A Tesla priced under the US$25k (RM109k) mark that can be driven normally, as opposed to being operated autonomously, would be ‘pointless’, the carmaker’s CEO Elon Musk has said at its Q3 2024 earnings call last week, reported Car Expert.
Tesla’s Project Redwood emerged to be an autonomous vehicle called the Robotaxi, rather than the rumoured ‘Model 2’ compact model that was said to be codenamed H422/NV91 which was cancelled.
“Basically, having a regular US$25k model is pointless. It would be silly. It would be completely at odds with what we believe. I think we’ve been very clear that the future is autonomous,” Musk told investors during the earnings call.
The earliest indications of the smallest vehicle yet from Tesla emerged as a sketch in 2020, depicted as a compact, short-wheelbase car is visual references to the Model 3 and Model Y of the time. The electric carmaker was indicated in January this year to be commencing production of its new mass-market EV in mid-2025, though subsequently in April the US$25k ‘Model 2’ had been rumoured to be cancelled.
Musk said during the Q3 2024 earnings call that Tesla is on track to launch more affordable EVs in the first half of in 2025, which could generate sales growth of up 20% to 30% next year provided that no major wars or interest rate hikes took place.
The Tesla Robotaxi made its public debut earlier this month, emerging as a self-driving EV without a steering wheel or pedals that is to be priced from US$30k (around RM128k) that will enter production in 2026.
We know it’s pointless because it will eat into your profit margin and cannibalize your other more expensive models. If you truly believe in autonomous vehicle for the future, Tesla should also start to develop self driving buses to handle larger quantity of population who cannot afford to buy your cars
Even if Musky said he can launch a sub-$25k Tesla, expect the real price to start from around $50k. To say he has a tendency to overhype and overpromise is a big understatement. M
Tell that to your new best fren PMX, he is expecting cheap EVs for his Gomen mentri car fleet.