United States president Donald Trump recently said he intends to impose a tariff of around 25% on imported cars, Reuters reports. Similar duties are also planned for semiconductors and pharmaceutical imports as the threat of a global trade war looms larger.
The levies on imported cars could come as soon as April 2 this year, which is a day after members of Trump’s cabinet are due to deliver reports to him outlining options for a range of reciprocal tariffs to remedy what he deems to be “unfair treatment” of US exports in foreign markets.
As stated in a presidential memo last week, the president called out the European Union (EU) that imposes a 10% tariff on imported cars compared to the US that only charges 2.5%. However, the Chicken Tax, which is a 25% tariff on light trucks imported to the US, wasn’t mentioned in the memo.
According to the report, EU trade commissioner Maros Sefcovic is set to meet with US counterparts to discuss the various tariffs planned. When asked whether the EU could avoid reciprocal tariffs, Trump said that the EU had already indicated it would lower its tariffs on US cars, although EU lawmakers have denied doing so. Trump added that he would press EU officials to increase US imports of cars and other products.
Trump and his half-arsed policies. Chest thumping in front of his trumpets but groveling behind the scenes. Not sure why would anyone still believe he is going to make America great again…after going through his failure of a 1st term.
Only 25% ???
Kalah sama pm4:- (1)30% import tax, 65%-105% Excise Duty (3)10% sales tax. Where total up to MAX=145%
Now 40k car aft tax 100k, 80k car aft tax 200k… 35millions population all sohai paying 245% from original car price.
Anwar is the best right?
25% only? Lemah.
Here we charge 75% – 105%.
Is this guy really trying to kill the U.S economy? American automakers barely recognisable in Asia but here he is act like General Motor, Ford and Tesla more superior than chinese brands
That’s the whole reason of the tariff. He got nothing to lose.
Interesting…
EU that imposes a 10% tariff on imported cars compared to the US that only charges 2.5%
In this time where Trump is viewing every others as his enemy, we need a PM that is friendly with him, close enough to be his golfing buddy. And we need a DOGE-like bureaucrat to shake things up with civil service and cut out the crap.
So far the only Msian leader that meets this criteria is PM Najib. Lets fire the current deadwood PM and bring Najib back to Make Malaysia Great Again!
good to hear that, but 25% is too low, don’t forget to slap also 100% excise on vehicles made in ASEAN, this region is full of trade cheats and manipulators
Guess government would say relax la bro we don’t have any cars to export there as if it is a good thing but we allow 100% crony free Tesla the first time ever from the USA.
25% only????? lemah. we go 100%
hahaha…idiotic trump, the 25% will be borne by US consumer just like here in Msia….all those taxes on cars, US consumers will bear it. Hahahaha….they should study the impact on tariff & taxes for cars here in Msia…..thats why our imported cars are expensive. But fair lah to him, msia tariff your car, u can tariff reciprocal to Msia.