It’s a fact that many federal roads aren’t as good as they should be, plagued by a lack of maintenance and repairs. There’s an explanation as to why this is so, and it all has to do with money.
According to the works ministry, the yearly funding provided only covers a quarter of what is needed, Bernama reports. Approximately RM4 billion is needed annually to maintain all federal roads in the country, but for several decades it has only received a budget of around RM1 billion every year, said works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi.
“That is the reason for the backlog in road maintenance and repairs. To improve our road quality through maintenance, we hope to receive a budget of more than RM1 billion in the upcoming budget, as the current allocation only covers 25%,” he said during an event in Tawau, Sabah where he announced a RM130 million allocation for road maintenance and repairs for the state.
Nanta said the ministry will be applying for a higher allocation next year under a special progamme to improve roads, in light of Malaysia assuming the ASEAN chairmanship in 2025 and 2026 being Visit Malaysia Year.
“Continuous focus on road maintenance is part of the commitment by the government to consistently provide comfortable and safe infrastructure for all Malaysians,” he said.
He also took note of public complaints regarding street lighting issues and urged concession companies to come up with practical solutions within financial means, including installing cats-eye reflectors or solar lights on dark and risky roads.
With the 1b can get 1/4 of the work done? Many roads without lines even in klang valley now. Baru turap korek again culture still ongoing.
Because BASIC FUNDAMENTAL is not done correctly, the vehicle ROAD TAX rate is not aligned with ROAD MAINTENANCE. eg. HEAVY VEHICLE like lorry, bus, van, truck, EV batterry vehicle (more heavy the vehicle more damage to raod) should charge more HIGHER ROAD TAX from current rate. [ if u don’t collect sufficient road tax, then where u have money funding for road maintenance??? ]
You call it road tax actually a car permit. The money not correlate with cost roas maintenance.
maybe korek is culprit, damaging integrity of it’s original capacity.
most important is reinstate with compaction and to it’s required density for load capacity.
the hand roller compaction may not doing it’s job well for small korek works. maybe need to look into the guideline and supervision record and jobs for improved solution.
In other words, this useless Gomen did not put money where it needs to be. So what did they do with the diesel subsidy removal? Dah makan habis sending PH delegates to Paris Olympics
1b allocated….only 10m spend on actual work…the rest of 990m you know lar…..
Already diesel rationalization implement and savings expected. Apa lagi Madani govt doing? Allocate the savings to this la
Sad to see ppl keep bashing the current government in this comment or any comment in social media.
I stayed in KL, seeing more and more of those shitty road being repaired and paved. We are not near to any GE soon, but still money spent to improve current shitty road.
Look back during MCO, when roads were empty, did the bapak took time to even repair the road when everyone was asked to stay at home? money spent, but where those money went anyway?
THINK BEFORE BASHING… give time for the current leaders to prove what they can do!!!
Repair already become hump or mountain which we drive through at speed, damaging our cars. Even worse when it rains and the water pools because of this bump, creating more potholes.
The roads are not fixed.
brader its been 6 years ! since we have had changed, how long you wanna wait !!!!!. the debt last time everyone blindly talked about, but now THE DEBT IS 1.3 TRILLION RINGGIT, let me ask you this question, do you you feel the impact of 600 BILLION ringgit spent over the past 6 years directly ?????? all those infrastructures were approved budgets of previous government ! so tell me where the 600,000,000,000 MYR went ? to this new government in standing, to this new coalition, to this new disaster ?
got billions to spend on Jakim and Jais
no money for infrastructure and KKM
Driving isn’t fun anymore because of too many cars on the roads. Driving should be luxury not necessary. Gov should increase the price of road tax, especially for larger and heavier vehicles because they contribute to more road damage.
imho, can kementerian kerjaraya and jkr work together to build a website/app and put in the list which road is need to repair, and citizen can report and vote which road need to be taken care first. the allocation of rm 1 billion, by real time show where the money went to, which road and which contractor did the job. so we as the citizen can check and balance. transparency is the key.
Increase road tax for heavy vehicles and introduce fuel tax for RON97. All of this revenue should be solely use for road maintenance.
Makan makan… semua makan saje…
The never-ending debate eh. Ask for 20 billion would still yield the same result.
We should also consider total death, disability, vehicle loss, and economic loss caused by poor road conditions. If this can be reduced, more budget can be shift to road maintenance.
Off-topic, also consider forcing manufacturers to produce lower-sugar drinks and food as alternatives to their standard, which is high in sugar.
Meanwhile, those richman BEVs that weight more than 2 tonnes don’t have to pay road tax.
Stating the problem doesn’t solve the problem…
why can do it once and for all, use dense material like japan/SG. then wont need to keep repairing, but i get it, too many levels need to makan duit.
The trend is the digging works for utilities will commence soon after the road is resurfaced. And a shoddy patch works after, left the road in terrible condition for next year budget before fixing. And right after that, the uilities company will dig another hole and patch it horribly once again. The cycle continues. #mpaj #dbkl.
Exactly the rest of the comment don’t get this
Kenyang x tu makan?
Tayarku pecah, bushing koyak, lower arm dll kirim salam.
Moga yg makan duit ni nnti m*ti diperlud*hkan urusan & disambar pel*r…