Mitsubishi ‘Drive your Ambition’ brand festival in Miri, Sarawak – Triton 4×4 experiential event, Jan 18-19

The Mitsubishi ‘Drive your Ambition’ brand festival is coming to Miri, Sarawak. The 4×4 experiential event, which will take place at ParkCity Eastwood, is happening this weekend (January 18-19) from 10am to 6pm.

The star of the show is the new Mitsubishi Triton, which will show off its off-road capabilities and handling through a series of test-drive courses, which includes the side traverse, water wading, hill climb, gravel pit, mud pit and articulation crawler obstacles. Be warned, this is not your typical showroom test drive!

The Triton is equipped with MMC’s Super Select 4WD-II system, which offers four options: 2H (rear-wheel drive), 4H (full-time four-wheel drive), 4HLc (locked centre differential) and 4LLc (locked centre differential with low-range gears). The system works in tandem with seven drive modes, which now includes on-road modes (was four off-road modes in the previous model).

The third-generation Triton is available in Single Cab form for the first time in Malaysia and the workhorse will be in action too – you can test drive the truck with it’s bed loaded with one tonne of palm oil while conquering obstacles such as water wading, hill climbs and gravel pits – test drives don’t get more realistic than this.

Of course there are deals. Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia is offering ‘Diesel Rewards’ and two years of free maintenance, and if you book a Triton at the event, you’ll be taking home a Naturehike cooler box worth RM150. Test drive the truck and complete the course for goodies such as a Naturehike camping stool and a Triton tote bag. There are fun activities for the whole family and local artistes Dabra Sia and Azam Pitt will be performing.

Launched in October 2024, the more macho-looking and larger-bodied new Triton is powered by new ‘Hyperpower’ 2.4L turbodiesels, and the top Athlete variant pumps out 204 PS and 470 Nm, which is 20 PS/40 Nm more than the previous-generation range-topper. Full details in our launch report.

GALLERY: 2025 Mitsubishi Triton Athlete

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• WhatIsWrong on Jan 13, 2025 at 9:12 pm

Miri is a city full with all of the latest pickups. Hilux GRS, Ranger Raptor V6, Navara Pro 4X you name it, you can see it roaming streets of Miri. You can even see the rare JMC Vigus Pro around here. Still haven’t seen even one new Triton on the road though.