Cabinet agrees to implement targeted fuel subsidies, starting with diesel in the peninsula – PM Anwar

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.says that the government will proceed with the implementation of targeted fuel subsidies, with the Cabinet having agreed to the move, The Star reports.

He said that the implementation would first begin with diesel in the peninsula, with that for Sabah and Sarawak to be set aside until later. This was because almost everyone in Sabah and Sarawak uses diesel for transportation every day. “So, we will postpone this move there,” he said in his speech, which was televised live last night.

Anwar said that in order to prevent any drastic increases in the cost of goods and services, subsidies will be given to traders using diesel-powered commercial vehicles under the subsidised diesel control system (SKDS) programme, essentially covering 10 public transportation vehicle and 23 goods transport vehicle types.

Cash aid will also be given to eligible individuals such as small traders and farmers who own private diesel-powered vehicles, while.diesel subsidies will continue to be provided to certain categories of fishermen.

As such, the PM said that lower- and middle-income groups who use diesel for their businesses will not be affected by the rationalisation, which is expected to save the government around RM4 billion annually, and that the only people who would be impacted by the rationalisation is the T20 group and around 3.5 million foreigners.

Anwar however did not indicate when the diesel subsidy rationalisation would be implemented. The government has previously outlined plans to introduce a targeted subsidy mechanism for both diesel and RON 95 petrol, with that for the latter slated to be sometime in the second half of 2024. However, it has yet to announce the mechanism and how these subsidies will be dispensed.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ROTI CANAI on May 22, 2024 at 1:18 am

Hancur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • I miss BN 60 years rule on May 22, 2024 at 7:35 pm

Padu with only 30% data he said is ready for launch and will cut out subsidy for majority of Msians, but diesel subsidy cut for businesses he say on hold? This clearly tell us this failed PH gomen is willing to tax the rakyat marhaen but will subsidise the rich.
      Orang Kaya Didahulukan, Rakyat Marhaen Ditindaskan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 22, 2024 at 7:39 pm

Tenkiu KKB voters! Now you have created hell for the rest of Malaysia. But you dun forget you will also suffer along with us (unless you get subsidy for voting PH laa!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • Tax the rich, Help the poors. Padu terbaek PMX kitaa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 52
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 22, 2024 at 7:27 pm

As above.
      PH Gomen continue to troll millions of Msians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Jacob on May 23, 2024 at 8:34 am

Quite rich to be able to afford RM100k+ premium diesel truck.
      Terbaek?

If I observe indonesian for thier hilly potholes road,
      All they care is want ladder Frame, RWD like Avanza, Rush

We need to give them the right choice for affordable car,
      Not pushed to RM 100k+ premium diesel truck right?
      Heavy maintenance, mahal tayar too.

• Dah Menang Semua on May 23, 2024 at 8:53 am

pakai EV xde effek pon
      Tesla cybertruck mari

• Nurul Izzah on May 22, 2024 at 7:22 am

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 22, 2024 at 7:29 pm

As above.

• Baju kuning! Get ready! We need to go guling2. Kah3!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Azrul on May 22, 2024 at 8:00 am

I hate to praise a criminal, but Najib’s administration has given more to us than all the preceding governments ever had.

The economy and data speaks for itself.

It is the responsibility of the government of the day to look after our welfare. It is their responsibility to go look for opportunities and bring in money to us. It seems to me that we have to fork out more from out pockets to cover for government’s inefficiency.

All the preceding governments after Najib ever did was rebrand his projects.

BR1M (they said government shouldn’t behave like a santa claus) – > many names – > finally Skim Tunai Rahmah
    Karnival Jualan 1Malaysia – > many names – > Jualan Rahmah

Things that are supposed to help out the masses, like everyone across the income spectrum (t20, m40, b40) like blanket subsidy for wheat flour is abolished. Severely limited supply of subisidized sugar, cooking oil local rice.

Cascading tax for SST. What happened to the promised cheaper price after abolishing GST? We all went to the streets because of that.

Now, the fuel subsidy.

I think this country is going down the drain because we have installed incapable people to run the country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 21
    • Anwar not competant on May 22, 2024 at 7:00 pm

Next GE voted Dr Akmal Saleh as PM

Barua Pencuri Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • EV Car Mafia on May 22, 2024 at 10:31 pm

In India, the maximum retail price (MRP) is the highest price a manufacturer can set for a product before it’s sold, and it includes all taxes. The Consumer Goods (Mandatory Printing of cost of Production and Maximum Retail Price) Act of 2006 requires manufacturers to print the MRP on products, and retailers can’t charge customers more than the MRP.

The MRP is determined by the manufacturer or seller based on factors like production costs, marketing expenses, and profit margin. The main goals of the MRP are to protect consumers and ensure that retailers don’t sell products at higher prices.

MRP protects the rights of consumers, especially in remote or rural areas. MRP inclusive of tax is printed on all the packaged goods thus, there is less number of complaints on the issue of over-charging from the customers.

