The ministry of transport is studying a proposal for the setting up of a multi-storey driver training centre to tackle the issue of backlogged driving lesson applications in Kuala Lumpur, reported Bernama.
Thorough study is required to assess the feasibility of incorporating essential driving training elements such as safe stopping, hill climbing and descending, as well as other required components of the programme within a multi-storey structure, said deputy transport minister Datuk Hasbi Habibollah.
“The proposal, complete with designs and a multi-storey structure concept, has been submitted to us. However, we are still in the process of evaluating the suitability of the location and the potential impact on the effectiveness of this project,” Hasbi said.
This was in reply to Datuk Salehuddin Saidin who asked if the government would consider applications from driving institutes to operate in smaller areas or multi-storey buildings for training purposes.
The study would also examine the proposal’s compliance with safety standards and its effectiveness in producing competent drivers, the deputy transport minister added.
Meanwhile, the government may consider providing incentives to driving institutes facing operational challenges such as increased costs. “We will discuss this with the relevant authorities, particularly the ministry of finance, to consider such incentives,” the deputy transport minister said.
Another effort of making something insignificant, significant. There are many other issues that need fixing like traffic jam, misusing of escort, potholes and overweight & dangerous heavy vehicles…buat-buat tak nampak.
Mana yg masyuk jer dia buat. Buat multi storey pastu paksa sekolah memandu sewa. Owner bangunan tu geng sendiri
Projects berlobang are more important
Multi storey? Even licensed drivers can drive off multi storey parking and land on their head. We gonna allow our 17 year olds turn into bombs dropping from the sky? This habibola should be be sacked and have his balls checked
OMG this idea is so dumb. During my drive test almost 30 years ago, I saw an auntie who failed her test because when going up the ramp, instead of balancing the clutch she accidentally floored the throttle and launched the car over the ramp and it landed hard on the decline, fortunately it didn’t turn turtle.
We have so many cases to date of people accidentally engaging drive instead of reverse and vice versa when trying to exit their parking box, resulting in them crashing through the car park’s upper storey’s barrier and crashing to the ground below.
What could possibly go wrong with letting learner drivers who are prone to making mistakes drive around an upper level of a multi-storey carpark-like structure that includes obstacles, I wonder?
Hope they reinforce those walls…
since when was this an issue
Ada projek baru ada duit masuk poket mah…Never mind whether needed or not because if no money, they will just increase the tax on the people!!!!
Bet there is some kajian teliti that is going to be done at some ridiculous cost to the taxpayer…this is why we can’t have nice things…we have absolute numbskulls making decisions.
PH knows its a one term gov…so give projects to their cronies as much as possible so that got life time income on top of their pensions…like mahatahi…
now daim gone… he stole billion yet his wife will get RM30-40k pension a month!!