Remember the RM5,000 ‘cash for clunkers’ programme Proton had back in the day? It’s back, and it’s called the Proton Xchange Programme. If you have an old car taking up space, and getting it to run well again doesn’t make economical sense, how about trading the hunk of metal for a discount on a new Proton?
Launched today in a ceremony attended by transport minister Anthony Loke, the Proton Xchange Programme is described as ‘support for the government’s initiative to enhance road safety and promote sustainable mobility’. It’s open to owners of cars that are at least 15 years old, and in a condition that would be deemed to be uneconomical to repair for continued safe usage.
Proton says that it’ll accept vehicles from any brand, and even lorries and buses that meet the above-mentioned requirements are eligible. Of course, you’ll have to show proof of ownership.
For your old vehicle, Proton will offer a RM2,000 overtrade incentive, which can be used for any Proton model, including the Proton eMas 7 EV. The only condition is that the new Proton has to be registered before the end of 2025. Since Proton has confirmed that we’ll get a new AMA-based Saga this year, you can use the RM2k for that, too.
Vehicle owners will need to provide a Certificate of Destruction (COD) obtained from Car Medic, the programme’s official partner, together with a JPJK1KD form to prove their old vehicle has been officially deregistered by the road transport department. Car Medic will also forward the documents to Proton.
Car Medic, a Department of Environment (DOE)-certified and JPJ-appointed authorised automotive treatment facility (AATF) since 2020, offers convenient e-Dereg services (door-to-door or at their facility) and handles restriction checks, deregistration, towing, safe disposal, and COD issuance for this programme. Of course, one can engage Car Medic directly, but you’ll likely receive just a few hundred ringgit for your old car.
By the way, the e-Dereg service allows MyKad holders in selected areas to complete JPJ deregistration digitally at their vehicle’s location. Introduced last year, you can read more about it here.
“The ministry of transport supports the Xchange Programme initiative and encourages more OEMs to follow Proton’s example and look beyond chasing sales and profits. Malaysia’s first automotive company has once again become an agent of change for the automotive industry and is leading by example. I would like to say thank you and congratulate Proton for taking the lead and initiating this Xchange Programme,” Loke said.
“The Proton Xchange Programme represents a significant step towards a safer and greener automotive future for Malaysia, demonstrating Proton’s commitment to both its customers and the nation. We also hope that this initiative can help to incentivise the replacement of older vehicles to new cars, which are equipped with advanced safety features that can minimise safety hazards on the road,” said Proton CEO Li Chunrong.
Proton has allocated RM4.8 million for this pilot programme, which will run until the end of December 2025. That means the limit is 2,400 units. At the event, Loke surprised the crowd by offering one-year free road tax to all new cars registered under the Proton Xchange Programme. What do you think of this scheme?
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
2k? what a joke
What can you expect from a 15 year old car? Somemore it is no conditions asked, kereta besi burok pon boleh trade in. Very worth it and it helps to reduce impact on the environment and saves usage of resources. By doing this Proton is helping your future. Apa lagi mau?
Probably Proton, yes. Others are higher than that. Even a Perodua can fetch much higher.
P2 are excluded since burned out hulks of cars are worthless to trade in.
If can just get RM2k, sure! But that actually only goes into a new Proton. What about the people that don’t want a Proton, or even a new car?!
When you ask this, it’s clear that it’s not about the future really, Proton is just low-balling as much as possible to push people into a new commitment that they might not have needed. Also, pushing for new cars to be sold isn’t reducing impact on the environment, quite the opposite.
Gomen kasih satu tongkat, tak Cukup! Jadi, rakyat bagi gik satu gik. Baru dpt berdiri potong ! Oh dah namanya potong … biasala tu.
Apa tuu keta potong ye? Yang tak boleh register kat JPJ kaann?
Second hand dealer will give 5k that masuk your. Proton give only 2k itu pun tak masuk pocket.
