Saga attempts reversing back to exit ramp on highway, nearly causes three-car pile-up – avoid doing this

If it isn’t driving against traffic, it’s reversing into it. We’re sure you’ve seen it before on highways, that car stopped on the road, usually on the emergency lane, slowly making a crawl rearwards in an effort to get to the exit ramp missed earlier. Dangerous? You bet. Illegal? For sure.

That doesn’t stop some drivers from trying, in the process not just halting traffic flow but also putting other road users at risk. In an incident that happened earlier this week, a driver in a Proton Saga Aeroback nearly caused an accident when attempting to reverse back a two-lane expressway towards an exit ramp. As it neared the exit, it had to do so on the left lane of the highway, effectively a static object on a traffic lane.

At that point, a Honda HR-V on the same lane caught up with the errant vehicle, and managed to brake to a complete stop. A Proton X50 following behind would have rear ended the Honda had the driver, who was not expecting traffic to stop suddenly on the free-moving route – not swung his vehicle out to the fast lane.

Dashcams caught the whole scene – which unfolded very quickly – in a TikTok post by eazyizzuddin, and it’s amazing that the whole thing didn’t end up with a three-car collision because of one stupid act. The Saga driver seemed unrepentant, having using hand signals to indicate his objective of wanting to contine reversing towards the exit ramp.

If you miss an exit, you’ll just have to do so at the next one. Sure, it’ll cost you more drive time, but surely that’s better than ending up not making it to where you wanted to go in the first place. In any case, it’s against the law to do so.

Under Section 42 (1) of the Road Transport Act (Amendment) 2020, such action constitutes reckless and dangerous driving, and those convicted can be punished by a fine and imprisonment as well as be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving license for a good period.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dear Paultan team, I would like to ask…can X50 ADAS or any other car safety system in the world automatically brake & steer to avoid a stationary object/vehicle?

• Im not an engineer on Apr 13, 2024 at 1:37 am

Im guessing…
      ADAS front collision warning activated
      ADAS autonomous emergency braking activated
      *Driver reflex action to steer away*
      ABS and ESC maintained stability

I dont think ADAS is capable of steering away to avoid collision.

• Good question, the owner himself now claimed that the car steer by itself taking control of the car totally. This could dangerously affect perception of other X50 users. Perhaps Paultan team can help to clarify on this X50 safety feature, ask Proton to clarify maybe? In this case I think the Honda safety feature works perfectly to stop in such a short distance but that doesn’t prevent the car behind to rear end it. X50 obviously follow too close and too fast to the Honda, this is a very lucky save. Hilux won in defensive driving, steer to right from far away, that is what we need to educate all the drivers, look further in front like 50-100meter. Your car need 40meter to stop from 100-0, excluding ur response time. Do your math.

• IIIIII on Apr 14, 2024 at 8:42 am

There is no aeb that brakes and steers. it only stops in a straight line. Also aebs will not brake in time if you are above a certain speed. The collision would have happened regardless if the driver didn’t steer.

• Squid on Apr 15, 2024 at 8:38 am

X50 no. Other makes yes namely Tesla, Volvo to name a few.

• Bob Mal on Apr 12, 2024 at 12:20 pm

The few original iteration of the Saga Mitsubishi King of the road.

• Spongewai on Apr 12, 2024 at 6:13 pm

If u wanna drive and stay in 1 piece. Buy X50 lol

• Dah Menang Semua on Apr 13, 2024 at 1:23 am

nnti pulak marah kreta belakang
        yg membawa maut kpd yg dlm Saga

• Law abiding citizen on Apr 12, 2024 at 12:39 pm

Need to punish that idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • v-tec fan on Apr 12, 2024 at 1:21 pm

Ni Satu lagi…. gantung je Saga driver tu….xya susah2.

