Perodua leads the pack in terms of the number of vehicles registered for the month of March 2025 with 30,464 units, according to data released by the road transport department (JPJ) recently. This isn’t really a surprise as the local automaker has been at the top since the start of this year, so let’s see how other brands fared.
In second place is Proton with 13,471 units registered, which represents an increase from the 11,068 units in February. Meanwhile, Toyota saw vehicle registrations rise well above the 7,000-unit mark – this has been the case for January and February – for the first time this year with 10,768 units last month.
Coming in fourth is Honda with 9,606 units, while the fifth spot belonged to Jaecoo that saw 1,777 registrations. Mitsubishi is next with 1,331 units to take sixth and is followed by EV-only brand BYD in seventh with 1,020 units.
Chery and Mercedes-Benz were in close proximity with each other, but it was the former that saw higher registrations to take eighth with 936 units, while it was 923 units to sit in ninth. Rounding off the top 10 is Mazda with 837 units.
Below the 700-unit mark, we find BMW in 11th with 678 units to narrowly edge out Nissan in 12th with 667 units. Moving further down the list, there is Isuzu in 13th (585 units), Lexus in 14th (474 units) and Ford in 15th (428 units).
As for the bottom five, we have GWM in 16th with 398 units and Porsche in 17th with 281 units, although the latter’s figure is likely to include recon cars that JPJ still includes in its data. Next up is MG with 233 units for 18th, MINI with 206 units for 19th and Denza with 204 units for the final spot on the top 20 list.
just lookin at this list you guy post every month, OMG.. malaysian reli sibeh rich… abide the top 2 brand, the amount of merc, bmw, porsche, and mini only for march.. already show how many rich ppl out there who everyday complaining not enough money!
What’s not in the list:-
Volkswagen, Audi, Peugeot, Citroen, Renault
Thanks to Proton Ride N Handling
6000 unit gap between H and T. Try harder Honda
City (including hb) > Vios
Civic >> Altis
?? << Corolla Cross
?? << Hilux
Even if yaris combined with vios, also loses to city. Yet, yaris at the moment still ahead of city hatchback though both are not far away in terms of sales gap.
take out recon car sales, you know why toyota is losing to honda
Oh my god kia and hyundai even doesn’t make it and lost even with porsche which was premium brand no hope i think for these 2 korean brand in malaysian market
To be honest….perodua is kind of subsidiary brand of Toyota in terms of the car model. As Perodua rebadge almost all model of Daihatsu except Bezza which is also powered by Daihatsu. Even Toyota is 3rd rank. It is still #1 for Toyota, Daihatsu acquired by Toyota, Perodua still depend most of the model from Daihatsu. People just buy Perodua because of local brand reputation.
I couldn’t believe that byd, chery, jaecoo also reach top sales in Malaysia.
Reputation or have no choice due to budget constraint?
Not to be a hater here, but while Chinese car brands are trying to improve and come up with NEW car models, and Indian car brands Mahindra & Mahindra and Tata Motors are also coming up with New car Models , and still manufacturing Commercial Trucks and Tractors, here in Malaysia Proton and Perodua are still making the same old cars for 6,7,8 to 9 years. Look at the Saga, Persona, Myvi, Axia, Bezza, Aruz and Alza. Sure some of them got facelifted, but the interior of all these cars still feel the same…….. plastic dashboard, 4-speed CVT gearbox, small wheels , underpowered and still noisy. Talk about going into electrification……. Yea both brands are not ready yet. If both brands can’t even update and make their cars cool, fuel efficient and more appealing, imagine their EVs….. How much it cost to buy their EVs…….. And what did you get at the end? The only reason why we Malaysians are buying cars from Proton and Perodua it’s because even their cars are starting to become more expensive, even cars like the Saga, Persona, Myvi, Bezza and Axia…… Are supposed to be affordable cars for us Malaysians, nowadays these cars are priced at RM50k to almost RM80k. And what did you get after paying sooooo much of your Hard-Earning money for one of these cars? Not much. You still get the same engine, same wheels, same dashboard, same 4-speed CVT gearbox and the same amount of HP and Nm of torque. In the end, Proton and Perodua will forever be remembered as 2 boring car brands. And I know people will say because of inflation, supply chain issue, chip shortage , high demand, less workforce and our currency RM is undervalued, it’s the same with other countries, foreign car brands also have the same problems, but at least they try their best….. to well- packaged
Their vehicles with cool and premium features. Plus it’s 2025……you just imagine buying a NEW car made in 2025 with a radio from the mid-2000s,
4-speed CVT gearbox, plastic dashboard, no adjustable right and left mirrors, a noisy engine, 2 airbags , no front and rear dashcam, no backup camera, no front-facing camera and a price tag even for an average Malaysian with a good job and good pay to buy a NEW car is almost out of reach.
I hope people can understand….. And if anyone has their own thoughts and opinions, please just share
One last thing, I’m NOT here to get likes, I’m here to share my own thoughts and opinions to all of you car enthusiasts, car guys and car girls.