70% of road accident fatalities involve motorcyclists, but only 13% of accidents caused by them – VTAREC

Not surprisingly, motorcyclists and pillion riders account for the highest number of road accident fatalities in Malaysia each year, making up to 70% of the annual average of 6,000 deaths.

However, findings from a study carried out by the Vehicle Theft and Accident Reduction Council of Malaysia (VTAREC) show that while the number of motorcycle-related fatalities was 12 times higher than those involving cars, only 13% of accident cases were caused by motorcyclists, The Star reports.

According to VTAREC coordinator Mas Tina Abdul Hamid, the study conducted by the council revealed that 67% of accidents were caused by cars, while 20% were caused by commercial vehicles.“Often, bikers are blamed for accidents, but here we have learnt that it is car drivers who need greater awareness on road safety and need to be educated on defensive driving,” she said.

She said that the findings also revealed that the data regarding road accidents and fatalities is alarming. “On average, one motorist is killed every 80 minutes. Human error is the primary cause of road crashes, making up to eight out of the 10 factors that cause traffic crashes. The yearly deaths from accidents can fill graves that may require space the size of six football fields,” she said.

The statistics on road accidents was part of the data set revealed by VTAREC in its briefing held in conjunction with the soft launch of the VTAREC 2025 public awareness campaign on vehicle theft and road accidents. Other areas that were highlighted included vehicle models that were most involved in accidents last year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Golden Citizen on May 06, 2025 at 7:21 pm

This article will silent many people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Silver Citizen on May 07, 2025 at 8:32 am

Yes, statistically bikers are not the issue here. I hope the statistics of the fatality rate for bikers will be reduced this year and going forward.

• Golden Citizen on May 07, 2025 at 9:43 pm

Are you reading? Fatal accident only. So, may be in your worldview. When bikers crash into the cars, driver dead. Bikers survive. Ya, if like that the fatal accident is cause by bikers. Some more the statistics must be fake like china.

• Hing GM on May 07, 2025 at 5:15 pm

We have to understand how they derive the number before making judgement.

• Pucong on May 07, 2025 at 7:58 am

Yes, so the chance of Motorbike kena Salah saman is 13% out of 70…¿¿?

• Well, I pity the motorcyclists … however is the law…

When law says right is with motorcyclists whenever involve with motorcyclists then you will see statistic says most of the accident is not cause by motorcyclists.

If law says no lane split, I can bet 99% of accident is cause by motorcyclists.

Do not get me wrong that we do not care about life of motorcyclists, we need to look at both ways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Wow I am surprised that 13% is caused by the motorcycles themselves, I thought that every time an accident involving car and motorcycle, it is always the car’s fault.

• probably the only time when motorcycle is at fault is when motorcycle crash into motorcycle, that’s why the numbers are so low?

• Too many lawlessness motorcyclist tribe on May 07, 2025 at 8:30 am

mat rempit did it again, tears down perimeter fence along NKVE adjacent to Persiaran Surian overhead bridge making short cut access between these 2 route.

• Ben Yap on May 07, 2025 at 8:49 am

can you show the public how you derived the 67% fault are from cars?

• awaKL on May 07, 2025 at 8:49 am

Often, bikers are blamed for accidents, but here we have learnt that it is car drivers who need greater awareness on road safety and need to be educated on defensive driving,” she said. – (One really love to know how did she managed to come up with this stats maybe like those car / motorbike claims insurance)

Also 70% of vehicles (namely motorbikes) beats the red light and maybe <5% are being fined for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Of course it’s only 13%, as it is based on what is officially reported. But we all know official police reports seldom put the blame on motorcyclist. Even though we are all equal under the law but in practice motorcyclist is above the law in Malaysia.

Just look at the very high 70% fatalities figure, this is mainly due to the motorcyclist mentality of “I am above the law/won’t be blamed in an accident” which drove them to be more reckless & do whatever they want without considering others or the consequences. Which leads to more injury/deaths among them as the Laws of Physics doesn’t discriminate when an accident happen.

