Six Puspakom staff who are suspected to be involved in a syndicate to approve inspection of heavy vehicles have been suspended. CEO Mahmood Razak Bahman said the company takes the case seriously and will not compromise on any wrongdoing, especially those involving the integrity of vehicle inspection operations.
“As I have stressed repeatedly, Puspakom will never compromise on corruption. If there’s any evidence on the offence, we will not hesitate to take strong action towards any staff involved. It includes those who work with syndicates to approve vehicle inspections illegally,” he said, reported by Bernama.
Mahmood also said that Puspakom is conducting internal investigations and guarantees that anyone who is involved in the crime will be handed over to the authorities for appropriate action. “We will not protect anyone who’s involved in corruption,” he stressed.
This week, MACC chief Tan Sri Azam Baki confirmed that the anti-corruption agency detained eight individuals including six Puspakom inspectors allegedly involved in a syndicate to approve vehicle inspection. The Puspakom employees have been released on MACC bail after their statements were taken. The other two, who are runners appointed by the Puspakom staff, have been remanded for five days until Saturday.
Separately, JPJ and the ministry of domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) will be meeting next week to discuss the activities of ‘cosmetic agents’ at Puspakom vehicle inspection centres. These agents have been said to offer rental tyres to owners of commercial vehicles just so that the vehicles can pass Puspakom inspections.
The spotlight is once again on the roadworthiness of lorries after a multiple-vehicle incident on the PLUS in Melaka claimed seven lives last month. The accident started from a tyre that had detached from a lorry trailer.
This enforcement action here is opening a can of worms within Puspakom. I highly suspect that this is just the tip of the iceberg.
What about Loke? Kenapa tak tangkap dia for not doing his job? His role is not just to sell number plates!
#BilaNakTangkapLoke
only 6?
As usual is this a show to protect the big fish.
The biggest fish is sitting comfortably in Ministry of Transport office!
go fuck yourself
#BilaNakTangkapLoke
Why wait for MACC to arrest them, then you only take action? Their supervisor all sleeping ke? I believe there are many honest and reputable companies who comply, but Puspakom ask to do a retest, and at times ask to make changes even when the vehicle is in its original condition. Even you don’t have standards, and you’re being hypocrite by saying wrong does will be taken action. You guys don’t do audit? Who regulates puspakom?
Since 1981 is regulation a thing in Malaysia?
https://www.puspakom.com.my/corporate-governance-whistle-blower-policies/
Sembang kencang
#BilaNakTangkapLoke
Hanya gantung..!! Baik buang terus.. Nanti masuk b’tugas balik buat hal yg sama.. Dah jadi taik dalam diri…