JPJ will not compromise on mat rempit, will work with PDRM for joint operations to combat illegal racing

JPJ will not compromise on <em>mat rempit</em>, will work with PDRM for joint operations to combat illegal racing

Illegal motorcycle racers; file image

The road transport department (JPJ) will not compromise on illegal racing, particularly among the ‘mat rempit’ (illegal motorcycle racers), JPJ director-general Datuk Aedy Fadly Ramli said, reported Bernama.

The department’s director-general warned organisers of illegal racing that the JPJ takes safety on highways seriously, and action will be taken against them.

“When conducting operations against ‘mat rempit’, especially those involving a well-planned race with a huge number of motorists, JPJ cannot act alone and we will work closely with the police to organise integrated operations,” Aedy Fadly said in response to a viral video depicting illegal racers blocking a part of the East Coast Expressway 1 near Temerloh.

JPJ will not compromise on <em>mat rempit</em>, will work with PDRM for joint operations to combat illegal racing

According to the New Straits Times, dashcam footage believed to have been recorded from a lorry showed its driver being forced to stop in the fast lane of the highway by an individual standing in the middle of the path. The lorry driver could only resume after two illegal racers departed the scene, according to the news daily.

Regarding the incident, the JPJ will leave the matter to the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) to conduct investigations, but the department is prepared to assist in any operations against illegal racing, the department’s director-general said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• lchan on Apr 14, 2025 at 11:15 pm

It’s simple. Increase their insurance by ten fold and introduce the road law where motorbikes are liable to all accidents involving lane splitting, turning from the left side of a car, or into the front of a car from the right side, you will see a drop in motorbike accidents and fast riding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Golden Citizen on Apr 15, 2025 at 7:52 am

I drive a lot of type of vehicles. I did ride motorcycle in the middle of lane 30 years ago. You know what will happened? Any car wanna turn left of right next to you just slightly bang into your lane(motorcycle). You have to run for your life even next lane is not empty. Ride a motorcycle before you complain. When drive a lorry, you will know many super car not even giving lane when lorry is doing turning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Not allowed down payment, must fully paid upon purchase, impose high road tax, those being caught without road tax and license must be canned 10 times, I believe like this parents will control their kids and not telling my kids are good boys!

• White Rock on Apr 15, 2025 at 8:42 am

But these rebellious teens or youths will ride ghost bike without road tax insurance or even fix fake numbers plate so how?

• opmanmy on Apr 15, 2025 at 8:20 am

Ini semua hanghat tahi ayam ops….lepas nih…back to norm. Enforcement tarak seperti biasa…dah berpuluh tahun mcm nih. Wayang aje.

• Ben Yap on Apr 15, 2025 at 9:11 am

just blacklist their IC and stop them from all bantuan and subsidy. let them stay in poverty and they will have no money to survive.

• Phaser on Apr 15, 2025 at 9:25 am

Before trying to tackle a problem that requires a multi-layered approach, how about some simple enforcement of the law?

– Saman riders who ignore traffic lights
    – Saman those those who ride against traffic
    – And…it’s 2025 but there are now more bikes than ever on the Federal Highway despite the presence of a bike lane.

• Lembik on Apr 15, 2025 at 3:10 pm

Saman got what q use when people don’t bother to pay . Same goes for road tax and insurance. Jail them if caught for no license no road tax and no bayar saman .

• kaki kelentong on Apr 16, 2025 at 8:26 am

1. add 10 strokes of the rotan, take video of their face cringing and send to all the 12-30 year old mobile phones and also put on youtube…

2. 1 year community service, cleaning drains, sweeping streets, and picking up rubbish along the municipal roads and in taman..from 11.00 am to 5pm…hottest period of the day

• Nasution on Apr 15, 2025 at 1:23 pm

Jail those who knowingly let these rempits have the bikes..mostly parents.Let bapa and anak stay near to Ajibkor at Kajang.How about that?
    PMX,pls expand our prisons.No need any form of house arrest.House arrest wont work for the very corrupted and rempits.

• Vroom vroom on Apr 15, 2025 at 4:06 pm

Finally, after so many years, Malaysia is finally making progress. In no time, we will achieve high-income status and the lives of rakyat will be free of all worries. Let’s all join hands and sing kum ba yah…

*yawn*

• Medan on Apr 15, 2025 at 4:23 pm

PDRM are bias when it comes to reporting Mat Rempit. I’ve been to PJ Police headquarter and attempted to make a report about the rempit at the area. The police officers tried to discourage me from making a report and not just that, the officer will purposely omit the word “Mat Rempit” in the reports and will refuse to put in the word at all.

• haha..
    i wonder which causes more accident… Drunk or rempit….
    one under influence, one does not think…

• Lance Chau on Apr 16, 2025 at 4:05 pm

No need to target mat rempits, just focus on two things enough, red light and against traffic. Is it that hard?

• Pls target those illegal modification shop first. Nowadays the fking motor is too noisy at night making ppl cant sleep. Malaysia noise pollution is too serious. My expat friend just pui to me and escape back to Japan already. They say it is inhuman to sleep in Msia. Buang muka