Government to reduce speed limit in school zones to 30 km/h, move will be gazetted and enforced – Loke

Following the proposal made on it last year, the government is set to implement a 30 km/h speed limit in school zones nationwide, and this will be gazetted, said transport minister Anthony Loke.

He said the cabinet committee on road safety and traffic congestion, which is chaired by deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, had agreed in principle to reduce the speed limit, which is presently set at 40 km/h, The Star reports.

Loke said that with an average of 70 fatalities occuring in school zones each year, there was a pressing need to reduce the speed limit in these areas. “We need to do this to ensure the safety of both the students as well as other road users,” he said. He hoped motorists would not object to this, as the move was aimed at improving the safety of pedestrians.

He said that studies have indicated that reducing the speed limit to 30 km/h can greatly reduce fatalities and serious injury to road users, and that a reduced speed limit in school zones was a standard in many countries. “This is actually the international standard. This was also one of the resolutions under the global ministerial conference on road safety, which we took part in previously,” he explained.

The transport minister said the public works department (JKR) and local councils have been told that the new speed limit will be gazetted. “They have been notified. It is my hope that action is quickly taken to gazette the relevant laws,” he said. He added that the road safety council will get this programme going at selected schools this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• there are laws; but zero enforcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • White Rock on Apr 30, 2025 at 7:58 pm

Gets the JKR to build elevated zebra crossing cum speed bumps for pupils crossing the road. Neither any car motorcycle nor lorry dares to speed over the speed bump zebra crossing…… example as per The Curve – IPC zebra crossing benchmark

• Hantu Raya on May 01, 2025 at 11:39 am

How about putting multiple speed bumps approaching the crossing? Say 5 or 10 speed bumps?

• Jail the speed morons..no house arrest please on Apr 30, 2025 at 11:56 am

Govt should install CCTVs at all school crossings,to nab the speed morons who speed past without stopping when students r crossing.
    Once PDRM catch those bastards,let our hakim jail them.

• Stop the menace! on Apr 30, 2025 at 12:02 pm

u can enforce watever law, but do the rider care? Just look how they ride in the city, no slow down, zig zag, honk and curse driver not giving way. Do something abt those mbikers first !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Raja Kamarul on Apr 30, 2025 at 3:13 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Try enforcement, bro. Try. That’s all we need. It is amazing how in nearby Perth, the majority of drivers comply to speed limits. Same with London.

Amazingly, Malaysians ignore the law because it isn’t enforced. And when they break traffic laws, they can ignore with impunity. And they get rewarded with discounts when paying late!

• Now is the time to put AES Camera at all school. Take care of our young generations is more precious than caring for idiots speeding on highways.

• Golden Citizen on Apr 30, 2025 at 3:14 pm

Bravo to school which main gate is facing major road.

• Sonny on Apr 30, 2025 at 3:22 pm

Just as recent as last month had the opportunity to drive in NZ. Every driver were so DISCIPLINED. Every car will slow down when the sign says 60km or 80km etc. School area is 30km only and town area 50km. Enforcement is very good. Once a car in front of me did more than 50 in 50km area, a patrol car chased after it and stopped the driver!! And pedestrian is KING, unlike home. Whenever you are at the zebra crossing, all cars will slow down and stop for you to cross; EVERYTIME! You can introduce all kinds of laws etc. but no enforcement, nothing will happen.

• Come on la Loke………. How many accdidents are near school areas? Answer me la..

Come on la Loke….. everyday we see drunk driving, accidents involving lorries, motorbikes without license or insurance. Come on la Loke……… tacke the real issues la Loke… Loke ah Loke… come on. Tired already la

• Thats all you could do, Ah Loke, for the little ones? Wajibkan child carseat. Ah Loke mcm biasa, tiada tulurr

• MAzri on May 01, 2025 at 11:58 am

Looking at all the comments so far, Malaysian lawmakers are very good at creating the rules. Implementation and enforcement are totally the opposite. People will initially complain when the rules are enforced (it’s what Malaysians are good at), but eventually, they will see the benefit.

• Anwar on May 01, 2025 at 6:18 pm

kerajaan madani terlampau keras.Semua nak dibuat duit.Jangan sangat keras nanti Rakyat bosan.

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on May 01, 2025 at 10:59 pm

Wasn’t the speed limit at shcool areas, always been 30km/h?(with the sign of a student)…no?

• Mat Hijau on May 02, 2025 at 9:37 am

If you cant even control the mat rempit not respecting the traffic light, what make you think people will even bother with reducing speed limit. It’s the lack of enforcement. You dont see china, sg or taiwan bikers ignoring the lights, coz the moment you are caught in camera, straight fine and demerit score. No discount. Walk the talk, enforce heavy penalty, people will start to respect the law.

• Ben Yap on May 04, 2025 at 11:26 pm

Some kids aren’t born smart enough to cross the road.