A total of 825 lorries were involved in fatal crashes, which resulted in 5,364 deaths in the first 10 months of the year, reported New Straits Times.
Accidents involving lorries were part of a total of 17,905 vehicles reported to be involved in fatal incidents from January to October this year, federal traffic enforcement and investigation department (JSPT) director Datuk Seri Mohd Yusri Hassan Basri said.
“Of this total, 15,402 were cars, followed by motorcycles (1,040), [four-wheel-drive](619), and pedestrians (19),” Yusri said. Traffic police also issued 38,367 traffic summonses to commercial vehicles for various offences between January and September, through 4,822 operations held nationwide.
“We have also seized 177 different types of commercial vehicles and we are increasingly concerned about the rise in accidents involving heavy vehicles,” Yusri said. Major offences detected were of lorries carrying unsecured and hazardous loads, absence of warning triangles, malfunctioning turn signals, and malfunctioning brakes.
Light trucks, trailers, and container lorries are the leading contributors to accidents involving commercial vehicles, the federal JSPT director said, and urged drivers of heavy vehicles which have broken down to display adequate visual warnings to alert other motorists.
Yusri also urged commercial vehicle operators and employers of drivers to conduct thorough screenings in order to ensure their drivers’ health, preparedness and skills.
We now know the issue. Whats the solution?
Minum kopi too much and thats the problem
No need to bribe. Those commercial vehicles before going for inspection will visit there fav workshop to rent and fix new spare parts and tyres. After passing inspection go back to workshop swap to original worn parts and reconditioned tyres.
Fire Loke. He is the issue here
I may sound like a broken record but the fact that heavy vehicles have been contributed to many fatal accidents can’t be ignored. Puspakom and JPJ has a role to play to ensure road safety.
…I used to see the lorry in sepang area …sometimes u guys test the cars in Serdang right …have u seen them …omg they speed the lorry 150kmh ? where is enforcement ? …..sad people losing life just a sec ….whos supposed to be blame? PUBLIC hmmm
Can spot alot of fast&furious heavy vehicle drivers on NKVE.
MOFO think they are Dom in the movie.
Ban tyre rethreading now
Rethreaded tyres burst on the highway leaving pieces of metal and rubber all over the road. People are dying because of it. The government needs to ban tyre rethreading.
Government should consider to open the driver vacancy to foreigner just like how the SG did hiring people from China to drive the truck and bus. It is extremely hard to all companies in Malaysia to hire driver. Some of you thought driver salary low but the fact is truck container can earn up to 7k a month if working hard or at least 4-5k for short haul. For normal small truck driver to deliver vege, frozen food etc the min salary is already 2.5k.
Many of these drivers involve in accident many of them are taking drug to keep them spirit. The company incentivize the driver to drives more trips so that the driver can get more income meanwhile the company maintain normal operation. Why companies do this because it is hard to hire additional driver. The local people is just too picky of work nowadays, it is not about the salary only.
I hope the gov can allocate maybe 20-30% quotation to allow the private companies to hire foreign workers to drive. Foreign worker most likely obey to rule and more hard working because their purpose to come here is earning more money.
The companies clearly know their driver overspeed because most trucks equipped with GPS, but what can they do? Most companies keep an eye close. If they take discipline action to the driver then the driver quit. Do you guys know it is EXTREMELY hard to find the local people work as truck and bus drivers despite offering good income. One of the solution, import Nepal or Bangladesh and allow them take driver license and drive the truck. This will solve the manpower supply issue. If local people don’t want to work then keep them poor.
it is a situation between a rock and a hard place, you need to control the foreigners and prevent illegal foreigners hiring issues and our government is not efficient at all. the menteri talk a lot about controlling but the fact is you can see so many of them walking down the street any day of the week and a whole flock of them in malls, some of the places you go you will get a feeling like you are in their country and not the other way around. it is scary in the long term, our country will be overrun by them, given like you mentioned, how lazy and incompetent our workers are..
what do u mean by good income ? 3k is good? or 5k is good ? how many hours per day work to achieve tht? how about open up all white colar jobs, semi and high skill jobs to all foreigners with ease? When u comment above, do u see the problem arise if all jobs taken by foreigners?
1. huge amount of Money outflow
2. social problems increase such as crime
3. local biz affected as low spending by local
4. Govn revenue affected due to tax income decrease, etc, etc.
Bosses only think abt own profit by finding many ways to reduce cost. pressuring and exploiting workers with so called “Incentivise” policy with low monthly fix wage, so workers hv to work more hrs to get a reasonable wage. They dont care abt workers welfare, emotional and mental health..all they care abt Profit! If those bosses cant work more than 10hrs perday regularly , y they can expect others can?
Blame local lazy, picky on jobs? Hello, if tht so, y msian migrate to Aus, Sg, Dubai, etc to do low skill jobs? The issue is WAGE! How about u advertise the jobs with high min wage, ie 4-5k, see got ppl apply or not.
Always compare to bangla, myanmar, etc for their hardwork but nvr compare to western country where most workers work less than 9hrs perday. Sometime i wonder whether we want to achieve developed country mentality or the opposite!
as a person from the industry, there are multiple reasons for the decline of safety standards – stagnating revenue, the rates are the same as the last decade or so, so players do not have the resources to invest in new equipments. 2 – the manufacturer demand for trucker to load exceeding the normal allowable cargo weight limit – 40 tonnes cargo load per truck is normal from their viewpoint. these towkays just want lower cost per ton. 3. higher cost of newer truck – prime mover cost has increase from 250k to 500k + in a decade (volvo). rate has not increase- how to invest?.lack of competent personnel as driver – sometime it takes 2/3 months just to get a driver. the quality has gone downhill as well. not many are happy to be a driver nowadays. 4 lack of enforcement – authority sometimes penalized the driver but not the owner or manufacturer/forwarder who force the driver to load unsafe amount of load
Just only found this out ah