Bad weather results in fallen trees – why Special Perils add-on for your car insurance is a good idea

The occurrence of adverse weather that results in fallen trees and roadside furniture can be unpredictable, and as depicted by these images from a Sri Petaling community Facebook page, vehicles parked in the vicinity of said trees are most exposed, and some of these are seen to be surrounded by very large fallen branches.

The extent of damage is currently not known, nor if there were any injuries which resulted from the falling trees and objects. Any such damage sustained by the vehicles will be potentially very costly to repair, and it is typcially at this point where one wonders if car insurance will cover for eventualities such as this.

It does, but only if the policy holder has selected the special perils add-on for their car insurance policy. Incidents of fallen trees, as well as flooding, are prime examples of why the further coverage provided by the special perils add-on is crucial.

Coverage by the special perils add-on to one’s regular vehicle insurance policy brings added cover for natural disasters and acts of God, including for incidents such as fallen trees like this. We have tabled the costs of adding special perils coverage from various auto insurance providers in Malaysia, and these rates range from 0.15% to 0.20%, depending on company.

For a vehicle insured for a value of RM50,000, it can be as little as RM75, ranging up to RM240 at the higher end of the scale. While not a tiny sum of money, it surely is much more affordable than potential vehicle repair costs arising from damage inflicted by a fallen tree, isn’t it?

PS: If you renew your car insurance using our car insurance and road tax renewal service, you can compare how much special perils add-on is being quoted for your car from different insurers and choose the most affordable one.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kea Was on Mar 29, 2024 at 1:18 pm

While the previous Environmental Man told us Malaysia is not a Climate Vulnerable Country back in 2021 just before all these catastrophe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Ex PH Supporter on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:31 pm

As PH supporters like to say, ini semua salah current gomen.. oh wait..

• Which insurance company offers the cheapest coverage Special Perils or can claim from local Pihak Berkuasa Tempatan (PBT)

• Why So Serious on Mar 29, 2024 at 5:48 pm

He was right you know. Before 2021 there was no Anwar as PM so there is no worry. Now he is PMX it is a catastrophic disaster and we became an economic vulnerable country with super high inflation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Kea Was on Mar 29, 2024 at 11:03 pm

Then you must have been too young to know the 2021 flood that comes after his mouth and his continuous flood mitigation projects given to his cronies with no use to the public just dishes out free money.

• History Bender on Apr 02, 2024 at 9:47 am

Before 2021 epic floods happen once in 10 years, freak of nature.
          After PH becomes gomen, epic floods happen yearly, sign of gods displeasure.
          Time to change back starting by removing PH

• 3 bodies theorem on Mar 29, 2024 at 1:20 pm

Where to buy insurance coverage against Celestial Alien attacks?

• Lord serpent guardian of paradise on Mar 31, 2024 at 12:54 pm

Confirmed the insurance insolvency very soon

• FireAce on Mar 29, 2024 at 3:51 pm

Guys, you need new calculator

“… these rates range from 0.15% to 0.20%, depending on company. For a vehicle insured for a value of RM50,000, it can be as little as RM75, ranging up to RM240 at the higher end of the scale.”

RM240 of RM50,000 is 0.5%

• Apa cakap u? We don’t even insure our cars and renew rotek