The Malaysian government is considering the use of artificial intelligence (AI)-based road monitoring for the aim of reducing accidents caused by potholes, New Straits Times has reported.
This system would employ smart algorithms to analyse data, predict risk areas and prioritise repairs based on the extent of damage sustained by the roads monitored, said road safety expert Law Teik Hua who submitted the proposal to the government.
“The information collected would be displayed transparently via a central dashboard, with automatic alerts sent to authorities and concession companies, thereby enhancing accountability,” Law said.
“This recurring issue highlights significant flaws in the infrastructure maintenance system and raises important questions about the accountability of concession companies and the effectiveness of government oversight,” Law added, referring to an incident where a motorcyclist lost his life after colliding with a pothole on the Kuantan-Cherok Paloh road in Kuantan, Pahang.
Concession companies responsible for road maintenance should face strict government action if found negligent, including the immediate termination of contracts and appropriate fines, Law said. Integrating AI monitoring with enforcement measures will allow for firm action against companies which fail to meet the required standards, he said.
Meanwhile, companies found to be negligent should be held accountable by providing full compensation to the families of victims, and investigation reports for each fatal incident should be made public to ensure transparency, he added.
“This issue goes beyond just potholes; it concerns the safety and lives of the public. The introduction of an AI-powered monitoring system, coupled with consistent enforcement, is expected to reduce accidents, lower maintenance costs, and, most importantly, provide safer roads for everyone,” Law said.
Monitor what? You can see new real potholes everyday, everywhere. Save the AI and get down to do the real work.
tak payah so much fancy things.
collect the reports from your contractors.
they simply repair, simply patch. the holes re-appear after weeks or sometimes even just few days later. AUDIT THEIR WORK.
Wat a way to tackle people’s money again! and pocket more of our money with this nonsense! we dont really need ai, everyone drive almost every freaking day… and meeting all sort of holes, complaining every single day… and even those ppl from JPJ, JKR, PDRM, Trafik police, every single one sure can identify any where with potholes! U JUST NEED SEND PPL TO EXCECUTE the fix! not AI to check tis and tat … what fore if u just monitor but no freaking action to rectify! Its just like those politician, pointing hole and take picture… but never really solve the issue!
Can we get AI to replace the authorities and get the potholes filled instead? Am pretty sure most will be happy
U don’t need AI to recognise potholes
Yeah and Im sure some PH mentri husband or wife crony company will get that AI contract, that road patching contract, etc
we don’t have problem with pothole notification. it’s the monitoring of patch quality and enforcement. better safe the money to hire QC to check on quality.
more hype and bs with ‘ai’ as if its a magical cureall.
take all these hyperboles with a huge dose of salt, pepper, chilli and every other spice known to mankind.
All the patching/repair works by utilities companies are terrible. How they manage to handover is a wonder.
Useless overthought idea. Just go fix the road instead of asking AI