Perodua sold a record 358,102 units in 2024, an all-time high for the market leader, surpassing the previous benchmark of 330,325 units, recorded just in 2023. P2’s sales performance, which has seen year after year of records, has been a big boon to local auto parts suppliers and dealers.
According to Perodua Suppliers Association (P2SA) and Perodua Dealers’ Association (PDA), they are in a stronger position thanks to Rawang’s historic performance in 2024.
“From our estimate, Perodua has purchased over tens of billions of ringgit worth of automotive components from our members over the past couple of years, which is the highest purchase ever made in our history. These purchases played an important part in enabling P2SA members to reinvest and expand our operations, improving economies of scale and increase our competitive advantage – especially when cost is escalating due to external factors,” said P2SA president Musa Zahidin Tan Sri Ahmad Zaidee.
The carmaker has an ‘open communications approach’ with P2SA, which the association is happy with. “The support offered to every P2SA member have ensured that we were able to cope with the highest ever volume such as ensuring prompt payment, clear direction and open discussions on any changes allowed us to perform above what we believe we could,” Musa added.
He said that P2SA members have also taken the initiative to reinvest in their operations. “An example of this is Ingress AOI Technologies’ Automated Storage and Retrieval System – a computer-controlled system that is able to identify, sort and move items productively around in high storage space with minimal human and equipment support. It has improved Ingress AOI Technologies’ space efficiency by 71%,” Musa said, adding that some vendors are making inroads in ASEAN, while some are now supplying Japanese OEMs.
The dealerships are obviously happy. “The amount of coordination and logistics on Perodua’s side to realise this number was indeed impressive. We wish to thank Perodua, and especially Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad’s (Perodua’s president and CEO) leadership in taking us to greater heights,” said PDA president Cik Rabitah Dato’ Shamshudin.
“Aside from efficiency and professionalism, Perodua has now and again, offered tangible support to dealers on how to improve our operations, such as how to implement mono-operation, offer support and encouragement to upgrade to a 3S operations, which is paying off for many of our members,” she added.
Mono-operation refers to integrated sales, service and spare parts operations which offers a seamless motoring experience to customers. Rabitah added that Perodua has also been working on incorporating and welcoming a new generation of dealers as they prepare to take over from their parents.
“Perodua is here for the long-run and has treated us fairly over the past 30 years that we have been partners. As we move forward, our members will continue to play our part in delivering the Perodua experience,” she said.
Indirectly slapping another car manufacturer that slowly changing their supplier from local to China.
Are you saying Indon part suppliers are LOCAL?! Since when we dijajah by Indon!
Record breaking because more
is falling under poverty line
This is P2 not Porsche
Not something to proud of
You will be surprised how many rich people actually buy perodua especially the axia just to use it as daily drive. So pls shut your mouth
Define your level of “rich”
Using P2 as daily driver in
the universe% of 358K sales
This is how it supposed to be, good car sales and suppliers admit good business.
Not like some people declaring good car sales but their suppliers tell a different story and struggling.
P1 vendors refuse to lower prices by 30%,so when cant compete,they blame Dr Li…shedding croc tears,saying Protong not kesian them.
How come Perodua do not have these issues?
So the truth is out,at the rate P1 is losing market share,it wont be a SURPRISE one day Geely Dr Li Shu Fu,will pull out and go full scale to Thailand.
So,DRB being a divorcee has to go back to the Jurassic Campro engine.
You genius analysis forget one important issue.
DRB-Proton-Geely don’t need to sell a lot of cars to be profitable. Contract manufacturing vital components for the Geely group of cars and its associates (oh by the way you do realise Waymo uses Geely cars right) is going to make a lot of future financial sense rather than selling cars to our local market.
Comparing Proton to Perodua in terms of car sales is a pointless exercise. You need to look at the bigger picture of profitability.
When the cheapest cars are getting more in liew of more expensive car brands, it means people are getting poorer. There is something seriously wrong with this country not seen in the past 60 years.
The top 3 models that P2 sold, P1 have it’s equal model sold at cheaper price and bigger size.
how come proton supporting more China’s vendors?
Didn’t meet Proton’s quality standards, how come those vendors not stepping up?
and the customers are the losers…