JPJ seizes 21 luxury MPVs doing illegal ‘kereta sapu’ biz – some charging RM1k for KL-Singapore trip

JPJ has seized 21 luxury MPVs used as illegal ‘kereta sapu’ in special operations held in the Klang Valley from September 2-6. Director-general Datuk Aedy Fadly Ramli said such an operation was held for the first time to eradicate the ‘ulat teksi sapu mewah’ activity targeting foreign tourists staying in five-star hotels as well as at tourist attractions.

“We have received many reports about this activity and investigations found that their modus operandi uses special apps and the help of middlemen in their mission of irresponsible profit making,” Aedy Fadly said yesterday, reported by Bernama. He added that some charged up to S$300 (RM996) for a trip from KL to Singapore compared to the normal charge of RM300

The JPJ chief said that other than seizing MPVs such as the Toyota Alphard, Hyundai Starex, Hyundai Staria and Toyota Innova, officers also issued 45 summonses to owners of the vehicles for various offences such as the misuse of vehicle license, not having a competent driving license (CDL) and expired CDL. The drivers were mostly local men in their 30s.

The cases are being investigated under Section 23 (2) of the Road Transport Act 1987, which allows for a fine up to RM10,000 or not more than two years of jail, or both.

Aedy Fadly said that after focusing previous efforts on the country’s gateways such as KLIA, KLIA2 and the Langkawi airport, JPJ is now looking to stamp out kereta sapu activities in areas such as luxury hotels and tourist attractions.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• alibaba on Sep 13, 2024 at 12:58 pm

if not then wat else can do in bolehland?

• Lets See on Sep 17, 2024 at 12:04 pm

Previously the Gomen go after GRAB now it is big business so why today go after these similar service? Coz not using Gomen mandated app? Since when did we change into Communism? Oh wait but this is PH Gomen now.

• Do you know? on Sep 13, 2024 at 12:59 pm

There’s also plenty of kereta sapu doing school bus mpv privately. No need apply school bus licence no need declare tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Miss you too on Sep 13, 2024 at 6:33 pm

U alright sapu student even more dangerous better take action on it first….

• KL to Singapore compared to the normal charge of RM300

Bro. You sure bro? Grab drivers won’t even be fetching for below rm500 to jb. And that’s in bezza Saga axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Please do research more on Sep 17, 2024 at 1:28 am

Dumb officer, no drivers willing to do charity trip from KL-Singapore at RM300 especially using luxury MPV

• Kakanasai on Sep 21, 2024 at 1:27 am

Rm300?, just vep and toll cost is near rm100, they think petrol foc? Tol from KL to Jb free? Normal cost From Jb to sg already sgd70 per head, at checkpoint woodlands if you take grab normally sgd 30. where they get rm300? Hahha

• Squid on Sep 13, 2024 at 3:01 pm

Great, doing Singapore gov a favour… Why kacau? They’re taking money from Singaporeans into bolehland ma.. sigh

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 18, 2024 at 4:57 pm

Bcoz PH Gomen is subservient to PAP Gomen. Abang adek after all.

• hateme on Sep 13, 2024 at 6:03 pm

RM300 who want to do ? One trip KL SG at least RM90 for petrol and toll alone .

• Nazah on Sep 15, 2024 at 1:45 pm

Kl to singapore for rm300 is just illogical.. i towed my bike from sepang to kajang for rm300..

• Kuantan LAST MINUTES BOOKING on taxi 15 years ago to Kuala Lumpur the fare charges was RM350 ALREADY!!

• Wayangla on Sep 15, 2024 at 8:34 pm

RM300 from kl to singapore? Ni mesti katak bawah tempurung. Lol

• i also doing this business..now i need to becareful