• Pro-Palestine on May 23, 2024 at 1:51 pm

Who cares what they do in India? We only want to learn and follow from successful country and not follow losers la. Adui kau ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Learn to live without subsidy lah. I saw one guy bought 4 packets of subsidised cooking oil plus basmati rice. It’s obvious he can afford non subsidised cooking oil.
      If Najib had done the right thing and cut off all subsidies and cut wasteful spending, our RM would be stronger by now. But when price of oil was high, he wasted that opportunity. That opportunity was wasted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Laugh on May 23, 2024 at 8:34 am

Reading such comments sometimes makes me wonder how their brain functions.
      Or it’s just the matter of short sighted in the mind.

Let you think why I say this rather than me explaining cause you’ll just letup.

Clue: WHY?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • dodgeviper88 on May 23, 2024 at 11:37 am

Unfortunately the majority have that kind of mentality, hence the Malaysian economy being so screwed up now. Specifically about the point of the removing ‘subsidies’, don’t forget how much car taxes the rakyat pay plus the 10s of billions the government gets from Petronas. The easiest way to cut cost is to sack 50% of the government servants (there are too many of them not doing anything, sacking half of them wouldn’t affect anything) but we all know it’ll be a political suicide. Furthermore, raising oil prices will have a severe inflation, on top of the one that we are already having

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • seitha on May 26, 2024 at 7:13 pm

businessmen are politicians, politicians are businessmen
      EXCO DAP and menteri jual nombor plate kasi kontrak kepada suami menteri DAP..

ASIA MOBILITY DAPAD KONTRAK DARI APAD!!

• zaman BN on May 22, 2024 at 8:20 am

How do you stop traders from playing dirty? Say their commercial vehicles given subsidies, but still increased their service/ goods prices? The food price hike, for example, all excuses pointed at harga daging naik, the same apply to drinks , how possible a cost to make a cup of ice coffee increase up to rm2(said selling price at rm3)? Since no interest rate hike, rental should not be excuse for now. Government should regulate the food hawkers . That’s the biggest problem , I am sure not many could find time to cook and thus, depends on eateries. I pity those low income group with many children, canteen food also increased drastically.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
    • hazri on May 22, 2024 at 3:38 pm

yes i see some hawker increase their price like rm7 to rm9 for nasi kukus, drink like syrup from 1.50 to 2.00-2.50, while the chicken price now is stable. kpdnhep must do something about this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 22, 2024 at 7:30 pm

As above.

• Curious on May 23, 2024 at 2:54 pm

but you can pay a simple to cook spaghetti olio 2x/3x the price of this nasi kukus. why double standard?

• fudgemesideways on May 22, 2024 at 8:41 am

One term govt la ni. You take and take and take, but what did you give to the rakyat? Lower RM…LMAO…what a joke.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
    • they will collapse once the stupid e invoice system is fully implemented

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • all kena ayam now….b4 that promised sky everything will go down , after won semua naik….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
  • Diesel Smugglers on May 22, 2024 at 9:36 am

Thinking thinking thinking

• DonkeyKong on May 22, 2024 at 9:37 am

Saya ulang.. hari ni kita menang, besok harga minyak TURUN!!!

Saya ulang.. hari ni saya jadi PM, mulai besok selama 5 tahun rakyat Malaysia akan kena sondol!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 7
    • hazri on May 22, 2024 at 3:29 pm

patutla ko ni donkey kong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • DonkeyKong on May 22, 2024 at 7:10 pm

Patutlah ko ni anak ikan jambu bangnon

• Angry Voters on May 22, 2024 at 7:37 pm

Pakatan Rakyat Leader = Pakatan Harapan Leader
        Promises of Pakatan Rakyat for RM1.50/L petrol = Promises of Pakatan Harapan

Stop defending and give us cheap fuel that we voted for!

• alibaba on May 22, 2024 at 10:07 am

to be fair, remove subsidies in every segments, cut off none sense duty and colonies pocket money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Anwarisation on May 22, 2024 at 12:23 pm

Lain yg disuruh (janji2), lain yg dibuat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • hazri on May 22, 2024 at 3:33 pm

kan? macam satu negeri tu, disuruh bagi air bersih tapi mercedes yang dibelinya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Amran on May 24, 2024 at 8:08 pm

Kan? Macam CM kat Penang, bukan kali pertama tapi dah dua kali dorang tipu rakyat dan beli S keras.

• ur cabinet not more than 200 ppl… u decide between urself.. but the number who not aggree more than 10 million… y dont u ask the rakyat 1st? when u need vote u begging the rakyat rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Pro-Palestine on May 22, 2024 at 5:42 pm

We follow western demokratik sistem ma. Janji langit bila mau undi tapi bila menang sapu sampai langit. Dalam 5 tahun sebelum next undi, kita sapu kering dan pencen terus. Keindahan Western Demokratik sistem

• Sohai on May 22, 2024 at 3:47 pm

So “almost everyone is Sabah / Sarawak uses diesel”?
    Then you could remove the RON95 subsidy over there can you ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
  • Anwarnomics on May 22, 2024 at 4:18 pm

Yang betul-betul kaya tak rasa pun. Yang M40 dan yang diklasifikasi sebagai T20 tapi sebenarnya bukan pula merana

• Sgt Scoop on May 22, 2024 at 5:25 pm

Put up the price of diesel and the price of everything will go up.

