Toll-free travel during festive seasons could return, pending cabinet’s decision today, says Ahmad Maslan

Deputy works minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan has said the decision to end highway toll exemptions during festive seasons is not final and may still be revised, The Star reports.

“Can this decision change? Yes, it can. We will find out tomorrow (Friday). Whether it stays or changes, the cabinet has the authority to review its decisions,” Ahmad said during a working visit to the Selangor public works department yesterday.

“Let us wait until tomorrow. If there is a new decision, the works minister will issue an announcement, as tomorrow is the last day to finalise the decision in conjunction with the upcoming Chinese New Year,” he added.

Earlier this week, it was revealed by works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi that there would be no more toll-free travel for festive seasons beginning this year, with a targeted approach to be used instead.

Ahmad also said a single day of free tolls costs between RM19 million and RM20 million in subsidies to compensate highway concessionaires. “Annually, we provide toll-free days eight times, equivalent to eight days of free tolls across four festive seasons. What was announced by the minister reflects the cabinet’s decision last year,” he explained.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Be more practical on Jan 24, 2025 at 11:08 am

Put maximum effort into catching the corrupt, confiscating their illegal wealth, and channeling it into the national coffers to improve the quality of life for all Malaysians. This is far more practical than offering free tolls during festive seasons, which doesn’t benefit everyone equally.

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 24, 2025 at 2:35 pm

Congratulations! CNY folks
      – free toll … cut
      – fuel subsidy … cut
      – corrupt leaders … lepas

Now… U know who to vote next

• Frankc on Jan 24, 2025 at 11:21 am

Don’t waste public fund for unnecessary expenses!!!. Reallocate it for rakyat welfare effort!!!

• PH janji abolish toll mana? on Jan 24, 2025 at 11:27 am

As above and not just during festivals but everyday!
    PH Gomen continue to troll millions of Msians!

• Want to give, then give. Don’t want to give, then don’t give. Don’t pull the B40, M40 stunt. No one owe you anything.

• Ben Yap on Jan 24, 2025 at 11:44 am

most likely the discussion will go this way…
    PMX: if no more toll-free travel for festive seasons, how many votes will i lost?
    Works Ministry: about 30%, tuan?
    PMX: So we just give la… i already kena hentam on petrol subsidy, increase tax, increase cost of living, jalan2 cuti-kerja luar negara, Najib reduced sentence and helping Gaza.
    Works Ministry: baik, tuan. ini boleh increase sikit popularity tuan yang dah turun.

• Sureshk on Jan 24, 2025 at 12:26 pm

Agree, at least give discount if not free. After all, it is Rakyat’s money.

• Telor on Jan 24, 2025 at 3:43 pm

Although I disagree with giving of subsidy but when you think hard about it let say if subsidy is removed where do think the money will go to ? Someone pocket ?