It’s a rip off. ☹️
Back in 2009, the government offered a RM5,000 cash rebate under a similar initiative, almost 16 years ago. Now, offering only RM2,000, which is RM3,000 less, feels unreasonable given how much the cost of living and vehicle prices have increased.
To be fair, RM2,000 doesn’t go very far today. Expecting citizens to spend around RM30,000 on a new vehicle just to enjoy a RM2,000 discount seems out of touch with current economic realities. It raises the question: do the decision-makers not feel a sense of responsibility or even embarrassment over offering such a minimal incentive?
For a nation that often calls upon its people to be patriotic and support national initiatives, this offer feels like a letdown. Patriotism is a two-way street, it must be met with fair, meaningful support from leadership. Otherwise, how can we expect citizens to respond positively when what’s being offered doesn’t reflect the current times or their real financial burdens?
RM2k can get u a Birkin handbag worth RM50grand direct from Shenzhen China factory ..direct.
No need buy from Loius Vitton…Lazada will ship direct to your home.
Government no longer have money they used to have la, look at petronas. Used to own 100% petroleum in Malaysia but now they only got 50% because of new company Petros got Petronas oil rig in sarawak
Totally agree. Should be at least RM3k cash or RM5K overtrade for new proton car. All the hassle to deregister and scrap car just for 2k trade in is a joke
How to exchange
Many 15-yr old out there are more reliable than new car that need tow truck after 4 weeks of ownership.
RM2k? my carbon road bike wheelset has higher value than that when i sell it at the used market.
RM5k to swap with a RM30k Saga in the past, felt like a deal in the past, also, have choice of getting P2 as alternative.
RM2k now to change a RM40k+ Saga with still the similar engine…why need to do that ah??? why need to get ourselves into trouble leh??
at least rm10k for old cars trade in. another rm5k if you go green with emas. then we can talk
I drive my old car happily daily without hutang. Now you want me to give my reliable old tank to get hutang.
Why would I want to pening kepala hypertension tanggung hutang lagi??
If i’m already happy with my old car and life??
2K in this economy is crazy
When is a cash for clunkers program actually good for society and the environment? The US cash for clunkers has been widely reviewed as a disaster.
What if BYD used this tradein method to offset their Dolphin price right down to 80k?
Seriously, P1 lambat announce lah.. aku dah spend RM7500 untuk restore my 1999 Satria
RM2K? For cars that can’t moved and putting at the roadside are worth of it! Will it be too low for a moving old car? Unless with other discount benefit…As some brands already giving RM6K to RM20K+++ to attract people to buy their cars!
yeah yeah, collect ur car 5k,7k or watever, sell u new car markup 10k per unit, kudos!
RM2K for nowdays and replace to loan RM30K above and unreasonable,that why the program call ‘X-change Prorgam’ paksa for rakyat hutang…that means proton just think sale&marketing not to go-green..
Supposely Proton have to come out 2 option for this program.
1.x-CHANGE PROGRAM
2.DISPOSAL PROGRAM
ONLY CAN safer and greener automotive
this is your EMas value in future.
Cheapest variant saga first party insurance already rm1.3k.
If price 2000 k
It’s amazing how so few people here actually read and comprehend the article.
1. The car that is traded in can be in any condition. Even if it has been off road for 10 years, cannot be repaired and is worth RM500 in scrap, they will give you RM2k towards a new Proton. If you can get RM5k for your old junk, then of course you should do it. You would be stupid not to do so.
2. RM2k is not a lot of money but it goes on top of whatever sales promotion is currently on going at Proton. So say there is a cash back promotion on a Proton S70 worth RM10k, you can add the RM2k on top of that when you buy the new S70. That equals RM12k off the sticker price.
3. Proton is just trying to sell new cars? Of course it is. But is any other brand giving money for people to trade in cars that should be at the junk yard? Perodua? Toyota? Chery? No, no and no. Why not? Perodua sold 350k cars in 2024. Cannot give back some of that profit to remove junk cars from Malaysian roads?
I am not dumb enough to exchange my Proton with Campro engine with useless Geely engine which proven unreliable.