Seems like this VTAREC article is trying to paint motorcyclist as an innocent victims that needs protection, when in reality they are no more innocent than other road users and in some cases they indirectly cause the accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • newme on May 07, 2025 at 9:31 am

What the people see/experience on the road vs the people compiling the data in the office. You choose.

• The funny thing is Malaysians are some of the nicest and friendliest people, but when it comes to the road, they seem to not give a shit about other people’s lives.

Not saying motorcyclists are saints, but some of us really have no other choice, put our lives at risk just to commute to work, hence I think they would be alot more aware and ride defensively lah.

It’s always some clueless, tunnel vision, unaware, or just plain reckless driving lunatic who causes the accidents.

• How about non fatality accidents? How many % is caused by bikers?

• Unbiased_guy on May 07, 2025 at 12:19 pm

Usually lady drivers are to be blamed. Look at how they drive on the road. No signal, sudden turn, too slow or too fast, unstable driving, uncertain driving, lack of sense of awareness and security. But of course we cannot say that in the study, it’s se*ist even if it’s statistics.

• The message of the article is clear:
    Motorcycle accidents have a high fatality rate. Don’t gamble with your life.
    Whenever possible, choose public transport or at least a small car.
    Even a self-inflicted fall (“buang sendiri”) on a motorcycle can lead to serious injury—or worse.

• This is such an irresponsible if not dangerous report. No doubt car drivers in Malaysia drive like irresponsible children but just one drive on any road in Malaysia will reveal how dangerous motorcyclists ride here. Total irreverence for the law and zero sense of self preservation.

This so called ‘report’ only adds to the problem because many motorcyclists will now think this absolves them of the burden of riding safely and responsibly. Whoever came up with this ‘report’ should be taken to task as to how he arrived at this report and how he came up with his ‘statistics’.

• I would like to see stats of these bikes, how many of them were stock, jpj allowed minor modification such as carry box, heavily modified aka tayar sotong and bored engine.

• Santok Singh on May 07, 2025 at 4:00 pm

Malaysian car drivers are some of the most considerate people to motorcyclists. We give way, we dont even change lanes just because we pity the tiny kapcai’s on our roads. Our motocyclist wont last a day in other countries, where the drivers dont give AF to motorcyclists. Perhaps this is why motorcycles are getting more and more daring at bullying car drivers? honk here honk there?

• Samuel on May 07, 2025 at 9:54 pm

The Top people in VTAREC, JPJs , Police Officers and the Anthony Lok Lok guy are just trying find many dumb ways and excuses to blame drivers, when Bikers are the ones causing more accidents because here Our pathetic laws keep on saying it’s always driver’s fault, not biker’s fault, As a result, bikers can just take advantage of the law and pointing at drivers for any accidents, even though bikers are the ones riding recklessly. And when going the highways and shopping malls, why does always drivers have to pay, but bikers can go through free, even though they are traveling on the SAME ROAD AS US DRIVERS. The Top people and the Higher Ups are just Corrupt, Greedy and Evil Demons spending Millions and millions on their Luxurious lifestyles.

• 4g63tdsm on May 07, 2025 at 11:31 pm

Report is a bit sus.

One look and you will know reality is different. Maybe police that file the report just doesn’t like to paint the fault on Motocyclist.

Bike bangs into rear of disabled lorry on e lane, lorry fault?
    Bike runs a red and get hit by a car on green the car’s fault?

I ride daily and I can see how Motocyclist ride with no sense of self preservation and blatant disregard for red lights, one way streets, filtering at stupid speeds, etc… . Sure there are inattentive drivers but Motocyclist themselves are no angels.

Another factor is smaller bike riders usually very lax on protective gear, which would increase the probability of serious injury or death.

But I did have a small accident where I wasn’t really at fault. Got rear ended by a car while stopping at the lights ( maybe she thought I was going to run the red)