Once you switch to an EV, you won’t go back to petrol cars; it’s like going from a car to a horse – Geely rep

Geely Holding Group head of global communications Ashley Sutcliffe said that once car drivers switch to electric vehicles, “they won’t go back to petrol”, Bernama has reported.

“It’s like buying a car and then going back to a horse. It’s really uncomfortable. I easily drove 3,000 kilometres on a road trip, and the electricity bill was 415 yuan (about RM255). In a petrol car, that would have been at least 1,500 yuan. Petrol here [in China] is twice the price of [petrol in] Malaysia, making it very expensive to use,” Sutcliffe said during a media delegation visit to Geely headquarters in Hangzhou as part of the Malaysian Media Visit Programme to China.

Electric vehicles accounted for 53% of monthly vehicle sales volume in China in recent months, or around two million units monthly, according to Sutcliffe, attributing it to rapid public acceptance and rising demand, and noted that the surge was driven by extensive charging infrastructure and affordable prices.

Early examples of electric vehicles which were priced between 500,000 yuan and 600,000 yuan could now be purchased from 30,000 yuan, which makes them more accessible to a broader market and increases their popularity, Sutcliffe added.

The National Energy Transition Roadmap (NETR) by the Malaysian government aims to have electric vehicles form 80% of total industry volume by 2040, alongside its plans to establish 10,000 EV chargers by 2025 and have 500,000 electric vehicles by 2030.

Sutcliffe believes that Malaysia’s renewable energy resources such as solar, wind and hydro power will ease electric vehicle infrastructure development. “I believe this country will be a new energy leader in the future,” he said.

On the subject of equine references to internal combustion, Geely represents one half of a joint venture with Renault that is Horse Powertrain, which will supply the 2.0 litre turbocharged engine for the next-generation Mercedes-Benz CLA.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• hahahahahahaha! when the “horse muscle” degraded, I wonder what will be its market value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • “Horse Muscle”, i.e. battery life in new EVs now can outlast the car itself. Try to read more and understand about new technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
      • DonkeyKong on Nov 06, 2024 at 9:53 pm

You should read less product brochures and see more real life case studies

• Anonimos on Nov 07, 2024 at 10:08 am

That’s….worse. It’s still lithium-ion based battery, which is highly flammable and can’t be restored for future use since degrading battery life is highly flammable and thus is highly hazardous.

A used car shell can still be usable by putting a new engine in it.
        A used, old engine can extend its life after a thorough rebuild.
        A lithium-ion battery can’t be safely reused, and disposing of it requires a special facility.

• Merc1974 on Nov 07, 2024 at 4:16 pm

Lithium-ion IS unsafe. Which is why BYD and GEELY have been using LFP (lithium ferum phosphate) and also NMC (Nickel Manganese Cobalt). And whwn the battery is nearing it’s shelf life, change the battery.

• Then you answer my questions.

1) An new EV is RM250k. A person sell you RM100k for 5yrs EV, will you buy?
        2) We must maintain battery level between 20-85% to preserve the battery, which mean the range even shorter, can you accept?
        3) Even you follow (2), the range will be reduced years by years, which mean range even shorter (2), can you accept?
        4) Can you wait patiently behind others for you to charge outside? (assume you do not mind to pay high price for charging)
        5) Do you worry the potential of EV caught fire?
        6) Do you dare to accelerate all the way on NSHW like other ICE cars?
        7) Can you accept the second hand value is even much lower than none popular brands of ICE cars?
        8) Do you worry if you buy an EV now but government does not keep their promise as they always do, to increase the charging station?
        9) Do you worry that after the petrol subsidiary, government will target on the electricity charge?
        10) Do you scare the intense competition of EV will further lower down the car price once you owned it?

• MAGA make america greed again on Nov 06, 2024 at 11:07 pm

Poor kid
      your brain needs essential vitamins

• Azgarffield on Nov 06, 2024 at 4:12 pm

“Early examples of electric vehicles which were priced between 500,000 yuan and 600,000 yuan could now be purchased from 30,000 yuan”

What was the EV priced 600,000 yuan and when was it first sold?

That’s 5% from it’s original value. Pakai buang already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • To clarify, this was to state that the cost of EVs has been reduced considerably since 2019/2020. They are parity with ICE

• fudgemesideways on Nov 07, 2024 at 8:38 am

He meant from a Lada to a Arabian race horse.

• Bob Mal on Nov 06, 2024 at 4:25 pm

“It’s like buying a car and then going back to a horse – then go on and talk about the electricity vs petrol price in China.

However that is a bad comparison considering horse is free of fuel and electricity while the source of food is grass etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Equestrian Club Janitor on Nov 06, 2024 at 5:27 pm

KEK opined from a person never owns a horse. Horse is living animal also needs a barn, a vet, and plenty of edible water.

• Most first impressions when driving EV would be the instantaneous feel of acceleration. For me, the lack of NVH from the engine and the resulting comfort is the most profound impression about driving an EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • SCion on Nov 06, 2024 at 4:36 pm

We are not china and petrol here is half the price. maybe to china people is like going back to horse. but not us malaysian… Our horse work better than car :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Rich of them to say when all of these are pakai buang lol

• Electric City on Nov 06, 2024 at 5:35 pm

The market in China is not “53% electric vehicles”, or at least the implied definition of full electric (Battery Electric Vehicle – BEV). Maybe he meant “electrified”? But the article was referencing and had the context of full electric BEV. That number probably includes Plug-in hybrids (PHEV). Facts, please..!

• Electric City on Nov 06, 2024 at 5:36 pm

The market in China is not “53% electric vehicles”, or at least the implied definition of full electric (Battery Electric Vehicle – BEV). Maybe he meant “electrified”? But the article was referencing and had the context of full electric BEV. That number probably includes Plug-in hybrids (PHEV). Facts, please..!

• MAGA makes america greedy again on Nov 06, 2024 at 11:09 pm

Same comment twice must be having dementia and Alzheimer’s. Taken your medication yet?

• Wee Ken Fatt & Soh Ken Wee on Nov 06, 2024 at 7:12 pm

Fake news from Guli. Can con there la but we smarter here.

• suomynona on Nov 06, 2024 at 7:33 pm

Sure. Spare some cash when it breaks.

• EV Car Mafia on Nov 06, 2024 at 7:54 pm

Whats next bulls? lol.. moving to horses !!!

• DonkeyKong on Nov 06, 2024 at 9:52 pm

And once your EV can’t find a charger, you’ll have to revert from EV driver to Kenyan marathon runner.

This fella has the mindset of a Temu scam seller

• we not stupid kampung boy just listen and follow u blah blah blah, only hybrid worth the purchase now if fuel price free float

• Camlow 1.6 Eat Value EV rojak rosak resale R3 on Nov 07, 2024 at 3:23 am

After you switch to EV, you Might burn alive and become horse meat LoL

• voDevil on Nov 07, 2024 at 11:49 am

won’t go back to ICE?

well… that doesn’t seem to be the case for EU and US market. Not entirely back to ICE la, but many are reverting back to PHEV in those two markets

• Najiv on Nov 07, 2024 at 4:29 pm

We prefer horse cause we are animal lovers…justice for *kopi*

• TempeKeras on Nov 08, 2024 at 10:42 pm

Otak topu..