JPJ seeks to forfeit illegally operated private taxis

Illegal private taxi operators may lose their vehicles for repeated offences as the road transport department (JPJ) is in discussion with the attorney-general’s chambers to seek the forfeiture of repeat offenders’ vehicles, reported New Straits Times.

Discussions with the AGC have been ongoing for the past three months, said JPJ director-general of planning and operations Datuk Jazmanie Shafawi. The department wants to put a stop to repeat offenders as fines did not pose an issue to illegal private taxi operators as they can earn between RM10,000 to RM30,000 a month, he said.

“When they are issued fines, they just settle them and continue. The fines are not working, so we are looking at a more drastic approach that will hit them where it hurt,” Jazmanie told reporters following Op Ulat against illegal private taxi operators at KLIA Terminal 1 yesterday. “We have proposed the forfeiture of vehicles used by prebet sapu operators to the AGC. We are hoping for a favourable decision on this,” Jazemanie said.

Jazmanie said that investigations by the JPJ found that a driver charged RM100 for a trip from KLIA to a hotel in Kota Warisan, Sepang, while others charged more than RM300 from the airport to Kuala Lumpur, according to the report.

Op Ulat began on November 25, and the department detained 15 drivers and seized 15 vehicles including luxury sedans, MPVs and vans, while those detained were 11 Malaysians and four foreign nationals, the NST report wrote.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Just legalise & regulate it! on Dec 05, 2024 at 11:16 pm

i dont understand y they cant legalise &simplify the procedure to do private airport tfr? If they do, govrn also earn more bcoz of incometax from this sector. Y only company can do? Company earn millions can, but individual earn 10-30k/mth can not?? Why they charge rm100-300 per trip can not? but hotel room / airline charge $$$$ can? ?? Y the discrimination ? if this individual earn good cash, they also spend to improve the economy. If there r demand, y they cant provide the service? Wat the problem actually compare to those unproductive yet danger to others like rempit or foreigner driving without license , roadtax & insurance ? Get the priority right plz!!
    p.s. Im not in this field but just cant understand y ppl want to earn money using their own vehicle also so difficult.

• Happy@Travel on Dec 07, 2024 at 12:35 am

For me, i rather use the service of my regular private transport than randomly assigned by the ehailing company. And i happy for the driver to earn all instead of 20% comm to the company for doing nothing.

• Ben Yap on Dec 06, 2024 at 8:57 am

why when comes to Mat rempit, JPJ don’t want to forfeit their bikes?

• Lemony on Dec 06, 2024 at 3:12 pm

You are absolutely right . Kena tangkap at most just push bike then a bit of lecture and they are good to go .

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Dec 10, 2024 at 7:38 am

rempit no value…don make rm10,000 – RM30,000 a month…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 06, 2024 at 9:53 am

What makes it different from GRAB? Oh wait bcoz GRAB has to pay mafia level extortion fees to this useless PH Gomen

• Singapore – Johor, many of such illegal cases using Starex, Staria, and older Vellfires and Alphards. They behave like hooligans and jump queues as they wish. These should be eradicated otherwise why should licensed operators pay so much extra for insurances and other licensing to keep passengers safe.