No double standards in parking enforcement, SOP prohibits clamping of vehicles with occupants – DBKL

Following the circulation of a social media post where a motorist questioned the Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) for its consistency of enforcing vehicle clamping for parking offences, DBKL has issued a response on its Facebook page.

The clamping of the vehicle – a Perodua Bezza – was carried out in accordance to the council’s standard operating procedure (SOP), and there is no preferential treatment involved, said DBKL. The council stated that 13 vehicles were clamped on the day of the operation, including the Bezza depicted in the social media post.

It is the council’s SOP that prohibits the clamping of vehicles which are occupied by their drivers, and in the case of other vehicles which were also shown as parked on the roadside, not within a designated parking space, its personnel have instructed the driver to remove their vehicle from the location, DBKL stated.

“The action was conducted fairly and transparently. The clamping of the Perodua Bezza, which was filmed by the vehicle owner, took place at 1:09pm, with the clamp being removed at 1:30pm. Our officers had instructed drivers present in their vehicles to move them from the area,” the council wrote in its statement.

According to DBKL, it remains committed to ensuring justice and consistency in its enforcement actions, and it emphasised that all measures are carried out impartially and without bias. “The enforcement efforts are aimed at maintaining the safety, comfort, and order of the city for all residents,” DBKL said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hot take on Nov 15, 2024 at 8:01 pm

The Bezza is parked at a place that makes driving through so difficult. The RR is not blocking anyone. Yes they are still illegally parked but they are not causing disruption like the Bezza is. If anyone has driven through Jalan Telawi, they would know this turn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Nah, its easier to gain sympathy by claiming its a classist move by DBKL and maybe got a few donations rolling in.

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 18, 2024 at 4:31 pm

U clamp the Alphard
        U gotta nego$ with driver
        U clamp the RR
        U gotta nego$ with elite/Dato
        U clamp the Bezza
        U will get easy-bonus from nobody

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 16, 2024 at 2:48 pm

Simply cuz Madani is gomen for Mahakaya and they are anti-B40. They wayang to tax the rich is only for the rich to punish the poor B40s with inflation & higher prices. The rich will still be rich while the poor gets poorer under continued Madani rule.

• Johnny on Nov 15, 2024 at 8:08 pm

If there’s occupants, DBKL.should ask the person to move on and not wait there blocking part of the road…..

• Triple standards on Nov 16, 2024 at 2:10 pm

By the way,why cant DBKL saman all cars with or without occupants? In the first place all are not supposed to park there,right? So if enforcement is not there,u mean it is still ok to obstruct traffic? What a load of crap and bullshit is this?
      What if there are 10 drivers inside their cars,but causing traffic snarls at choke points? So..dont clamp,but saman them kaokao.

• Panjang on Nov 15, 2024 at 8:31 pm

Ha diorg dah jawab…nak viralkan apa lg?

• All we do is complain. This not fair that not fair. Dua darjat. You rich your fault I poor also your fault. That’s why forever stuck in a rut and reliant on gomen handouts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • ROTI CANAI on Nov 15, 2024 at 9:32 pm

bezza also wrong. but i agree… too many of these rich people with drivers simply stop their cars anywhere they like…hello lhdn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • The Bezza was parked with no occupant inside at a site that can obstruct flow of traffic while the RR was illegally park…er, waiting with occupant inside at the less busy part of the road. This simple observation escaped you and you need lhdn to point it to you, is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Ollie on Nov 16, 2024 at 9:14 am

Obviously double standard. No proof the range Rover had anyone inside. I drive a Merc and i easily see the difference in treatment vs my previous Nissan and Kia

• ThePolygon on Nov 16, 2024 at 9:55 am

Two wrongs will not make it right. Follow the rules.

• Standing on officer point of view, may be takut scratch RR rim that will coz one brand new Bezza, haha.

• Susukotak on Nov 16, 2024 at 8:12 pm

Dah tahu mcm2 park elok² arau nauk bas/mrt/lrt

• Hahahahah on Nov 17, 2024 at 11:06 am

Malaysia is a feudal society.. rich will be treated leniently while the full brunt of the law will be brought to those plebeians. Compare the shoplifter who is given a heavy sentence vs Najib who is treated lightly. Look at the ppl commenting here who defend the luxury car driver. Antara Dua darjat term is REAL.

• Malaysia negara demokrasi on Nov 18, 2024 at 9:05 am

Confirmed org cina yg complain ni. Hahahaha.. setahu aku org cina kalau kena batang hidung dia, memekak tak sudah…

• Laugh on Nov 18, 2024 at 4:52 pm

I did the same things before.

There was a Merc with a Dato sign at number plates parking illegally along with a few other cars beside it.
    I saw parking saman at each of the vehicle windscreen except for the one with the Dato’ sign.

I asked the enforcer who was walking away why that car no saman.
    He just ignored me and ride off on his motorcycle.

No lie, true event.