happen lah! Bodoh minister!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • it’s for public awareness, dumb@$$ ! Imagine a mother or father seeing the data every day in the news, they might begin advising their sons about the danger, maybe plead with them to wear helmets, not to ride fast. Maybe that helps with the fatalities. Loke didn’t say this was the only solution. This is part of the solution. Again… dumb@$$!

• PlainBS on Mar 08, 2024 at 3:43 pm

I don’t need my parents to be a data set, dumb@$$ ! What is the point of seeing data but not doing anything. dumb@$$ !
        Data when acted upon becomes information and information becomes actions. Data that is just statistics remain as data, dumb@$$ !
        How does releasing data without Loke doing anything is part of the solution or part of any solution. What sort of solution is that dumb@$$ !
        Loke never said anything concrete about the solution and neither did you… dumb@$$ !
        If you both are not part of the solution you both are part of the problem. Again… dumb@$$ !

• Kea Was on Mar 07, 2024 at 6:40 pm

While that Wee guy told us fantasy stories how he solve the road issues by kai tau to his boss by increasing penalty for drink driving back in 2020 once in power only for the police to show that drink driving has been the least cause of road death since 10 years ago until now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Lets See on Mar 08, 2024 at 8:42 am

At least Dr Wee tried to do something. This dude did NOTHING!

• macampondan on Mar 07, 2024 at 7:45 pm

mat remit will set higher goal… higher number. what to do, otak mangkuk

• And how many involving speeding trailers with the excuse of brake failure?

• God please help this guy on Mar 08, 2024 at 8:23 am

Please release data on how many big bikes without insurance and roadtax

• Heavy penalty and community work will do the work.

• Need to include vehicle type driven as it’s an important factor.

Death from 30 years old kancil is not the same as death from newer vehicles.