China retaliates against reciprocal tariffs announced by Donald Trump with its own 34% tariff on US imports

China wasted no time in responding to the reciprocal tariffs announced by United States president Donald Trump on Wednesday (April 2, 2025). On Friday (April 4), China announced an additional tariff of 34% on goods imported from the US, matching the tariff rate imposed by the US.

However, the true tariff rate that the US is imposing on China is 54% because it stacks on top of the existing 20% announced earlier. According to Bloomberg, China’s average tariff on US goods stood at 17.8%, less than the 32.8% the US charged on Chinese goods

“This practice of the US is not in line with international trade rules, seriously undermines China’s legitimate rights and interests and is a typical unilateral bullying practice,” China’s state council tariff commission said in a statement. The 34% tariff that China is imposing on the US will come into effect beginning April 10.

Additionally, China also added 11 American companies to its “unreliable entity list,” which are now subject to punitive actions. Export controls were also placed on 16 American companies to prohibit the export of Chinese dual-use items (goods which can be used for both civil and military applications). It doesn’t stop there, as China also unveiled export controls on seven types of rare-earth minerals to the US.

China’s retaliation against the latest round of US tariffs is more far-reaching that what it had done previously. Back in February, China responded to Trump’s initial round of tariffs by taxing agricultural machinery, large-displacements cars as well as pick-up trucks. Additionally, certain types of coal and liquefied natural gas (LNG), along crude oil, were also subject to tariffs.

Following China’s tariff retaliation, Trump took to his own social media platform – Truth Social – to say China “played it wrong” and that “they panicked.” He also vowed that his economic policies “will never change,” reports Bloomberg.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Pro-Palestine on Apr 05, 2025 at 9:13 am

Well done China. You are one of the few that dare to retaliate against the US bullying. Weak countries like India,Japan, Australia only dare to wag their tail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Dah Menang Semua on Apr 07, 2025 at 3:53 pm

We will buy more from U
      China ship us cheaper cars
      Subsidize more discount pls

Just buy more of our palm
      Any deficits our Govt will loan
      more to sustain buying from ya

• Lu sure bo on Apr 07, 2025 at 10:16 pm

if they’re really weak, y even bother mentioning them hehe

• this trump will be a very good poker player, no matter what are the combination in his hand, he will call and raise every round

• Make China Greater Again on Apr 07, 2025 at 4:32 pm

IPhone made in China,
      Apple pay corp tax to China
      Ship back IPhone to US,
      make money in USD tax evaded

• Bcos he is not playing with his own money. And he has cult followers among the US Congress that will agree with everything he does

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Apr 05, 2025 at 11:27 am

If tariffs are so bad, why do America’s trading partners have them????

Charlie Kirk

• Renungkan on Apr 07, 2025 at 8:47 pm

Captain, have you ever heard of trade deficit? You cant really blame other countries when Americans prefer cheaper import stuffs more than domestic ones.

• Dah Menang Semua on Apr 05, 2025 at 12:15 pm

Malaysia can help U
    can RE-route here
    We help Alibaba

• Jerson8964 on Apr 05, 2025 at 4:52 pm

American going to sell kidney to buy imported goods KEK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • newme on Apr 07, 2025 at 11:07 am

Why would they need to? Here we have been living with tariff for generations with CBU cars up to 105% and we are just fine.

• Elon Musk on Apr 05, 2025 at 4:56 pm

Within 5 years,USA has 2 recessions..one due to covid..the latest..due to Trump’s tariffs.
    Make America Rotten Again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
  • Machiavelli on Apr 06, 2025 at 8:31 am

They didn’t panic. They have simulated this scenario countless times on their powerful supercomputers (which are likely the fastest in the world but unacknowledged as they have stopped publishing numbers to TOP500 due to US panic the last time they did so). The Chinese generally don’t do panic…like they don’t do hubris, wokeism or rhetoric.

• Ben Yap on Apr 07, 2025 at 5:06 pm

Business opportunity for us Malaysians. We can sell china products here to US citizens on ebay. it might be cheaper to buy from us than from China directly.

• kckfen on Apr 06, 2025 at 9:42 am

So will Tesla get the China Tariff as well in China? Tough luck for Elon Musk

• That is why Elon now “jilat balik ludah sendiri” by focussing on Saudi Arabia.

• Najib on Apr 06, 2025 at 2:32 pm

Make amadica greet agin

• US money printer Kaput on Apr 06, 2025 at 2:37 pm

US cannot print money fast enough

For over 50 years US print money to spend spend spend
    US Dollars is KING

NO Money to repaid Debts
    No Money to paid Gov workers salary

Use Tariff to earn income
    Nothing will Change

Anak BOROS
    Bapa BOROS
    Keluarga BOROS
    Keturunan BOROS
    Negara BOROS

DrumpAss

• Paul Chan on Apr 07, 2025 at 9:33 am

on the surface, it may appear that Trump has made a bad decision. You can read also how some American citizens are angry about his latest tariffs. But look deeper and if you actually see he’s in fact a genius. These has long-term benefits for America.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • i partly agree, but 50 states doing strike in his own country, can he stay long enough to see that day? i wonder..

• No matter how the world still need a strong and stable US in long term.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 39
  • Ben Yap on Apr 07, 2025 at 4:54 pm

I support China where my ancestors came from. We, the chinese will not bow down to US pressure because we control the world economy.