• drMpower on Apr 12, 2024 at 1:37 pm

okay now all these cases they got the vehicles plate numbers appeared in the recordings, right
    not only this saga car, but ALL incidents appeared on recordings. for example those racing cars, that one IG guy who owns a r35 and always record himself schooling others, there are so many.

the police going to so something? or they need report first then only go investigate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Ur moms car on Apr 12, 2024 at 1:51 pm

Even the idiot family inside that car waving to tell the hrv driver to reverse

Well this kind of driver should be hit by a heavy vehicles like lorry or buses instead of other car drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Tak baik tau on Apr 12, 2024 at 5:14 pm

Bulan mulia ni jangan busuk hati. Lepas raya bulih la menyumpah & memboikot

• Why So Serious on Apr 12, 2024 at 2:03 pm

I am more interested on the UFO light across the window of that 1st car. Must be some alien spaceship distracting the Saga family and they want to chase it.

• this type of driver must put in death row

• Presiden umno terpaling hebat on Apr 12, 2024 at 5:24 pm

We’re already suffering from diluting meleh sapot to PN some more you wanna send dumb drivers to tali gantung. How la to win next election?

• cameras everywhere on Apr 12, 2024 at 2:42 pm

polis please catch this driver and summon, suspend license.
    put it on all tv and newspaper for people to see.
    nobody should drive like this, and give reminder to everyone that now there are cameras everywhere watching.

• Why So Serious on Apr 12, 2024 at 2:44 pm

In other news, Proton will be using this footage as proof of X series full ADAS capability to avert accidents and save lives. We are still waiting for P2 own success story about their ADAS function but so far the word have been terrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Rakyat on Apr 12, 2024 at 2:49 pm

The one showing hand signal in the saga is not the driver, it’s the back passenger if I’m not mistaken. An idiot (the saga driver) not fit to drive.

• Knight rider AGK 4966 on Apr 12, 2024 at 3:26 pm

Driver had too much santan and was hallucinating on the road. Anyone care to reveal the driver’s info from semak saman polis, rilek or myeg?

• wkaka on Apr 12, 2024 at 3:32 pm

Filthy trash, needs to have the drivers license revoked permanently and arrested for almost causing major accident

• Tracks. on Apr 12, 2024 at 3:59 pm

Asid3 from the idiot driver who reversed his vehicle, please take a moment to appreciate ADAS and the stability of X50 performing high speed lane change under braking.
    I had seen many vehicle lost control when performing a similar maneuver.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 12, 2024 at 4:08 pm

If we had death penalty for serious traffic offences such as this, rempiting, street racing, running red lights, abusing emergency lane, tailgating and zig-zag driving, our country will immediately improve within a few short years when all these useless scum are eliminated from contaminating the planet

• tricycle on Apr 12, 2024 at 11:15 pm

First of all. The super idiot stupid F driver license should be banned for life.

Secondly he/she should be send to do community works for 1,000 hours. Idiot.

BUT at the same time, based on the video above, the driver behind the idiot saga does not really pay full attention. The Saga has stopped/reversing for more than 10 seconds, (it is very visible) he should have slow down his vehicle, thus his brother behind him in X50, can slow down as well.

Remember there a lot of idiots on the road, better be safe than sorry. If his brother X50 also was not aware, they might have crash horribily. SHRMZB

• Ben Yap on Apr 13, 2024 at 9:39 am

police say anyone that hit from the rear is in the wrong. follow too close and too fast.

• Ric Teng on Apr 13, 2024 at 11:42 am

To the paultan team, this was footage from a year ago as stated by the original poster here: https://x.com/eazyizzuddin/status/1778286883262607494?s=61&t=6KWSWDzKFxwwENIUYMWYJA

• Signboard lembu dgn “hati-hati memandu”, lembu tu, driver Saga ni lah!!!! Hati2 semua!!!

• punggail on Apr 13, 2024 at 4:32 pm

Another B40 vs acah2 M40 adrenaline rush action pack idea for Yusof Haslam’s next project.