I feel like this is the straw that will push Malaysia’s economy into recession.

It would be much better to wait for a time when the economy is strong and the price of oil is low.

• Business owners on May 22, 2024 at 6:27 pm

It’s time to jack up the prices boys

• Wilson on May 22, 2024 at 6:42 pm

Car price with double and triple tax and now removing petrol subsidy? You can’t have both! When buying car we indirectly paid for fuel subsidy. Where does the tax money gone?? AP holders? Protecting Proton/Perodua – these are old stories

• seitha on May 22, 2024 at 9:51 pm

stop the smuggling of fuel across our borders in SUVs
    foreigners working in malaysia should pay unsubsidized fuel price

• Incompetent government!! Menyusahkan orang saja.

• To me, only National car, or high local content CKD deserve petrol subsidy,

As these group create job opportunities for Rakyat,
    And also Confirmed Proud of Malaysia made,
    And unlikely orang Kaya berlagak

• Susukotak on May 23, 2024 at 8:41 am

Using same formula, subsidy on petrol should continue.

• Robinhood on May 23, 2024 at 8:44 am

You remove the subsidies, but have no plans to stop price increases. Neither is there any monitoring or countermeasures. That proves we have very poor or selfish leadership!!! Sabah & Sarawak have no rich people or foreigners??? Yoiu think we are so naive!!! Don’t take our Peninsula support for you for granted and we shall throw you for your incapability!!! Was reported RM1.2 million losses due to diesel smuggling but you did nothing!!! You can save the same RM4 billion also without causing hardship to the people. I guess you people are just too lazy or have no heart for the people who supported you. Once bitten twice shy!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Spin Too Much on May 23, 2024 at 10:44 pm

Tell that to KKB voters. Once bitten still let PMX & PH baham

• Sparcov on May 23, 2024 at 8:56 am

But the rakyat don’t agreed!

I’m driving a 10 years old hilux in which I already paid off the car. Other than a high road tax and insurance cost, I need to pay extra for the Diesel. I’m in the T20 living in KL, KL life we have to pay toll and car park everyday. Our expenses is very high already compare to smaller city.

Now the government want to squeeze more more money from us which our salary never able to cope the inflation of the country. Apa lagi Government mau ?

• Good job PMX. Hopefully this mean less speeding 4x4s on highways. Save your diesel when you need to actually haul heavy stuff ya.

• isuzuki on May 23, 2024 at 9:31 am

Yea, those purchase pickup luxury, eg. Raptor, Ranger, can’t be the poor, right? Those are life styles

• neutral on May 23, 2024 at 10:50 am

imagine. if you have a massive bank loan, and your current salary cannot sustain the loan. what do you do? increase your kids daily allowance? no.. we will want to decrease the loan. next, increase your salary (by expanding business), how about the kids? get them educated. get them to work with valuable services/experience/skill. that’s how you grow the next generation. that’s how you grow the ‘family’.

• Whatever implemented,

As long as senior citizen/oku/Family with Kids whom are studying,
    Can get cheap transportation
    Cheap food,
    Cheap essentials,
    Affordable education.

Singaporean have all these affordable acessibility.
    Care for the Aged, Care for the Young, Care for the OKU
    We are moving into aging country,
    1 major course is inflation and lack of quality life when we observe family with kids.
    Being aging country, we need to be prepare for it,
    The Aged care center at above RM8k / month can’t do the job for rakyat, even the T20 can afford.

• Ben Yap on May 23, 2024 at 11:25 am

how can you guarantee that prices of necessities won’t increase after the removal of fuel subsidy? well, as we all know, once the price increase, Madani government will setup a task force to look into it and end of the day, nothing happens.

• Human on May 23, 2024 at 12:51 pm

So foreigners in EM can enjoy subsidy but not T20 in WM

• War naik, wa makan rumput!

• Gomorrah on May 23, 2024 at 2:11 pm

Manyak pandai ni. So public transport issues siapa mau bikin. Been car centric for decades (foolishly) and now you mau tarik subsidi. Independent bus services over the years all centralised in to a crony company. The other operators squeezed out. Many routes gone, existing routes have pathetic frequency. Private operators use to run a damn good service until the mid 90’s when all that Intrakota nonsense started. Metrobus, Selangor omnibus, bas mini all gone. Tried that kumpool rubbish the other day. What a joke. And you expect people to get around how? Prior planning prevents piss poor performance. No one in power seems to be able to do that in this country for decades. I agree there needs to be subsidy rationalisation but doing it this way is like bolting on a supercharger and not changing from drum to disc brakes.

• Losantara on May 23, 2024 at 3:49 pm

Please only tax bmw Mercedes Toyota and Honda. Don’t tax p1 and p2

• Everyone screaming TAX THE RICH… until the targeted subsidy is given to B40 and not M40.