Child crossing road run over by pick-up truck

Warning: graphic content – anyone with the faint of heart should not watch this. Last Wednesday, a child running across the road at Kampung Lormalong in Sabah was unfortunately hit and run over by a pick-up truck’s front-left and rear-left wheels. The footage was captured by the rear dashcam of another pick-up truck going the other way.

Miraculously, the five-year old only sustained minor injuries to her leg and is recovering in hospital, according to the admin of the village’s Facebook page. The driver who hit the child also explained the incident on Facebook, saying that her view was obstructed by the blind spot (created by the other pick-up truck going the other way) and that she was not going fast.

Indeed, from the video it can be seen that the child ran across the road immediately behind the passing pick-up truck (the dashcam vehicle). Pick-up trucks are big and children are small. The resultant big blind spot would’ve made it immensely difficult to brake in time.

This serves as a stark reminder to parents (myself included) to watch our kids closely and prevent them from playing anywhere near roads with traffic, and when they are old enough, teach them to look out thoroughly for traffic before crossing any road.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• If fast then kid won’t be around anymore. Rather than wasting time, get the pick up driver send the kid with guardian to hospital better

• If the father's pull out game is weak on Nov 23, 2024 at 4:26 am

A condom would have prevented this incident

• Civilising Savages on Nov 19, 2024 at 8:54 pm

Banned all motorised vehicles inside jungle settlement avoid accidently mowed down running jaywalker. No more problems of getting beaten by tribal settlers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Lets See on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:10 am

In First World, drivers gets condemn for knocking down pedestrian.
      In 3rd World, pedestrian gets condemn for being knock down by car.
      This is why we will never become First World.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
      • Jakeem on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:57 pm

Show me an isley first world country and I’ll show you a pig that can fly

• Facts on Nov 19, 2024 at 10:15 pm

Imagine it was a different race driver. Confirmed ripped to shreds. Barbarians.

• Fiction on Nov 21, 2024 at 9:59 pm

Most of them are descendents of sea gypsies and pirates from Philippines anyway

• It's a norm among these types on Nov 20, 2024 at 3:39 am

No biggie. Easily replaceable. Parents just have to get right back to bed to make a new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Bund sung Lee on Nov 20, 2024 at 7:34 am

This happened when parents r not educated ,every year new baby r babies add up, extreme poverty ,and lists is never ending,,

• Menteri sumber manusia on Nov 21, 2024 at 10:03 pm

If they don’t procreate then who gonna join police and army?

• Khalifah Utara on Nov 20, 2024 at 8:16 am

normal in B40 areas. If hit someone, best not to get off your car. Just go report at Balai Polis. Getting off has very high risk of getting beaten eventhough you are innocent. B40 people cannot be reasoned with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Punish and enslave on Nov 21, 2024 at 10:06 pm

That’s why they shouldn’t be treated as humans. Dogs deserve better respect.

• Ben Yap on Nov 20, 2024 at 8:25 am

B40 only know how to multiply but don’t know how to be responsible.

• Darwin's theory on Nov 20, 2024 at 3:01 pm

Even stray dogs and cats take care of their young. These ppl are worst than binatang liar

• Thank God that she is safe

• Suburuk on Nov 20, 2024 at 9:08 am

The RULE OF THUMB is… DRIVE SLOW on KAMPUNG/residential ROAD! Today you can ACCUSE other mak bapaks. Tomorrow you never know your toddlers might do the same! Unless you can tie your child 24/7 to you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • haters gonna hate on Nov 20, 2024 at 11:56 pm

tell that to Sam Ke Ting. driving slowly on dark high way then suddenly a group of bicycles emerged at 3am without warning

• Pawang Semang on Nov 22, 2024 at 11:56 pm

Easy prey for tiger leopard. Better caged your child safely.

• bersyukur? on Nov 20, 2024 at 10:44 am

why the gila samseng type M in the kampung rush to open the driver door want to pull him out? kanina… your kid you no see properly run like this.. driver problem? Type M type M

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • i hope the truck driver does not develop a trauma, poor thing

• Malayan on Nov 20, 2024 at 3:07 pm

If gomen removed diesel subsidy in Sabah this wouldn’t happened

• Kukubird Flying on Nov 20, 2024 at 10:38 pm

Pick up trash trucks should be banned.